We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully booking next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Chocard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rosiere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chocard
Save
You added Chalet Chocard to your Saves list
La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hopefully booking next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As a Mountain bike club we booked a week with Mountain Bike Safari at Chalet Chocard. Upon arrival, our hosts Neil and Charlotte were superb. The accommodation was good, beds really comfortable. There were 10 of us all together and that was fine. The hot tub was great after our long rides. Our Bike guides, Roman and John, were simply superb. They catered exactly for our riding abililities, each day progressing. There English was certainly better than our French. We rode so many different trails and without the guides the holiday would not have been such a great experience.The food was excellent , They even catered for the more faddy one in the the group. For a mountain bike holiday a could not think of a better venue. Everything about this holiday was far better than anticipated. Sky TV and IPOD docks were spot on as we could keep up with the Olympics.The added bonus of Wi fi was great for keeping in touch. Our shuttle service was always on time and Christophe was very friendly. I would recommend this chalet and holiday to anyone. It is great value for money. Our group all gave it a 10/10. In short, BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co down, northern ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We spent a fantastic week at Chalet Chocard during our half term week in February 2011. It was very much a last minute booking and Laura at Snowcrazy was efficient and helpful and made sure we got a great deal and that all the arrangements were in place before our arrival, including a free night and dinner in the chalet at the start of our holiday as we arrived a night early and also free transportation to and from Geneva Airport which was a big financial bonus

La Rosiere is a very pretty village looking straight across the valley at Les Arcs. The La Rosiere ski area connects to La Thuile in Italy where the skiing was fantastic. My 12 year old went over there most afternoons for a pizza and icecream. There is a large selection of shops and restaurants up in the village. We were slightly concerned about the proximity of the chalet to the slopes as the kids never like having to haul their boots and skis about and so we usually prefer ski in ski out. However, we need not have worried. Whilst the chalet offers a complimentary minibus up and down at your requested time in the morning and evening, the free local bus runs past the chalet every 15 minutes and the bus stop is literally a 20 step walk up the road from the chalet. The bus drivers spoke excellent English and were always very pleasant. The village was maximum one mile away and was a pleasant walk for anyone with time on their hands. Snowcrazy also offer a lift up and down to the village on the staff’s evening off but we chose to take the bus up and have a leisurely walk back down after a fabulous pizza in Le Petit Danois.

The chalet itself was lovely in a peaceful forested area. There was a huge hottub at the front of the chalet with far-reaching views through the trees across the valley. There was also a steam room though we didn’t use it. There was a large wraparound balcony on the first floor, ideal for catching the sun and enjoying the views. My husband and I had the master bedroom suite on the first floor and it was very quaint with lots of lovely carved pine and hearts, an en suite and a door out onto the balcony, underfloor heating and plenty of storage space. The kids, 12 and 15, had an enormous bedroom on the floor above with en suite shower room. Close enough for comfort but far enough away for a bit of peace! The chalet maid made the beds if requested. There was always abundant hot water for showers.

There was a massive dining table which would easily accommodate 12 people and a lounge area which would be cosy for 12 unless u were all from the same group as is often the case. There was a large selection of dvds and books for guests’ use. There was sky tv also an ipod/iphone docks and free wifi. Breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner were all provided by Jenny and Jamie, a young English couple with Jamie dolng all the cooking. There was a hot option plus divine croissants, cereal, juices etc in the morning and home baked cakes in the afternoon. Canapes were served around 7 and dinner was a very substantial three course affair, followed by coffee and a cheeseboard! Jamie worked hard to produce a great dinner in the evening with a wide range of vegetables accompanying the main course and a highly calorific dessert to follow. They were happy to make menu changes for things which the kids didn’t like. Meals were served with local wines.

The rest of the Snowcrazy team whom we met were Fiona, the very excellent ski guide and chauffeur, and Jason, Ben and Chris who organised the ski hire, lift passes, online check-in on the way home etc. Ski equipment, lift passes etc were all delivered to the chalet. The tech guys were happy to bring other boots for my daughter to try when her feet were in agony after her first day on the slopes. This was great rather than having to go up to one of the numerous ski shops in town.

This was our first Snow Crazy experience and all in all I could thoroughly recommend them and would have no hesitation in coming back to Chalet Chocard again and would be happy to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The end of the ski season is upon us and thoughts inevitably turn to planning next years skiing and in doing so I am prompted to comment on this years adventures.

We went to Le Chocard in January, a group of 6 couples , we had the whole chalet to ourselves and it worked very well. On arrival the first thing we noticed is the chalet was spotlessly clean & then it was maintained so all week despite our best efforts to do otherwise. The food was very good, way above average for chalet food both in quality and quantity. The all inclusive wine was what you would expect...........

The building itself was as described on the tin, we loved it. As was the rest of the package, all as described on the Snow Crazy www.

Most importantly the staff were first class. Jamie , ably assisted by his staff of one, Jenny, produced great food, on time all together & with seemingly effortless ease. We found these two along with any other of the Snow Crazy staff we came into contact with had a genuine service ethic.

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Whilst there was no fresh snow , the piste’s were well maintained and we enjoyed good piste skiing throughout La Rosiere & La Thuile. However I understand that La Rosiere has excellent off piste opportunity, so we have just booked Le Chocard again with a special request for fresh powder on the mountain & Jamie & Jenny to be our hosts in the chalet.

Room Tip: Ignore the shuttle and walk to piste for warm up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We have recently returned from a week in La Rosiere staying in Chalet Chocard, run by Snowcrazy. The Chalet can take 12 people but it was comfortable with only 8, and I think would be a bit of a squeeze with 12, unless you were all one group. It is well equipped and comfortable , and the hot tub was a real treat, though since we were told we had to choose to have either the hot tub OR the steam room on, no-one actually used the steam room all week. There was also a bit of a drainage problem downstairs which made the bathrooms rather smelly.
The ski bus ( free) runs frequently from just outside the chalet, although in the mornings we were transported by minibus up to the slopes, so used the bus more on the way home.
The chalet hosts this season are a very young English couple. They are rather inexperienced and on occasions seemed to forget that they were there to cater and care for their guests. Jenny in particular was rather brusque and 'teenagey - on occasions bordering on the rude!'. Perhaps as the season goes on they will improve. I hope so! Jamie's food is plentiful rather than sophisticated, and a better balance in his menus would be a suggestion for improvement.
In complete contrast, all the other Snowcrazy staff we encountered were delightful and very helpful, and the ski guiding was great, enabling us to get to know the slopes and the resort much faster than we might otherwise have.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We are two adults with an 11 year old and a 13 year old.

We have never skied in La Rosiere before, and booked Chalet Chocard with Snowcrazy. We shared with a family we had never met before and we had a great time.

The chalet is 5 minutes from the slopes by minibus with the public bus stop right outside. However, the ski hosts were most accommodating and ran us to and fro, and whenever I did wait at the public busstop a Snowcrazy minibus would appear as if by magic. The chalet has a hottub (with fab views) and a steam room. There are bedrooms on the ground floor, with the boot room, a bedroom on the middle floor along with the lounge and kitchen, and two upstairs. The food was great, of a very high quality, we had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. We ended spending a lot less than we have previously. The chalet hosts were not fazed by anything and were very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

The attention to detail is fantastic. You get your boots fitted in the chalet and lift passes bought for you. All the staff seem lovely, they have other chalets in the resort.

La Rosiere isn't a huge ski area, and we were a bit disappointed by La thuile when we eventually got there but the weather wasn't great so I would like to give it another go. But we never seemed to queue. My son had a snowboard lesson and the ski instructor was a lot better than previous ESF instructors we have had. The guy who runs the ski school came to the chalet and chatted to us which was a nice touch. People went on about all the drag lifts in la Ros before we went, but there were certainly no more than other resorts, apart from the super long one to la Thuile.

Overall, one of our best Christmases and ski holidays combined!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Chocard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chocard

Address: La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in La Rosiere
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Chocard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.