We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The croft by the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croit Na h-Aibhne

Croit Na h-Aibhne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croit Na h-Aibhne
83 Borve, HS9 5XR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The croft by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We think this is a very good place to stay. MaryAnn was on the phone when we drew up but her young son stepped in, greeted us and showed us around with confidence until she was free.

It is not a 'standard' B&B - no T.V.'s or tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and the very well prepared breakfast is relatively limited in choices and served quite early. The house is modern and the rooms are spacious. We were encouraged to use the large lounge available to residents where we found comfortable seating and a large TV, local tourist information (there was also a library of books on the landing outside our room) and when we were spotted in there we were offered tea and cake. MaryAnn showed us where the tea and coffee things were in her kitchen and said that we could go in and make ourselves a cup anytime. We felt we could come and go as we pleased and there was a general feeling that we were welcome to share the house while we were there which made it feel less like a 'B&B' and more like a 'home' to us.

Our bed was super large and very comfortable and when the Barra winds blew their worst beating the rain against our window we were safe and warm behind our double glazing. When the sun shone, the view over the rugged fields was glorious. Our mobile network didn't work in many places on Barra and there was no signal where we were staying but the free internet worked well.

The rate we paid for our stay was the lowest of all the places we stayed at during our two weeks in Scotland (in some places we paid more than twice as much) which included Moffat, Oban, Tobermorey, Portree and Arrochar yet both the quality of the accommodation and the 'good feel' of the place were of of the highest. A memorable and special place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrived from the late ferry from Oban with our 2 dogs. The property was easy to find, lovely, spacious and spotless room and bathroom and the comfiest bed we've had so far. Tea and cake provided by Maryann when we arrived (and when we came back from our day out the next day) so the lack of refreshment facilities in the room didn't bother us at all. Comfortable guest lounge. Hearty cooked breakfast. Photos on website don't do this place justice, it's very well done, just right for a short stay and great value.

Room Tip: We were in the downstairs double, extra door between us and the hallway, hand with dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely family run B&B. Great size of room. Great location.
We left a toy sheep which luckily they managed to find before the ferry left so we could nip back and pick it up!

Coffee for breakfast really has to be freshly ground rather than instant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyr, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights stay at Croit Na h-Aibhne.
Our room was very large, so was the bath room.
Breakfast was very good and plenty.
We can only recommend this B&B for a stay on Barra, it's only a 5 - 10 min drive to Castlebay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights staying here for a wedding. The B&B is excellent - very spacious, high quality and immaculate! The breakfast was fantastic and you were made to feel at home. Barra is also a beautiful island and surpassed all expectation. We had a beautiful sunny weekend and spent most of it on the white sandy beaches. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for a few nights at the start of our journey up through the Western Isles. Again we were not let down. We had the same room that we occupied on our previous stay, so it felt like coming home. Very comfortable with lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A very warm welcome awaited us after a very rough and long crossing by ferry from Oban. Maryann showed us our large and comfortable room before settling us into the guest lounge with super comfy sofas, tea, biscuits and the TV. Breakfast was lovely too. Barra has some of the most stunning beaches so be sure to catch those. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Croit Na h-Aibhne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Na h-Aibhne

Address: 83 Borve, HS9 5XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Also Known As:
Croit Na h-Aibhne Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croit Na h-Aibhne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Croit Na h-Aibhne to your Saves list