We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very lovely spot, very private” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Jarabacoa
Bayamon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very lovely spot, very private”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very clean, very private place, nice to be with a love one. Our room view was excellent. I could see and hear the river running behind the hotel...the food was good. Breakfast was not that wowing, but was ok. I went on thangsgiving 2012 and there were some renovations going on, but overall, I like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Luciano

On behalf of our hotel we will like to thank you for your feedback and we are happy for your romantic stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your expectations with breakfast. We are currently working on expanding our variety of food during the buffet.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We encourage you to visit again and give us some new thoughts of it since it has changed a lot since then.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
34
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is near the city, but surrounding places are no the very cool. Service could be better. But it is a nice Hotel. The type of building it is not the most ideal. Place is so quiet and near the Jarabacoa city and has a river in it´s facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Leonardo

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenient you could have had with our staff; we try our best to keep our services to the highest standards. We will definitely take into consideration your review.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We encourage you to visit us once again since all of our buildings have been updated.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed a night while on business in Jarabacoa. The surroundings, right on the river, were beautiful and pleasant, especially for eating on the restaurant terrace. The room was comfortable. Mine faced the river and I found the ever present sound of the river soothing, while others might be bothered by it (think sound of AC fan in background all the time). A few flaws, though, like unfinished sconce lighting in the room leaving bare wires sticking out of the wall. Simple, clean accomodations. Nice bathroom.
Biggest shortcoming was the delay in opening the restaurant for breakfast, not an uncommon occurrence I was told by others that had stayed there before. Nominally ready to seve at 7:30, it was more like 8:30. Good thing we had time before our morning meeting.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests

We appreciate your time to write this review and we truly apologize for the inconveniences occurred. We try to keep our housekeeping to the highest standards, so we are not sure why this happened. Rooms are daily checked and are supposed to be reported. We have worked since then, in fact today there was another person assigned to check every room and detailed every flaw they had.

On behalf of the delay of the opening for breakfast we are truly sorry and will definitely take consideration into it.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We hope you will return to receive the best attentions.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is a great place to stay on a budget. Rooms were average, not recommended to stay in them, but comfortable enough to sleep well. TV are old sets but manageable, food is ok. I would recommended only to sleep and enjoy nature, as a peaceful environment. If you are visiting the town unless you have transportation to it, it won't work, since its is set in the suburban area.

Room Tip: The ones with views to the river so you get to enjoy waking up and contemplate nature and the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Kya

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not complete your expectations. We are currently working to upgrade all of our rooms and regarding your comments on our TV settings some of our guests rooms have plasmas. Certainly our plan is to get plasmas on all of them in the shortest period of time.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to have a more comfortable stay.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.y. city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

im mostly a budget traveler who prefers staying in hostels..or guest houses..rather than expensive hotels or resorts..and i enjoy being in areas less frequented by tourist ..i decided to check out the mountain region after spending kind of a stressfull week in cabartete..i found this hotel in lonely planet..and i can not say enough good about it! was incredibly beautiful,right on a magnificent river! the smell of tropical flowers everywhere! very good service..very freindly.and great breakfast!!.located outside of town,its a very peacefull and relaxing place to get away.and if traveling either by yourself or with a companion,well worth spending a little extra cash for the experince..jarabacoa is by far my favorite place i visited on my month long travel in the D.R.!! people are so freindly and kind! many amazing things to see and do.. hiking,a trip to the falls..try monchy adventure guides..(monchyadventureguide.com)...u will not find a cooler guide..!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a veiw of the river,if avaiable..but all the rooms are nice..looking out at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Izzy

Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. We appreciate your positive comments; they are always the motor of our improvements.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
Hopefully you could visit us again.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Gran Jimenoa in Jarabacoa for 1 night. This hotel sits in front of a beautiful fast flowing river - scenery and sound is amazing. Hotel rooms are very nice (although as you find in lots of places definitely not perfect and in need of refurbishment but still nice), we had a room facing the river. We had hot water in the shower on the first day but not the second day and internet also not working on second day but this is how it is sometimes so not a big deal. There is an outdoor pool and spa (with not much pressure or very hot water). Staff were nice and hotel restaurant, while definitely a bit more pricey, was excellent. Food very good and you have a great view of the river. There was barely any other guests when we were there so that teamed with the setting made the whole stay very relaxing.
Price was ok - we paid what was listed on website. Streets are not well signed so we did need to stop and ask for directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize the inconvenience you had during your stay. You may be interested to know that just this week we started a full refurbishment of our guests’ rooms. As of your problem with the hot water the second day of your stay it’s not common in our hotel but will definitely be consider.

Regarding the Internet, the service was practically down until October but we are working on getting better services to all the areas including the guests’ rooms.

We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconveniences with our trip advisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response.

Overall we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you return to experience the many enhancements we made this year.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabarete
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The property itself is in an amazing location, but to call it eco is a total misnomer - there is nothing eco about it.

To be fair however, it is not really directed at an international clientel, it's more for the big city dwellers who are looking for an esacape to nature, and things like walking trails, solar power, organic food, hikes, bikes or anything that most people would deem eco are not really that in demand so they don't have it.

Any activities requrie leaving the property, and if you are there for more than 2 days, the meals in the restaurant can start to become tedious.

Everything worked well, and the location is truly stunning. We did manage to fine one hike that connected to the river, but the hotel staff didn't know about it and it was a few locals living outside the property who directed us to the path. It's hard to find so I won't bother trying to describe it.

Internet doesn't make it to the rooms, it's only in the common area if you have to do work.

Jarabacoa itself is a great place, but without someone to show you around, it's hard to find many of it's best parts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly sorry for the problems you faced with the food and Internet. We are currently working on both by having more varieties in our buffet during breakfast and upgrading our menu. As of the Internet we are currently working to improve the system so all of our guests could get better services in their rooms.

We are sorry to hear that the activities around town did not fulfill your expectations but you may be interested to know that we try giving the opportunity to other companies in the Jarabacoa area to offer their activities such as hiking, kayaking, horse riding and others.

We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconviniences with our tripadvisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response. We hope to see you again and will thrill to offer you better accommodations.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Jarabacoa
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Jimenoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Jimenoa to your Saves list