We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croit Na h-Aibhne

Croit Na h-Aibhne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croit Na h-Aibhne
Save
You added Croit Na h-Aibhne to your Saves list
83 Borve, HS9 5XR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely family run B&B. Great size of room. Great location.
We left a toy sheep which luckily they managed to find before the ferry left so we could nip back and pick it up!

Coffee for breakfast really has to be freshly ground rather than instant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Steyr, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights stay at Croit Na h-Aibhne.
Our room was very large, so was the bath room.
Breakfast was very good and plenty.
We can only recommend this B&B for a stay on Barra, it's only a 5 - 10 min drive to Castlebay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights staying here for a wedding. The B&B is excellent - very spacious, high quality and immaculate! The breakfast was fantastic and you were made to feel at home. Barra is also a beautiful island and surpassed all expectation. We had a beautiful sunny weekend and spent most of it on the white sandy beaches. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for a few nights at the start of our journey up through the Western Isles. Again we were not let down. We had the same room that we occupied on our previous stay, so it felt like coming home. Very comfortable with lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very warm welcome awaited us after a very rough and long crossing by ferry from Oban. Maryann showed us our large and comfortable room before settling us into the guest lounge with super comfy sofas, tea, biscuits and the TV. Breakfast was lovely too. Barra has some of the most stunning beaches so be sure to catch those. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taynuilt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, marvellous rooms, nice hosts, well worth a visit.
Mary Anne is a perfect hostess, coffee on arrival, coffee in the lounge in the evening.
A good breakfast, with more good coffee.
Large spacious rooms and ensuite bathrooms, I hope to return again when on business.
This island of Barra, has now thrown up three great B&B each one exceptionally good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed in this B&B whilst playing in the Barrafest and found it to be a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay, and the view from my room was idyllic. Mary Anne cooks a fantastic breakfast, and went out of her way to be helpful. There was some coming and going because of the festival, but for me this really added to the fun. I would definitely recommend Croit Na h-aibhne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croit Na h-Aibhne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Na h-Aibhne

Address: 83 Borve, HS9 5XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Croit Na h-Aibhne Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croit Na h-Aibhne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.