We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heathbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heathbank Hotel
Save
You added Heathbank Hotel to your Saves list
Northbay, HS9 5YQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Close to the Ferry on Northbay, this hotel has clean rooms, beautifully decorated. The dining room is basically in the bar (you either love sports TV or hate it) but the main recommendation is the food. We had delicious local scallops the size of saucers, wonderful calamari and tender salt marsh lamb shank. Prices very reasonable. The breakfast of smoked haddock was one of the best anywhere (and we also stayed at Langass Lodge and the Polochar Inn so did a fair comparison). The staff had trouble checking us out but had such a sense of humour that it was one of the fun moments of our holiday. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
74
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is about 6 miles from the southern ferry terminal port of Castlebay and on Northbay area, is also handy for the northern ferry terminal. The island is small and a circuit would take about 40 mins on single track road with passing places. The hotel was very clean, the rooms very comfortable and the breakfasts very filling. The bar was quiet on Sunday night with only two locals but the barman professional and hospitable. Food is stopped at 8:30 so we were glad we ate on ferry as we arrived just after this watershed. You would have thought that holding the kitchens open for a short duration or advising and arranging with guests would be advisable otherwise some may be caught short.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G41 5PN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We found the hotel on a tourist website . The hotel is very small- only 5 rooms- but perfectly formed! It is situated at the north end of Barra and has good parking right at the front of the building. The bedroom we had was very generously sized with a super en suite - again on the big size and always warm. The toiletries were high quality. There was an excellent menu for breakfast and for evening meals. You know you are in a special foodie place when the scallop fisherman is in the restaurant discussing the next catch! Joe the owner was so helpful with Barra info. His staff were all lovely friendly people too. A great holiday.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a large ensuite shower room and a side view. Go in the Spring to see the wild primroses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great guest house and hosts Joe and Kathy very helpful. Locals very friendly too. Nice clean comfortable room. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the island.Will be back with my wife when time allows later in the year.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Isle of Barra is well worth visiting and I could do no better thabn to recommend a base at this small 'simple' hotel with all the necessary amenities and an excellent restaurant. The fish and shellfish were just out of the sea! Excellent views from the bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I changed to this hotel because of poor reviews by tripadvisor.co.uk on the single accommodation at a neighbouring island hotel. My stay was on the evening of 23rd September 2013. I really think that all hotel owners offering accommodation for single occupants should visit this hotel. The room had a front facing view (not located at the back overlooking the bin store or fire escape like most Scottish hotels poor efforts at dealing with the single traveller who more often than not has paid a premium for what is quite often a rather pathetic effort). The room was furnished to a high standard with modern high quality furnishing and spotlessly clean. In the morning I was welcomed in the dining room for breakfast by an owner who went out of his way to be friendly and welcoming to Barra. He was up to date on what was available for the tourist visiting Barra. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Barra single or couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean comfortable modern hotel.Fabulous setting.Nicely appointed rooms with a double and single bed.Super views and peaceful.The beds did seem a bit narrow.Beware there is no food after 8.30 pm and as the ferry comes in at 9pm it is recommended you eat on the ferry.We did manage to get a plate of sandwiches after a struggle which we were very grateful for.The owner, Joe appeared the next morning and was friendly and accommodating.Good breakfast.The smoked fish was delicious and succulent.Would recommend.It was one of the cosiest places we stayed in on a trip around Scotland.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heathbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathbank Hotel

Address: Northbay, HS9 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small friendly family run hotel offering a very good standard of accommodation,home cooking and everything you would expect from a well run bar including fresh Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heathbank Hotel Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heathbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.