We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay on Barra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside B&B
Save
You added Hillside B&B to your Saves list
25 Glen | Castle Bay, HS9 5UQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay on Barra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the perfect bnb. Location is a two minute walk from the hotel bar and restaurant and five minutes at the most from the centre of Castlebay and other eating places. The Doreen and Donald are brilliant and very welcoming with wonderful home baking. All the bread here is homemade!!!. The breakfasts are fantastic and cooked to perfection with a huge pot of tea or coffee and lovely views from the spacious dining/sitting room. The rooms are a home from home, spotless and very comfortable. Great local knowledge and advice for your days out. Many thanks for a great stay but we do think you should get Donald a set of pipes to use in his spare time!!! A visit to Kisimul Castle in the bay and Vartersay beaches (short ride by bus) is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Friendly welcome, comfortable room, good guest lounge, great breakfast, lovely position but the home bake treats when you arrive back from your day's walk are what we will remember! The third stay of our first visit to the Outer Hebrides. It just got better and better, with Barra just gobsmackingly beautiful. We will be back..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There is nothing more to add that other reviewers hav'nt already said.A STUNNING b&b,from the breakfasts to the home baking to the views in the morning.All get 10/10.Also a special word for Doreen who runs the place.Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Doreen and Donald cannot praise you enough. Hospitality at it's very best, wonderfull breakfast and home bakes a real treat after a few hours walking. Rooms immaculate and homely. Will definatly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Warm friendly welcome, more than adequate double room with neat compact en-suite to the rear of the house. Sea view not necessary in a B&B but en-suite preferred. Great treats with home-cooking tray bakes, and excellent breakfasts.
Can't fault this B&B; it had everything we would have hoped for on a holiday trip, and at a very good price too.

Room Tip: The only en-suite is to the rear, other rooms share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are warm, clean, and the views from the front are lovely. Sharing a bath room with the other non-ensuite was not a problem, bath robes in room as well. Very friendly, excellent breakfast (top quality stuff inc home baked bread and exquisite black pudding) and free freshly baked cakes in the room every day. Doreen could win the great british bake off easily. Great value, very informative, and extremely friendly but without getting in your way. An absolute joy, and nice and close to 2 hotel bars. I'd honestly give it 6 stars if trip advisor would let me!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't miss this place! Our bus from the airport drove us to the door, welcomed by Doreen and by her famous baking. A terrific breakfast, and endless help and advice from Doreen. An excellent base for exploring one of Scotland's most beautiful islands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Address: 25 Glen | Castle Bay, HS9 5UQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside B & B has 3 bedrooms for guests, 2 double-ensuite rooms and 1 single bedroom with a private bathroom. We supply free wifi for our guests use, we are a strictly no smoking household and we do not take pets. Hillside is within a 2-6minute walk to all amenities in Castlebay, Our Lady Star of the Sea Chapel, the local hotels, cafe, bank, tourist information office, post-office and bus-stop. Doreen ensures that her guests are well looked after as she has over 30 years experience in the hospitality and catering trade, wholemeal bread and white bread are baked daily and available to guests for breakfast, I also make my own jams, rhubarb & ginger and rhubarb & orange which are also available for guests to enjoy at breakfast time. Doreen loves to bake and ensures that her guests have freshly baked scones, pan cakes, tray bakes and a variety of cakes. We endeavour that the guests are looked after and the guests are utmost priority. Come and experience the warmth of the Island people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside B&B Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.