We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and in a stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunard Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunard Hostel
Save
You added Dunard Hostel to your Saves list
Castle Bay, HS9 5XD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Pitlochry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the lodge after camping for a few nights on the other islands. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The kitchen was well equipped and has amazing views out across the bay to the castle. The kitchen and bathroom were both very clean and well maintained. We received a warm welcome from the owner and from the other guests. The free wi-fi was also handy. It was really good value for money. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The lodge was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
13
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a spot! I think the view from the kitchen sink is the best I have seen anywhere in the world (from a kitchen!). We were paddling in this idyllic part of the Outer Hebrides and the owner (Katie) was very helpful, both before and during our stay. She sends out a weather/sea state forecast to climbers and paddlers and can store kit whilst groups are away on the ocean. Only five minutes walk from the ferry terminal, you need look no further for a place to lay your weary head for the night. Climbers, paddlers, peddlers or just backpacking, contact Katie.

Room Tip: I stayed in a twin room in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at Dunard many times and just back after another three nights stay in early June. This independent hostel managed by Mick & Sharon who are very friendly and helpful run a good show. There is always a great atmosphere in the hostel with new people coming and going. The views from inside the hostel across the bay are out of this world,facilities are great with all you need for cooking. I`ve stayed in both bunk & twin rooms and are very very clean, the toilets/shower rooms are great also. My pal Donald and I have been very lucky over the last few years with the weather and after our day taking in the fantastic views around Barra and Vatersay took the time to sit outside on the grass across from Dunard with a few beers and a BQ!........People this hostel is a must if you visit Barra i recommend it.

Mark & Donald

Room Tip: Any room that looks over the bay! Visit the Castlebay bar on a Fir & Sat night and you might se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in May after awful weather stopped our cycling and camping tour..the very helpful and friendly wardens offered our family a much needed unplanned respite in this cosy, homely, hostel...loved the coal fire, the family room was warm and suited our needs. Although not set up specifically for cyclists, they let us store our bikes at the back of the hostel amongst their own family and childrens bikes! they let us dry tons of ours and our childrens wet stuff on their drying racks and we would recommend this hostel to anyone and their children lots of games and cards in the lounge... its not the worlds most modern hostel... more like a home from home, with all the kitchen facilities you need. Thanks to Mick and his partner for being so friendly and helpful it made our soaking wet trip much more enjoyable...we will be back to try the kayaking they recommended...hopefully in better weather.

Room Tip: family room had king size bed and a bunk bed perfect for our 2 children 9 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited the Isle of Barra during April and had the great fortune to end up staying in the hostel for 4 nights. This has to be one of the nicest hostels I have stayed in for a very long time. Wardens very cheerful, helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was great, very relaxed, no curfews, doors not locked, (it seems to the be way in the Hebrides) and a lovely colourful living room with a wood burning stove, very cosy. The bunk room room has a stunning view over the bay and only 4 beds, so no big dorms here! All very clean and obviously pride goes into the running of this hostel. There is a new shelter for bikes out back which is a nice touch. Would recommend it to anyone who enjoys hostel life.

Room Tip: The two bunk rooms and twin room at the front have stunning views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The outside of the hostel was quite a mess both front and back. The warden was rather unhelpful when asked about somewhere to put the bikes under cover. . The bedroom was cold. I wouldn’t recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice place to be able to check into straight off the ferry. It is a basic hostel with clean and tidy facilities. It is not the ritz of hostels but more than adequate, better than a few we have paid more for. It does not appear to have enough beds to get very crowded and thus is quite pleasant. Hosts were great and fellow residents friendly. The lounge dining area has character character. Having to pay extra for a shower was bit novel, but the rates were below average so I guess that is fine. Our private twin room upstairs had a roof window that overlooked the bay which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunard Hostel

Address: Castle Bay, HS9 5XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunard Hostel Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunard Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.