We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Castlebay, HS9 5XD, Scotland
+44 1871 810898
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Bakery, Scottish, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Stunning views of Castlebay and the world famous Kisimul Castle from The Deck. Hebridean Toffee, Scottish tablet made daily and also fresh baking and much more in the summer season. A tasteful gift shop inside with many unique gift ideas and crafts from Barra
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I visited in October when the restaurant was closed - alas, because I'd read so many good things about it here on trip advisor. Only the gift shop was open. I almost passed on making any purchases, but decided to buy a small package of toffee. Driving away I tasted one. It was melt-in-your mouth deliciously wonderful. I did a U-turn and went back to purchase more for family back home. By the way, the shop will ship to the US. Hurrah!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unbeatable views, efficient service and excellent value for money food. Nothing fancy but the soup and salmon sandwiches were to die for. If you are in Barra and are after a light lunch this is the place to visit. Only down side is seating is all outside so pray it doesn't rain. When we visited the sun was shining - it was great

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Deck is a small platform alongside the owner's shop and facing into the sea. The cream teas are wonderful. You need good weather, though, as there is nowhere to eat inside. Also, the nearest toilets are a short walk away. The view, though, is lovely, and the staff are very friendly, as were all the people we met on Barra.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best of Barra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

One of the reasons we keep going back to Barra is so that we can dine at the Deck again. Perfect location and the food is so fresh and tasty. The scones with jam and clotted cream are to die for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Weather Dependant Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Friendly staff, BIG beautifully tasty sandwiches, the hot smoked salmon ones are delicious. Tablet topped muffins! Great view from The Deck over the bay and Kismul Castle. You need to wait for a good enough day to sit out on the Deck as there are no indoor seats but it is worth waiting for a weather window.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.