We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away in the foothills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Jimenoa to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get away in the foothills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located in the foothills where temperatures remain temperate all year, this property is a high leel tourist class hotel. The grounds are well maintained next to a rushing river and the restaurant serves very good food (although costly for the DR ... between $10 and $20 per person). It is a distance from town which ensures quiet but accessibility requires a car or taxi every time one goes into town. the sauna and jacuzzi were not working while I was there but the pool was very clean (and frigid). Tours can be arranged through them for horseback riding and river rafting, etc. It is a good change from the beach and a nice et away.

Room Tip: If you want the pleasure of the river rushing ask for one that faces the river, if you want quiet, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Arthur

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you found our food expensive but we try our best since the economic situation surrounding our country and the raise of taxes that recently occurred is not the best.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We will definitely consider your thoughts and we are expecting to see you again around our facilities.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bayamon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very clean, very private place, nice to be with a love one. Our room view was excellent. I could see and hear the river running behind the hotel...the food was good. Breakfast was not that wowing, but was ok. I went on thangsgiving 2012 and there were some renovations going on, but overall, I like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Luciano

On behalf of our hotel we will like to thank you for your feedback and we are happy for your romantic stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your expectations with breakfast. We are currently working on expanding our variety of food during the buffet.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We encourage you to visit again and give us some new thoughts of it since it has changed a lot since then.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is near the city, but surrounding places are no the very cool. Service could be better. But it is a nice Hotel. The type of building it is not the most ideal. Place is so quiet and near the Jarabacoa city and has a river in it´s facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Leonardo

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenient you could have had with our staff; we try our best to keep our services to the highest standards. We will definitely take into consideration your review.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We encourage you to visit us once again since all of our buildings have been updated.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed a night while on business in Jarabacoa. The surroundings, right on the river, were beautiful and pleasant, especially for eating on the restaurant terrace. The room was comfortable. Mine faced the river and I found the ever present sound of the river soothing, while others might be bothered by it (think sound of AC fan in background all the time). A few flaws, though, like unfinished sconce lighting in the room leaving bare wires sticking out of the wall. Simple, clean accomodations. Nice bathroom.
Biggest shortcoming was the delay in opening the restaurant for breakfast, not an uncommon occurrence I was told by others that had stayed there before. Nominally ready to seve at 7:30, it was more like 8:30. Good thing we had time before our morning meeting.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests

We appreciate your time to write this review and we truly apologize for the inconveniences occurred. We try to keep our housekeeping to the highest standards, so we are not sure why this happened. Rooms are daily checked and are supposed to be reported. We have worked since then, in fact today there was another person assigned to check every room and detailed every flaw they had.

On behalf of the delay of the opening for breakfast we are truly sorry and will definitely take consideration into it.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We hope you will return to receive the best attentions.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is a great place to stay on a budget. Rooms were average, not recommended to stay in them, but comfortable enough to sleep well. TV are old sets but manageable, food is ok. I would recommended only to sleep and enjoy nature, as a peaceful environment. If you are visiting the town unless you have transportation to it, it won't work, since its is set in the suburban area.

Room Tip: The ones with views to the river so you get to enjoy waking up and contemplate nature and the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.y. city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

im mostly a budget traveler who prefers staying in hostels..or guest houses..rather than expensive hotels or resorts..and i enjoy being in areas less frequented by tourist ..i decided to check out the mountain region after spending kind of a stressfull week in cabartete..i found this hotel in lonely planet..and i can not say enough good about it! was incredibly beautiful,right on a magnificent river! the smell of tropical flowers everywhere! very good service..very freindly.and great breakfast!!.located outside of town,its a very peacefull and relaxing place to get away.and if traveling either by yourself or with a companion,well worth spending a little extra cash for the experince..jarabacoa is by far my favorite place i visited on my month long travel in the D.R.!! people are so freindly and kind! many amazing things to see and do.. hiking,a trip to the falls..try monchy adventure guides..(monchyadventureguide.com)...u will not find a cooler guide..!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a veiw of the river,if avaiable..but all the rooms are nice..looking out at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Izzy

Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. We appreciate your positive comments; they are always the motor of our improvements.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
Hopefully you could visit us again.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Gran Jimenoa in Jarabacoa for 1 night. This hotel sits in front of a beautiful fast flowing river - scenery and sound is amazing. Hotel rooms are very nice (although as you find in lots of places definitely not perfect and in need of refurbishment but still nice), we had a room facing the river. We had hot water in the shower on the first day but not the second day and internet also not working on second day but this is how it is sometimes so not a big deal. There is an outdoor pool and spa (with not much pressure or very hot water). Staff were nice and hotel restaurant, while definitely a bit more pricey, was excellent. Food very good and you have a great view of the river. There was barely any other guests when we were there so that teamed with the setting made the whole stay very relaxing.
Price was ok - we paid what was listed on website. Streets are not well signed so we did need to stop and ask for directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mioymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize the inconvenience you had during your stay. You may be interested to know that just this week we started a full refurbishment of our guests’ rooms. As of your problem with the hot water the second day of your stay it’s not common in our hotel but will definitely be consider.

Regarding the Internet, the service was practically down until October but we are working on getting better services to all the areas including the guests’ rooms.

We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconveniences with our trip advisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response.

Overall we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you return to experience the many enhancements we made this year.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarabacoa
42.9 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#1 of 45 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
22.6 mi away
Camp David
Camp David
#7 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho La Aurora
Hotel Rancho La Aurora
#4 of 8 in Jarabacoa
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 8 in Jarabacoa
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Jimenoa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only eight minutes away from the town of Jarabacoa, surrounded by a spectacular natural environment, is located the Hotel Gran Jimenoa, with a magic mountain landscape of the river Jimenoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotwire, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Jimenoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#