We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heathbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heathbank Hotel
Save
You added Heathbank Hotel to your Saves list
Northbay, HS9 5YQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a fantastic time about 2 years ago staying here with my son. This time I was on a cycle touring holiday and just popped in for dinner. Food was excellent and I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
74
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently popped into this hotel for a bite to eat. Arrived about 5pm and were advised dinner service wouldn't start for another hour or so. Once we returned just after 6pm we were greated by 2 nice waitresses who were very helpful and pleasant.
our drink orders were taken & delivered very quick.the menu had a great selection and even a kids menu.
I opted for the brie wedges to start and the Thai red vegetable curry both of which I shared with my daughter as there was enough to go around. The food was really nice & warm and extremely tasty.
The staff were very nice and helpful for things to see & do around the island. Even taking the time to play with our daughter.
would pay this place a visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

While staying on Barra this has to be the place to eat. Fabulous, tasty home cooked food at reasonable prices served by friendly staff.The only disappointing thing was that we didn't mind it earlier in our trip. The cheesecake is by far the best we have have ever tasted and yes we've had a few..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Heathbank is a well run, spotlessly clean small hotel and inn situated in a craggy, coastal location. The staff are kind and quietly efficient.

We had a comfortable, modern bedroom and a compact, bright bathroom.

There is a roomy bar serving a good dinner menu. A dining room serves a wide breakfast selection.

This hotel made staying on Barra easy and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived at the Heathbank Hotel late off the Oban to Castlebay ferry and despite it being after the kitchen had closed the staff were kind enough to warm us up some soup. The service throughout our two night stay was excellent including the breakfast each morning.

The hotel has five bedrooms on the first floor above the bar and restaurant. The accommodation provided a comfy double bed, full ensuite bathroom and was very clean throughout. Very good value for money.

Our two days on the Isle of Barra were great - visiting Kismul Castle, Vatersay (great beaches) and Barra airport for the plane landing on the beach before getting a ferry to the Uists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Originally I had intended to book a different hotel on Barra, but after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor decided to book this one. I am glad we did. This is a lovely place. The building might be old but has been nicely redone and modernized to suit present day demands. The rooms are lovely, clean, modern, spacious and well appointed. The beds are comfortable, there is space for your luggage and the shower is good. The people who work here were extremely friendly and helpful and the meal we had in the dining room on site was quite delicious. All in all a delightful place and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Barra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnik, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Joe Mcleod is an excellent host in this nice little and not too expensive hotel. The island Barra is small and beautiful and the location of this hotel is fine for walks and trips around the island. The (5) rooms are well kept and clean. The restaurant is often crowded but has a nice atmosphere. The food, although not "haute cuisine" is very good. It is a place I can certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heathbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathbank Hotel

Address: Northbay, HS9 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small friendly family run hotel offering a very good standard of accommodation,home cooking and everything you would expect from a well run bar including fresh Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heathbank Hotel Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heathbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.