We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely on a nice day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Castlebay, HS9 5XD, Scotland
+44 1871 810898
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Bakery, Scottish, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Stunning views of Castlebay and the world famous Kisimul Castle from The Deck. Hebridean Toffee, Scottish tablet made daily and also fresh baking and much more in the summer season. A tasteful gift shop inside with many unique gift ideas and crafts from Barra
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely on a nice day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The deck is a very pleasant place to have a snack on a nice day as it sits right on the edge of the water. As well as being a cafe it offers gifts and is probably better known as a toffee factory.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Windy Deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Loved the food but having to eat outside is a drawback. Very tasty sandwiches, beautifully presented.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only visit in fair weather”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A real surprise this one. Great little location and good food and good service, BUT if it has been raining then all the benches and tables are soaking wet as there is no shelter whatsoever. Staff will use a squeegee to remove the top layer of water for you!!! And there are no toilets either!,
Yes, a real surprise this one!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERRY P, Owner at The Deck, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I am a bit confused by this review. You say the food, the service and location are great but you complained about the Scottish weather! We are an outdoor cafe as you mentioned and it is only polite and professional of us to ensure that the seats and tables are dry for you to use should you wish to use our deck. Marking us as you did seems a bit unfair but anyway...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“was wet but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

In the pouring rain we walked to the cafe. I had possibly the nicest hot smoked salmon sandwich I have ever eaten. Even sent some of the fudge back to New Zealand. Really friendly staff and a very nice place.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I visited in October when the restaurant was closed - alas, because I'd read so many good things about it here on trip advisor. Only the gift shop was open. I almost passed on making any purchases, but decided to buy a small package of toffee. Driving away I tasted one. It was melt-in-your mouth deliciously wonderful. I did a U-turn and went back to purchase more for family back home. By the way, the shop will ship to the US. Hurrah!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.