We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Jarabacoa
cabarete
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The property itself is in an amazing location, but to call it eco is a total misnomer - there is nothing eco about it.

To be fair however, it is not really directed at an international clientel, it's more for the big city dwellers who are looking for an esacape to nature, and things like walking trails, solar power, organic food, hikes, bikes or anything that most people would deem eco are not really that in demand so they don't have it.

Any activities requrie leaving the property, and if you are there for more than 2 days, the meals in the restaurant can start to become tedious.

Everything worked well, and the location is truly stunning. We did manage to fine one hike that connected to the river, but the hotel staff didn't know about it and it was a few locals living outside the property who directed us to the path. It's hard to find so I won't bother trying to describe it.

Internet doesn't make it to the rooms, it's only in the common area if you have to do work.

Jarabacoa itself is a great place, but without someone to show you around, it's hard to find many of it's best parts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly sorry for the problems you faced with the food and Internet. We are currently working on both by having more varieties in our buffet during breakfast and upgrading our menu. As of the Internet we are currently working to improve the system so all of our guests could get better services in their rooms.

We are sorry to hear that the activities around town did not fulfill your expectations but you may be interested to know that we try giving the opportunity to other companies in the Jarabacoa area to offer their activities such as hiking, kayaking, horse riding and others.

We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconviniences with our tripadvisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response. We hope to see you again and will thrill to offer you better accommodations.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
29
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent three days at the Gran Jimenoa last week, and loved it. The gardens and grounds dazzle with the best of Caribbean flowers and foliage. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff is helpful, and the folks in the hotel's restaurant are the best! There are many exciting day trips to be made from the Gran Jimenoa, and yet there's plenty to enjoy right on hotel's premises. The river runs astride the hotel, and has a pedestrian bridge over top. There's nothing like sitting in the restaurant, enjoying a meal or a cup of coffee and just watching the river rush by. This is truly a beautiful place to get away from it all. Any sort of wi-fi connection might be impossible -- so go, and relax, and unplug.

Room Tip: As for a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback regarding our hotel. We are truly happy that you enjoyed a relaxing, exciting and fun stay in our hotel.

I sincerely apologize for the problems you had with the Internet, the system we have only covers the public areas and some of the rooms but we are certainly working to improve this so that our guests could feel comfortable and satisfied with the service provided. Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to use the Internet in all the areas without any problems.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The setting was excellent and we were given a room with a view....but then the shower was cold...(but the next morning was warm)....then when we went to read in bed we realized that they had cannibalized the bedside light plugs to provide the electricity for the TV. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was adequate ,the service friendly but it did seem set up for large tour groups. The night we were there there was us, a group of 10 or 12 and a couple from Seattle with two small children....in a large hotel. I am not sure they could have coped on a busy weekend.
And yet with all this we might well go back, the setting on the river was very pretty and there were not many choices around. We had our own vehicle which helped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback regarding our hotel. We apologize for the problems you had during your stay. We keep our housekeeping to the highest standards and they are supposed to make a review of every flaw occurring in the guest’s rooms. We will definitely take hands into this and I will be sure to raise your experience to our entire service team. You may be interested to know that since your stay we’ve had many refurbishments in our guests rooms and will like you to experience all of our enhancements for your next stay.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Gran Jimenoa is paradise found, this hotel is adjacent to the country's biggest and most important river. The sound of the river rapid as it flows next to the Hotel will drain all the stress from your body. The restaurant is also overlooking the river. I can tell you that you will re-charge your batteries in this place.
Rooms are beautiful and cozy... extremely clean. I highly recommend this place in the DR.

Room Tip: with a river view a "must"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking you precious time to give such a positive review to our hotel. Since we have improved many of our facilities and will love to see you around again.

We are sorry for lasting so long to respond your review. We’ve experienced some inconviniences with our tripadvisors assistant. From now on our guests will get an immediate response.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful BC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

While this location is remote ... down a dirt road ... and not "near" anything - a few km (or miles) to town ...it is an oasis beside a river ... and it is easy (and inexpensive) to get a taxi to town. If you make arrangements with the driver to pick you up at a destination and time to return to the hotel, that worked well. Be prepared that beyond your room and a very cold swimming pool, there is nothing to do here but relax. If you want to spend time unwinding ... this is the place. Several reception staff speak English, most other staff do not. Dining room food was sometimes buffet (and ordering off menu was discouraged) and other times off menu. From other's experiences, we were warned to "pay as you go" for drinks at bar (which is inside restaurant) meaning one by one ... otherwise, your tab could be greater than your orders. And, if your supper meal is included with your room rate and you wish dessert, be sure to ask for the dinner menu for desserts, otherwise, they may give you the 'bar dessert menu' which has prices beside the desserts (some are different desserts from the dinner menu) and then bill you for the dessert separately. .. if you know this ahead and choose that dessert, just know it will be a separate bill. Overall, an oasis of quiet, on beautiful grounds, with pleasant staff.
(If you like the sound of the river flowing, ask for a riverside room ... lovely.)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are lovely if you like the sound of the flowing water ... we found it re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry for the unpleasant experiences you had during your stay. Our menu has been completely renovated and our buffed has been expanded to a much bigger variety. As of the mishap you faced with the bill for your dessert we are definitely taking this into consideration and will share your experience to our entire service team.

We will like you to know that our road has been completely renovated so it will be easier to get to us without dust.

We apologize for not responding your comment before. We had some problems with the assistant of this area but its all been solved and now you will be able to experience an immediate response. We hope to see you again so you could enjoy all of our upgrades.


Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were driving and had a heck of a time trying to find this place. We finally had a kind soul on a motorbike who led us to the turn in the road. Even after that it was a couple of rough miles on dirt roads. We had a room with a balcony view of the river. The setting and the grounds were beautiful. The beds were a little uncomfortable and the bathroom was a little rough. Making a reservation was quite a process, they emailed us a form and it was hard to decipher exactly what information they were requiring. Evenso, the check in process went smoothly and they had our room reserved. . Breakfast in the morning was included and very good, Pool did not look like it was very well maintained. If you are white water rafting or visiting the waterfalls in area it is an inexpensive place to stay for a few days. Don't think I would recommend for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river more expensive - but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding our hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you faced getting to our hotel, we have placed more signs that will direct all of our guests to our point. As of the dirt road, you might as well know that it has been completely renovated. Our rooms have been fully refurbished so you could have a more comfortable bed and a better-equipped bathroom.

I am truly sorry that your reservation process was a bit hard and that you encounter problems with the pool. We will truly take hands into this problem and trained our staff so it can’t happen again.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We hope to see you soon around our hotel, wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We arrived after a hair raising drive through Santiago to the hidden jem that is Jarabacoa. After a week in Sosua this was a refreashing change of scenery. The hotel is pretty hard to find as there are no signs off the main road so make sure you can speak enough spanish to ask for directions. The road leading up to the resort is a bumpy gravel road but once you get to the resort it is worth the effort. We arrived and were the only 4 people at the resort, which is odd considering how amazing the food and service turned out to be. The weather is about 10 degrees colder than the beach so dress warm, and caution booking the spa if it is cold as the wind makes the experience reminicent of an outdoor spa in Canada. The Karaoke bar was rocking, and the staff went above and beyond looking for English speaking music. For 250 pesos you can buy a tourist map from the reception, and I recomend it, we ended up seeing 2 of the most amazing waterfalls in the Caribbean. The view from our suite was amazing, the rapids on the Jimenoa river played in the background as we enjoyed cervesa's on the patio. Overall I recomend this hotel for anyone who wants quite elegance away from the relentless vendors and crowded beaches that are easy to fond on the DR.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel in such a positive way. We are glad we fulfill your expectations.

Regarding the road it has been completely renewed and we have posted more signs so our guests are able to reach us in a faster way.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.

We hope to see you soon and wish you the very best.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel
Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Jarabacoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Jimenoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gran Jimenoa to your Saves list