We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort to your Saves list
Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort
70 Rue A. Piccard, 01630 Saint-Genis-Pouilly, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We, unfortunately, have the displeasure of having to stay here for one night. My husband had to visit this area for work, and I went along for the ride.......BIG MISTAKE!! We were greeted by a man behind reception with a creased and dirty shirt on, and a sticky threadbare carpet in the 'foyer'. We were booked in and given our key and a tv remote!! Alarm bells should have sounded then. We walked to our room down a corridor stinking of smoke (a no smoking area) and opened the door to a damp and musty smell. The room was about 10' square with twin beds in, pushed together as there was nowhere to move them to. Mould was all up the wall behind the beds. Water was dripping off the windows and was thick black all along the edges. There was a wooden headrest that was full of thick cobwebs down the sides. The carpet had white marks all over where it had been wet and left. The bathroom was tiny and the ceiling full of mouldy marks. 75 Euros for this for one night and then they had the cheek to charge us another 9 Euros for the worst breakfast I have ever had. You could not pay me to ever go back there...I would have preferred to have slept in our van. Dont think this one deserves even 1 star!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
496 reviews 496 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
722 helpful votes 722 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very narrow rooms, very little wardrobe, very difficult to be reached without car, very sad and poor breakfast, not enough light, nor kind nor careful service, not good Internet service. I didn't like it

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here as a last resort. As part of our honeymoon trip we had an early flight out of Geneva airport. So we decided to spend the night before at a cheap 'travelodge type' hotel. We weren't expecting much. Upon arrival we had to wait at reception for 15 minutes, all the while ringing the bell and trying to get staffs attention. During check-in we were given the room key and the TV controls (not sure why it wasn't left in the room) but told our room was not ready yet so we had to wait in the reception area for another 20min or so. When we finally got to our room it was small, not very clean...and it had three single beds pushed together, with the phone right over the middle which was easily knocked. We had booked a double room but we thought it would be fine for one night. The beds were uncomfortable and would slide around with the slightest movement. The bathroom was tiny and not very clean. The whole colour scheme of the hotel was very dated and everything looked shabby.

We were very disappointed with the hotel...even though we weren't expecting much. However we booked the stay through booking.com and paid around 75pounds which we thought was expensive but the prices advertised at the Hotel was 150Euro...which would have been a total rip off.

The only good point about the whole place was that the TV had BBC world.

You could not pay us to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Rooms are small, very minimal but decently comfortable, especially beds. Too few electrical sockets (only 3 per double room, one of which is occupied by the TV!) but bathrooms are hair dryer equipped.
Friendly English speaking staff. The hotel is located near a major road with a large shopping center 3 km away: if you have a car, you'll appreciate its position. Still, it's a silent place at night. VERY fast WiFi access!
Nice position for anybody who needs to work at CERN as it's one of the closest hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Rooms highly variable. Two of my colleagues had rooms that smelled so much of mildew that they left the hotel without even staying the night and went down the street to the Holiday Inn. My room was small, basic, and fortunately did not smell. Walls are thin and conversations in next room easily heard.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Alhough the building has a little bit cheesy look, I found my room really-really cosy and warming, even with a touch of cute :) No problem I can remember of, they also have a splendid wifi network (but I had no fridge). You have to take care of the meals, they either serve only if you ask beforehand, or they don't at all, I'm not sure which is true. Breakfast just ok. Most of the staff don't speak english, but they're absolutely friendly.
Warning: this hotel is found at the Technoparc, in the middle of the fields (literally) between Saint-Genis Pouilly and Cern. In case you are not there on business, you'll have to have a car. But if you do, Geneva will be at your full disposal.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, wifi.
  • Disliked — Very limited availability of food/snacks, made worse if you consider its isolated position.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort

Address: 70 Rue A. Piccard, 01630 Saint-Genis-Pouilly, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Saint-Genis-Pouilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Genis-Pouilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the mountains of the Jura, our Balladins Hotel is only 20 min away from the centre of Genève. Come and enjoy the comfort of our 44 bedrooms as well as the charm of our hotel.You will relax and feel welcome in our lounge and enjoy our restaurant with an 'all you can eat' buffet. The restaurant is closed on Saturday and Sunday. We also have a seminar room which can welcome up to 30 people.Located in the South-East of France, between Paris and the French Riviera/Côte d'Azur, Rhône-Alpes is the region of diversity. Gastronomy is one of the most famous characteristic of the region thanks to the local productions : wines such as Beaujolais and Côtes-du-Rhône, local cheeses, typical dishes, Bresse chicken, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Saint-Genis-Pouilly
Saint-Genis-Pouilly Balladins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balladins Geneve/Saint-Genis-Pouilly Confort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.