We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL setting, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Save
You added Hotel Gran Jimenoa to your Saves list
Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL setting, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I came up here for two quick days with a friend, and we and were so happy to find this hotel. It's definitely the best lodging option in the area, with very reasonable prices and an amazing, peaceful setting. We took a room with a river view and slept with our door open so we could hear the rapids - we slept like babies! The open-air dining room is lovely, and the food is fine. The rooms are not the luxurious accommodations one would find at a fine hotel in the states, but it was very clean, the AC worked great and the water was hot (although give it plenty of time to heat up). The electricity dimmed often, but it added to the rustic experience. We both loved it, and would definitely recommend it and will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy you had a lovely stay and our main goal is to exceed all of our guests' expectations. Your critics are always helpful since it encourage us to improve our weaknesses.

We are expecting your return.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
40
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Republica Dominicana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just wanted to see what is was like, and it was not bad, but everything seemed a bit old. The river is lovely and nature is definitely a plus.The grounds and pool area need a facelift.
Not my kind of place to spend a night, but a good setting for a meal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for not being able to meet your expectations. We are currently working to upgrade the pool area and each of our guests’ rooms.

We will hope to serve you even better and we appreciate your review.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As for hotels in Jarabacoa, this is probably your best bet if your looking for a vacation hotel. The location is charming...along the river. Don't expect the rooms to compete with what you might expect at a really nice al inclusive in Punta Cana through. The food is OK, there are plenty of other spots to eat around town that are better. Weekends can be a little crazy, especially if it's a long weekend...lots of local tourists!!

Room Tip: make sure you get a room that does not face towards any of the public spaces. Parties at night can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We apologize the inconvenience you had with the food and the noise. We are currently working to upgrade our menu. On regards of the noise, we will consider talking to our guests when these events occur.

We are hoping to see you again so you could the best accommodations.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The accomodations are basic but decent. For the price and location, you can't expect fancy 5 star rooms. We ended up getting a room that over looked the river and it was definitely worth the extra money so you can enjoy the view and hear the water. When selecting a room online, get the premium rooms if possible. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff very dedicated. There is also hot water in the rooms. The beds were comfortable and the nights were quiet so we got great nights sleep.
I wasn't wowed by the pool, but I also didn't use it since I much prefered to go down to the river and swim there. The river itself is extremely relaxing - whether you are laying on a lounge chair looking at it with a drink in hand, or swimming in the rapids. I would also say that the reclusive location of the hotel adds to the relaxing nature of the hotel. However, if you don't have a car, I could see the location being troublesome since you would always have to call a taxi or rent a motorcycle.
As for the food, we didn't eat anything for dinner here but the breakfasts were basic and decent so I have no complaints. The staff at the hotel spoke very very little English or French so if you don't speak Spanish, bring a translator app on your phone or a book so you can communicate. They were very handy when asking for directions to the waterfalls and hikes in the area if you wanted to get to those without a guide.
Overall, our stay at the Gran Jimenoa was the highlight of our 12 day trip to the Dominican and I highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a premium room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are currently working on the pool area to make it better so when you come back could enjoy it as much as the river. I am sorry that you were not able to communicate well with our staff, we have considered hiring personnel in different areas that speaks fluent English so our guests and staff could communicate better.
We will love to serve you even better and we appreciate the positive review you’ve placed on our list.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is nice and is different than beeing on the beach in Dominican Republic, because it is located in the mountains near a river. If you like this type of sight seeing is really nice. We went for a wedding and the hotel did a pretty good job organizing about 120 people for 2 nights, since the celabrations were for 2 days.
The food was OK, but nothing spectacular, only the food we had for the wedding was amazing.
To have a party in a big balcony near the river is priceless!

Room Tip: The internet service is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Anna M

Thank your for your pleasant feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with the food, we are currently working on upgrading our menu so you could find it spectacular as you did in the wedding. I sincerely apologize for the problems you had with the Internet, the system we have only covers the public areas but we are certainly working to improve this so that our guests could feel comfortable and satisfied with the service provided. Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to use the Internet in all the areas without any problems.

We appreciate the positive review you’ve placed on our list and we are looking to seeing you soon

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in Feb 2013. The hotel is right on the banks of the River Jimenoa in a lovely setting. We thought it well worth paying the extra for a room overlooking the river. There was free wifi in the hotel, but we could not get it inside our room, and ample parking on site. The room was fine with a comfy bed and a private balcony. Breakfast was in the restaurant next to the river and was either buffet or menu depending on the number of guests in the hotel. The hotel is some distance outside the centre of the town ( about 3kms) so if you are staying here a hire care would be useful as it would for exploring the surrounding waterfalls and countryside. We took the white water rafting trip with Rancho Baiguate - great fun and professionally run by the Rancho staff who made sure everybody was safe and had a good time although they must have been doing it for the umpteenth time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank for your review and your pleasant stay around our beautiful river. We apologize the inconvenienced you had with our Internet; we were having problems with the service but it has been fixed and most of our rooms get the service without any problems. Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to use the Internet in all the rooms and common areas.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although my wife and I have lived in the DR for 3-1/2 yrs. having moved here from Florida, we visited Gran Jimenoa for the 1st time last week. The hotel has one of the most beautiful settings in the Dominican, nesteled among palm and evergreen trees and lush surroundings. It also sits next to Río Jimenoa rapids, where you can Kayak and walk the many paths and bridges that surround and go over the river. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the beds are very comfortable. So, as far as the hotel, it was most enjoyable. My one complaint is the food. Our food was always, at the most luke warm at the buffets. The buffet is also very limited. At breakfast, maybe 4 edible items not counting a couple of fresh fruits. Poached eggs, spam, mashed potatoes, cereal. That's it!!! The eggs were cold, and when we pointed this out the girl behind the egg dish actually argued with us saying that the water underneath was boiling and therefor the eggs must be hot. The mashed potatoes were also cold as well as the spam. Lunch was also the same. Everything, except the bean soup was luke warm at best. Nothing we ate was very good at all and they would also let the few trays of food go completely empty before they would even think of bringing a new tray of food. Even at that, the new trays were always luke warm and after 10-15 minutes were actually cool. My recommendation is to not eat the food there. It is a waste of money in my opinion. I would take a taxi into town, where there are some nice restaurants and eat there. Again, the hotel is wonderful, but stay away from the food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am truly sorry for your mishap with our breakfast. We will definitely consider enlarging our buffet and working on how to maintain the food hot at all times. With regards to the staff I apologize, it seems that she didn’t react the proper way. Please rest assure that we will look into this.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Jimenoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.