We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol La Palma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sol La Palma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol La Palma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto Naos s/n, 38769 Puerto Naos, La Palma, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Puerto Naos
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a lovely weeks stay at the Sol La Palma. We had booked a corner junior suite which was great. Lots of living space with a sitting room area and a bedroom with an enormous comfortable bed and bathroom. We had a corner suite with double aspect views and probably the biggest terrace I have ever had anywhere, which ran on two sides of the hotel. Fantastic views of the swimming pool area, mountains, sea view and also the beach in Puerto Naos, which is a lovely small quiet resort with a few shops and bars with good food. The food in the hotel was plentiful with lots to choose from and was nicely cooked. The staff were all very polite and helpful and the rooms were cleaned every day.
If I was to find a gripe, the only thing would be that the hotel is ready for a refurbishment as our patio doors needed attention and a coat of paint is needed in some areas, but in no way did this spoil our holiday.
The only down thing was that on our last night Puerto Naos was hit by very bad winds which blew out some windows in the reception area of the hotel and damaged ornamental pots etc and caused a lot of damage. Obviously, this was not the fault of the hotel and I'm sure they will have it up and running again very soon.
Would definitely recommend, and would love to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Gerente at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest Toby6859:

We want to thank you for choosing Sol La Palma to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
It is always a pleasure for the whole team to receive such positive comments about our work. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality and expertise.

As for the problems with wind and storm damage we had, and we will soon be repaired and everything better than before.

We hope to visit again soon and have the opportunity to again enjoy some unforgettable days with us.
Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.

Alfredo Capote
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    131
    68
    40
    19
See reviews for
51
129
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It has a very airy, spacious feel to it and is very nicely positioned at the end of the small promenade into town. The west of the island definitely seems to have the best weather - during our Oct/Nov stay the temperature was 23-26 C and in 3 weeks we had one 4 hour spell of rain. Windy, noisy nights a few times with blue skies and sun in the morning. We stayed in one of the hotel's superior sea view rooms which I can highly recommend - particularly for the huge balcony, as well as the spacious room. We had a kettle and the use of a small fridge, very handy. Lots of storage space, plenty of clothes hangers. Food in the restaurant good; plenty of choice, lots of salad and fresh fruit and buffet refreshed frequently. Entertainment every night, but not a spot for clubbers. Few other Brits there, but not a problem for us. Many hotel staff had good English. It is a package destination for German, Dutch, Belgian and French tourists and also has Spanish visitors. Mostly older (like us), hikers and family groups. Outdoor space delightful with gardens, nice pools, particularly the one by the sea. Plenty of loungers. I liked the design of the hotel, fitted its surroundings well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Gerente at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Ronnie456:

We want to thank you for choosing Sol La Palma to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
It is always a pleasure for the whole team to receive such positive comments about our work. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality and expertise.
We hope to visit again soon and have the opportunity to again enjoy some unforgettable days with us.
Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.

Alfredo Capote
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed for 4 days last September 4-7 2013,was good location as Puerto Naos has this two beaches near the hotel and our room is beachfront view one, was very calm and the place was fantastic, hotel is quiet old but still fine, me and my boyfriend stayed in apartment type room which has its own kitchen with complete kitchen tools which is good if you really like to cook for your own food, has living area too with sofa bed and balcony which has coffee table that you can relax while seeing the sun set, it was a good hotel indeed also not too expensive, hotel is near in some local restaurants and also supermarket, it is more likely 45 minutes drive from the airport, in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Gerente at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Customers Cleodyfrancisco,

We want to thank you for choosing Sol La Palma to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.

Always a pleasure for the whole team to receive such positive comments about our work. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality and passion for service to our customers.

We we argue that our apartments quite liked them and all have been enjoying the beach views and sunsets, which are beautiful all year round.

We hope you come back soon and visit us and have the opportunity to enjoy unforgettable days again among us.

Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.

Alfredo Capote
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

As a walking location, Puerto Naos is good because there is a bus every hour to Los Llanos where connecting buses can take you north, south or east. If you want to hire a car, the La Palma Princess is better as a hotel, but for walkers wanting a nice local village and a quiet room with a comfortable bed at night this is a reasonably good option. Our room was very quiet and overlooked the sea. All we could hear at night were the waves crashing up on the rocks - it is beautifully rough no matter how calm the rest of the sea looks! We had a friendly welcome, and although we arrived very late, supper had been reserved for us. Everyone seemed friendly, and most staff had a gentle sense of humour - just don't expect everyone to speak English.
Others have said the hotel is dated but rooms are clean. Yes I would agree. It is weird to find that the hotel was built in 1990 when I really thought it looked very 70's. The communal areas in particular give this impression. Simple things let it down. The hand-drier in the Ladies did not work - the one in the Gents apparently dimmed the lights when in use. Every room has window boxes but these are not planted up. It looks as if a good paint would help, particularly the gloss work. The hotel needs more handymen to keep it sorted. I found it quite amusing that the hotel manager must have seen the comments about dark wood stained furniture in the dining room that was scuffed, and has tried a renovation method of going for the "stressed look". While some chairs look not so bad, others have been attacked with a power sander and have more of a "leopard look". I think that trying to renovate the chairs is environmentally friendly and overall a good idea, but I'm not sure the workmanship is quite up to the job!
I feel if the Sol group will insist on building huge white monstrosities in beautiful places they should take the responsibility of keeping them fresh and tidy looking. If you are expecting anything of the standard of Jardin Tecina in La Gomera you will be disappointed, but if you want a comfortable bed and are not fussed about the rest of the hotel, it is very serviceable. Still just the kettle in the room, so take your own stuff if you want to use it.
The work continues on renovating the promenade. Actually this is quite fun because you can see how many tiles have been laid that day. It was supposed to be finished in February, but nowhere near ready.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Director General at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Anita-Ella:
We want to thank you for the time and effort invested to send us your comments in which we reiterated his opinion about our services, both positive and negative, as the comments of our customers are to us a source and tool for continuous improvement.

We have taken note of all your comments: resturant chairs, planters without plants, the tranquility of the room listening to the sea, comfortable beds etc.. Also appreciate your good comments about the friendliness of the hotel staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you again. In that case, please do not hesitate to contact us when communicating their requests, and so allow us to have everything planned for a possible return to the Sol La Palma.

Receive our best wishes and good greetings from Isla Bonita.
Sincerely,

Alfredo Capote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An hotel not frequented by Brits and maybe better for it, although the mainly German guests do tend to turn in early, which may not those wanting a more lively atmosphere in the evenings. I can't even say that they needed their sleep to arise early with the old towel on the sun lounger trick as there were no problems with that. Seriously, it's a really nice hotel, not overly manicured, but totally acceptable with lovely staff and a very good location on the west coast where you can expect great sunsets. On the eastern coast holidaymakers will lose the sun probably 2 hours before it sets due to the mountains running down the island. Puerto Naos is a 'real' town and not unattractive. It will be enhanced considerably when the new promenade, linking the hotel to the bars etc, is finished. Food is good, buffet style and the rooms are fine, although we spoilt ourselves with a superior room (324), which had a ginormous balcony with great views. I'd recommend La Palma for its variety and unspoilt nature, especially for walkers where the topography is so impressive. No hesitation in recommending this hotel and its position.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Gerente at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mr. John B:
First we want to thank you for choosing Sol La Palma to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
Always a pleasure for the whole team to receive such positive comments about our work. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality to our customers.
We hope you come back soon and visit us and have the opportunity to enjoy unforgettable days again among us.

Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.

Alfredo Capote
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for a week in December 2012. The room overlooked the pool and had a wonderful sea view, sunsets and sunrises were beautiful. The rooms are fairly basic but very clean and a really good size with fresh towels and bedding each day. There is a kettle and a fridge in the room but no cups/spoons. You can ask for these in the bar or dining room.

All the staff were friendly and service in the restaurant is very quick. Food is a buffet for breakfast and evening meal. There is a lady who makes delicious omelettes with a choice of filling whilst you wait at breakfast time. For both meals there is a wide choice of food.

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and can definitely recommend it, there seem to have been some improvements in service and to rooms made recently. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful, most of the guests seem to middle aged or older couples, from Germany or the Netherland and a few from Belgium who come to hike, so if you are looking for a younger livelier holiday this may not be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Gerente at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados Clientes Northyorkgirl:
En primer lugar queremos darle las gracias por volver a elegir Sol La Palma para disfrutar de sus vacaciones y sobre todo por haber compartido su experiencia con otros usuarios de Tripadvisor, lo cual agradecemos muchisimo.
Siempre es un placer para todo el equipo recibir comentarios tan positivos sobre nuestro trabajo y de la misma manera por la buena ubicación y tranquilidad del Sol La Palma, con unas puestas de sol excelentes. Sus comentarios serán compartidos con todo el personal y especialmente con la cocinera que hace las buenas tortillas en el desayuno, ya que estos comentarios siempre nos ayudan a continuar con esa hospitalidad y amabilidad hacia nuestros clientes.
Esperamos que vuelvan pronto a visitarnos y tener la oportunidad de que disfruten nuevamente de unos días inolvidables entre nosotros.
Un cordial saludo y reiteramos nuestro más sincero agradecimiento por sus amables comentarios.

Alfredo Capote
Director Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Slightly dated hotel but with a good layout. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful - in fact, every member of staff who passed by smiled and gave us a very pleasant 'Good Morning!'
The lounge/reception area is large and with plenty of sofas and chairs. The WiFi connection was very good and probably about 6 other people were on devices using the connection when we were there and our connection didn't falter.
The buffet breakfast offered what must surely be every combination known to man (not all swans and roses but still excellent fare) and again the staff were exceptionally pleasant. Used plates were cleared quickly and tables made ready for the next guests.
I would just comment that the music from the live trio in the evening was a little too loud for me. Although we were actually sat there to listen to the music and watch the trio, if I had been sat at the bar and not interested in the music, I would have found it a slightly negative point.
The swimming pool overlooking the sea is lovely and the beach with restaurants is just a few minutes away.
At the moment, they are renovating the promenade - hopefully that will be finished soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo C, Gerente at Sol La Palma Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Traveler Magic1La Palma:

First we want to thank you for choosing Sol La Palma to enjoy your holidays and especially for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.
Always a pleasure for the whole team receive such positive comments about our work. Your comments will be shared with all staff to help us continue that hospitality and good service to customers.
We hope to visit again soon and have the opportunity to again enjoy unforgettable days with us.
Best regards and thank you very much for your kind comments.

Alfredo Capote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol La Palma Hotel

Address: Puerto Naos s/n, 38769 Puerto Naos, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Puerto Naos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Puerto Naos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol La Palma Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Melia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sol La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Puerto Naos
Puerto Naos Sol Melia
Sol La Palma Hotel Puerto Naos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol La Palma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.