We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel la Roz gets a thumbs up from me!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Roz

Hotel La Roz
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rosiere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Roz
Save
You added Hotel La Roz to your Saves list
L'Oree | La Rosiere 1850, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 La Rosiere B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel la Roz gets a thumbs up from me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went out as a group of six for a week of skiing.
No issues with transfers to and from Geneva airport, took us about 3 hours each way and our driver was happy to stop off if we needed to.
Staff are all really friendly and ready to help.
Breakfast was sufficient to set us up for the day and we were really well fed & watered in the evening. Which was great as a day on the slopes left us whacked!
The bar is cozy and again the staff are really friendly. Lounge area up at the top is nice to relax in.
Location of the hotel couldn't be better. The regular shuttle bus to the slopes stops pretty much on the doorstep.
Rooms are pretty basic, but you only need somewhere to crash in the evening.
I would definately stay there again.
There are loads of runs from beginner to advanced and we had great snowfall during our stay (27th Jan - 3rd Feb).
The Ski Food snack bar in Les Eucherts is convenient and well priced and the apres ski is nicer on the other side by the La Rosiere town.
La Pub is a nice little place as is La Petit Danios.
But for a small town there is quite a bit going on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

what a dump. olympics were on no tv in the room the only tv was in the bar but that was locked. no internet in the room. wifi only worked near reception u had to balance ur comp on ur knees sat in an armchair. mgr did give a toss wifi router set up against a filing cabinet deliberately to stop u getting a signal in the room in case u slowed down the staffs connection. the rooms are terrible the beds are like camp beds. i met the owner and complained about the wifi and lack of tv's to be told the hotel was closing in 3 weeks ? so what we paid for that week. al of the staff couldn't care less, with the exception of the young guy cooking the food. most nights the food was good the wine was ok, but instant coffee to make urself for breakfast in france ? they had a coffee machine in the bar but could not be bothered seving a pot in the mornings b/fast was the worst i've ever had by a mile. Like I said what a dump avoid it at all costs

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowcrazy05, Owner at Hotel La Roz, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
It should be noted that since this review was posted, senior management staff have been changed, WIFI upgraded and more importantly it should be noted that the hotel is only open during the winter for winter sports enthusiasts and is closed during the summer months. The hotel is advertised as a budget option for visitors to La Rosiere, cosy and comfortable with well trained, friendly and competent staff as our more recent reviews clearly reflect. Return guest bookings are exceptionally high reflecting the hotel's appeal for great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at La Rosiere Hotel through Snow Nation end of Jan early Feb 2012 and overall a very good comfortable hotel. Beds were extremely comfortable. Room space a bit limited and thought at first there was nowhere to put your clothes, but soon to find that there are two very large drawers under the beds and some shelving and hanging space behind a curtain in the corner of the room. Food was good although offering a multi themed night menu always poses problems for a chef. French night was exceptional, but somehow went downhill from there. Waiting staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Afternoon tea offered but you really had to be there quite early before everything went. Nice bar area which was busy as there are not many bars in La Rosiere, so had a good mixture of people. Hotel is about 20 yards from the skibus to the lifts and surrounding villages which run every 15 minutes so extremely convenient. The only real downside to this hotel is the noise which comes from the Restaurant above, with scraping chairs across a tiled floor which becomes very annoying. Room cleanliness good with somebody coming in every day to change bins, clean toilets etc. Very nice Manager and staff who were ever helpful. Overall a good place to stay and would go again. Just hope they get some different flooring in the dining room and it would be perfect.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are below Restaurant area, so wouldn't like to say which ones would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Roz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Roz

Address: L'Oree | La Rosiere 1850, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Rosiere
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Roz offers a low budget option for skiers to La Rosiere, France. Chalet style catering, cosy and comfortable and clean with WIFI in communal areas. Friendly and close to the slopes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Roz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.