We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medil Campitello

Save Saved
You added Hotel Medil Campitello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Medil Campitello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Streda De Pent De Sera, 16, 38031 Campitello di Fassa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my wife had a nice 2-week stay at hotel Medil in early March 2013. Special thanks to hotel’s ski guide, Daniele, for navigating the group along the nice skiing routes in the Dolomites! It was a great fun skiing in a good company and without concerns of getting lost among 1200 kilometers of trails or missing the last ski lift!
The hotel room was overall comfortable and clean. There is new furniture, comfortable mattress, cushions and warm blanket. There is a small table with two chairs, sufficient storage space for personal belongings, a small safe and a mini-bar refrigerator. The room noise insulation is not perfect, but bearable. Mansarda room is quite pretty with wooden finish and beams, but be careful not to bang your head. There is free Wi-Fi in the room, but a bit slow.
Hotel also has a free parking lot, which is convenient in case you bring your vehicle or rent one. Gondola is in 5 min walking distance, and a Skibus stop is only 100 meters away.
The dinners and breakfasts were very satisfying, although I would strongly recommend adding fresh fruits for breakfast. There is a very nice fresh fruit salad (kiwi, banana, pineapple etc) available for dessert after dinner, but we prefer them in the morning :). If you are late for dinner, upon your request the hotel will leave a covered plate with bread, cheese, meats and salads in your room to eat later. It was very pleasing to find nice food in the room on the day of arrival, around midnight, and on couple other occasions when we were late for dinner, arriving from sight-seeing trip to Verona. Thanks!
Hotel has a large wellness center, which you have to pay for (35 euro per person) whether using it or not, but we really enjoyed using the saunas, steam bath and swimming pool before the dinner. It was greatly relaxing after a long skiing day.
Speaking of skis, hotel has an excellent ski room with individual ski locks and a REAL ski boot dryer. The dryer is not just a hanging rack as I had seen in other hotels, but a hot air dryer. The ski boots were always dry the next morning!
The hotel also has a bar, and also offers evening entertainment (magician, singers, dancing etc).
Medil is a very nice hotel and would be my primary choice if I go back to Campitello!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    59
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
149
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the sixth time that we had been to the Medil and all of the experiances have been very good. For skiing it is very good as it is only a 5 minute walk to the lift in the morning which means you can miss the queues if you get up early enough. If you are unfamiliar with the area then there is a ski guide at the hotel who you can ski with, he is very friendly and helpful. In the evening there is a buffet starter followed by a set course menu which is always very nice. The buffet gets refilled so dont think that once some of the food is gone it will not come back because it will. The staff there are also very friendly and helpful and will accomodate you in whatever way necessary. If you are travelling with children then there is a childrens club where you can leave you kids if you want to relax for a bit. They have entertainment on most evenings including a magicain who is very good. Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location, and very friendly staff, especially the ski guide. We have been back six times, the welcome is really freindly and great service throughout the hotel. Skiing with their guide Daniele is a real enjoyment as he knows the area and all the short cuts to beat any waiting for the lifts. The scenery in the Dolomites is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Medil three times. If it wasn't for the fact that we were attending a conference, I would look elsewhere in the area. THere must be better hotels. The bar area is the best feature, but somewhat spoilt by the succession of really poor quality crooners who droned on seemingly all night every night, apart from the evening when a magician put on a show (He was pretty good!). Rooms are small often with beams placed dangerously low to catch out the unwary, even my wife who is only 5'1"! The bathrooms are basic and the showers don't seem to have adequate thermostatic control. Food is generally adequate rather than good, with little by way of fresh vegetables apart from the antipasto, so get your five a day from the buffet! Occasionally it will slip a bit and become very poor. I would recommend against the risotto! Breakfast is good but go for boiled rather than scrambled eggs. The hotel seems to be a favourite with the Russians but those there during our stay did not mix or converse much though were very prominent in the spa! There is a truly miserable night concierge who has been there as long as anyone remembers and he cannot wait to close the bar in the evening. Even if 20-30 thirsty skiers are willing to pay lots of money for drinks, it is difficult to quench a thirst after about 2300 hrs. If you can get served at the bar, the staff are cheery and helpful on the whole, and serve spectacular G&Ts! For value for money, stick with gin! The cable car is a short walk from the hotel but do hire a ski locker at the cable car station to avoid having to walk with ski boots and skis. I will stay there again if the meeting continues to use this venue but wouldn't use the hotel if on my own.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room above the bar if you value early nights. Probably worth investing in superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was my seventh visit and I hope for seven more. The beauty and location of the hotel is awe inspiring. But the people make it feel like home. They bend over backwards to make sure our stay is whatever we want it to be. The food is an epicurian delight. The staff is helpful and happy, which some might say is a rare commodity in Italy. From there we are able to take day trips to Venice, Innsbruck, Verona and Neuschwanstein Castle. The location is perfect. Our rooms are comfortable, with balconies overlooking the beautiful Dolomites. The prices are very reasonable, and the memories are priceless. The Hotel Medil has exceeded all my expectations, and I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is at best a 3 star. It is ordinary, badly run, the rooms are appalling and plain, the breakfast is like something from a boarding house, the staff are unprofessional, it is overpriced, no help with luggage, no customer service to speak of. Stayed here over Christmas, and they had Bingo on Christmas Eve...... what the??? When we arrived we were so depressed we tried to move somewhere else.. that's how awful this place is. The wellness centre is good....but you get stung with a fee for it at the end (without being forewarned). Campitello itself is tired, only one good restaurant in town, not good shopping etc etc. I will never visit this part of Italy again, and certainly not this hotel. There are many better areas to visit. Best thing about this hotel was the lovely girl behind the bar. She helped us get through our stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This hotel is really average - nothing especially good or bad may be said about it. Average rooms, average food, average location. It gives you basic comfort and you will not stay hungry. However, you will forget about it as soon as you leave it. In my opinion it is a pretty ordinary 3 star (not 4 star) hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Medil Campitello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medil Campitello

Address: Streda De Pent De Sera, 16, 38031 Campitello di Fassa, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Campitello di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Campitello di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Medil Campitello 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Medil Campitello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medil Campitello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.