We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Jimenoa to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Relaxing and wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The accomodations are basic but decent. For the price and location, you can't expect fancy 5 star rooms. We ended up getting a room that over looked the river and it was definitely worth the extra money so you can enjoy the view and hear the water. When selecting a room online, get the premium rooms if possible. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff very dedicated. There is also hot water in the rooms. The beds were comfortable and the nights were quiet so we got great nights sleep.
I wasn't wowed by the pool, but I also didn't use it since I much prefered to go down to the river and swim there. The river itself is extremely relaxing - whether you are laying on a lounge chair looking at it with a drink in hand, or swimming in the rapids. I would also say that the reclusive location of the hotel adds to the relaxing nature of the hotel. However, if you don't have a car, I could see the location being troublesome since you would always have to call a taxi or rent a motorcycle.
As for the food, we didn't eat anything for dinner here but the breakfasts were basic and decent so I have no complaints. The staff at the hotel spoke very very little English or French so if you don't speak Spanish, bring a translator app on your phone or a book so you can communicate. They were very handy when asking for directions to the waterfalls and hikes in the area if you wanted to get to those without a guide.
Overall, our stay at the Gran Jimenoa was the highlight of our 12 day trip to the Dominican and I highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a premium room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are currently working on the pool area to make it better so when you come back could enjoy it as much as the river. I am sorry that you were not able to communicate well with our staff, we have considered hiring personnel in different areas that speaks fluent English so our guests and staff could communicate better.
We will love to serve you even better and we appreciate the positive review you’ve placed on our list.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
51
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is nice and is different than beeing on the beach in Dominican Republic, because it is located in the mountains near a river. If you like this type of sight seeing is really nice. We went for a wedding and the hotel did a pretty good job organizing about 120 people for 2 nights, since the celabrations were for 2 days.
The food was OK, but nothing spectacular, only the food we had for the wedding was amazing.
To have a party in a big balcony near the river is priceless!

Room Tip: The internet service is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Anna M

Thank your for your pleasant feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with the food, we are currently working on upgrading our menu so you could find it spectacular as you did in the wedding. I sincerely apologize for the problems you had with the Internet, the system we have only covers the public areas but we are certainly working to improve this so that our guests could feel comfortable and satisfied with the service provided. Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to use the Internet in all the areas without any problems.

We appreciate the positive review you’ve placed on our list and we are looking to seeing you soon

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in Feb 2013. The hotel is right on the banks of the River Jimenoa in a lovely setting. We thought it well worth paying the extra for a room overlooking the river. There was free wifi in the hotel, but we could not get it inside our room, and ample parking on site. The room was fine with a comfy bed and a private balcony. Breakfast was in the restaurant next to the river and was either buffet or menu depending on the number of guests in the hotel. The hotel is some distance outside the centre of the town ( about 3kms) so if you are staying here a hire care would be useful as it would for exploring the surrounding waterfalls and countryside. We took the white water rafting trip with Rancho Baiguate - great fun and professionally run by the Rancho staff who made sure everybody was safe and had a good time although they must have been doing it for the umpteenth time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank for your review and your pleasant stay around our beautiful river. We apologize the inconvenienced you had with our Internet; we were having problems with the service but it has been fixed and most of our rooms get the service without any problems. Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to use the Internet in all the rooms and common areas.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although my wife and I have lived in the DR for 3-1/2 yrs. having moved here from Florida, we visited Gran Jimenoa for the 1st time last week. The hotel has one of the most beautiful settings in the Dominican, nesteled among palm and evergreen trees and lush surroundings. It also sits next to Río Jimenoa rapids, where you can Kayak and walk the many paths and bridges that surround and go over the river. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the beds are very comfortable. So, as far as the hotel, it was most enjoyable. My one complaint is the food. Our food was always, at the most luke warm at the buffets. The buffet is also very limited. At breakfast, maybe 4 edible items not counting a couple of fresh fruits. Poached eggs, spam, mashed potatoes, cereal. That's it!!! The eggs were cold, and when we pointed this out the girl behind the egg dish actually argued with us saying that the water underneath was boiling and therefor the eggs must be hot. The mashed potatoes were also cold as well as the spam. Lunch was also the same. Everything, except the bean soup was luke warm at best. Nothing we ate was very good at all and they would also let the few trays of food go completely empty before they would even think of bringing a new tray of food. Even at that, the new trays were always luke warm and after 10-15 minutes were actually cool. My recommendation is to not eat the food there. It is a waste of money in my opinion. I would take a taxi into town, where there are some nice restaurants and eat there. Again, the hotel is wonderful, but stay away from the food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am truly sorry for your mishap with our breakfast. We will definitely consider enlarging our buffet and working on how to maintain the food hot at all times. With regards to the staff I apologize, it seems that she didn’t react the proper way. Please rest assure that we will look into this.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

excellent unique romantic setting right on the river with breakfast areas and bridges overlooking river. you can even swim in river and enjoy peaceful surroundings. some bathrooms remodeled but ask for them specifically

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you had an excellent stay. On regards to the bathroom we are currently working on upgrading all of them.
We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconviniences with our tripadvisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response.

Hopefully we could have you back soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located in the foothills where temperatures remain temperate all year, this property is a high leel tourist class hotel. The grounds are well maintained next to a rushing river and the restaurant serves very good food (although costly for the DR ... between $10 and $20 per person). It is a distance from town which ensures quiet but accessibility requires a car or taxi every time one goes into town. the sauna and jacuzzi were not working while I was there but the pool was very clean (and frigid). Tours can be arranged through them for horseback riding and river rafting, etc. It is a good change from the beach and a nice et away.

Room Tip: If you want the pleasure of the river rushing ask for one that faces the river, if you want quiet, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Arthur

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you found our food expensive but we try our best since the economic situation surrounding our country and the raise of taxes that recently occurred is not the best.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We will definitely consider your thoughts and we are expecting to see you again around our facilities.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very clean, very private place, nice to be with a love one. Our room view was excellent. I could see and hear the river running behind the hotel...the food was good. Breakfast was not that wowing, but was ok. I went on thangsgiving 2012 and there were some renovations going on, but overall, I like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Luciano

On behalf of our hotel we will like to thank you for your feedback and we are happy for your romantic stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your expectations with breakfast. We are currently working on expanding our variety of food during the buffet.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We encourage you to visit again and give us some new thoughts of it since it has changed a lot since then.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Jimenoa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only eight minutes away from the town of Jarabacoa, surrounded by a spectacular natural environment, is located the Hotel Gran Jimenoa, with a magic mountain landscape of the river Jimenoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Jimenoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Jimenoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.