We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$10 (USD)
Lund, Sweden
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very cozy and price-worthy option if you ever go to Jarabacoa!

We stayed at the Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel for two weeks. At the time of our stay we were the only ones staying at the hostel. This basically meant we had a whole house to ourselves! Fully equipped and all! We used the kitchen every day. No problems whatsoever. The house is cleaned often. Same there, no problems at all. It also felt very secure seeing as how we had a gate to the house which could be locked, on top of just locking the outer door. Not that you should ever feel insecure in Jarabacoa. Everyone we met was really nice!

The owners, Molly and Rudolfo, are one of the nicest people we met during our stay in the Dominican Republic! They always greeted us with a smile and helped us with whatever issue we had. They supplied us with food the first night, since we had not had time to go to the supermarket yet. They made sure to fix the bikes, which we got to lend just to be able to get faster into town. Got an ant problem (because we accidentally forgot to pick us some pieces of leftovers)? Here, use our and spray! Need help with weekend activities? Here, have this map and list of adventures! This is just a SMALL selection of all the things they helped us with. There really was no end to their kindness. The WiFi no longer worked inside the hostel, but that didn't stop us from getting access to the internet. They invited us to come over to their house and use it whenever we wanted. We were never met with irritation or the feeling of being a nuisance.

The beds are really comfortable and come supplied with mosquito nets. Bedrooms are equipped with both ceiling fans and floor fans, should it get too warm. The ventilation is really good too. It was winter during our stay, meaning it got a little "cold" (by Dominican standard) during the night. Good thing the bedcovers were warm and cozy. The only downside we can think of was that some nights there was a lot of noise outside. Motorcycles driving by, dogs barking, roosters calling etc. Easily taken care of by using ear plugs, though!

The hostel is situated a good 15-20 min walk from the town center. For us this was no problem, seeing as how we liked the scenery and the fresh air you got from walking. Should you feel the need to get to town faster you can always call a taxi or a motorcycle to come pick you up. Both are very cheap options. On the upside the location also meant that it is very close to a nearby ranch were you can go on all sorts of adventures. It's called Rancho Baiguate. Going on a rafting tour there is very much recommended!

We can safely recommend the Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel. It was definitely one of the highlights of our stay in Jarabacoa. Don't be hesitant about the location. It's just about the only downside with this hostel. And we thought long and hard on what to complain about!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
4
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I spent ten days here last month and really felt at home. The hostel is a VERY clean house with several rooms. It is very comfortable and homey. It is about a 17 minute walk from the city center. As mentioned by other reviewers, that is about a $2.50 taxi ride. The beds are super comfortable. It was stocked with plates and utensils as well as seasoning and sugar. Molly even brought over fresh ginger for us because my traveling companion had stomach issues. I really appreciated that.

Molly-Ann and Rudolfo are super sweet. They are eager to please and let us know that we can feel free to come over and ask for whatever we need. We did and they were true to their word. They never seemed annoyed. If they were heading to town or driving home and saw us on the road, they offered us a ride. This is kindness that comes from very good hearts.

The thing that touched my heart the most was hearing Molly-Ann's little feet running toward the hostel and her calling out my name to invite me over the last night I was there. I felt as if I had made a friend. Needless to say, I look forward to returning in the future.

I look forward to going back to the hostel and seeing Rudolfo, Molly-Ann and their baby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've stayed at this hostel for 2 nights and absolutely enjoyed it! First of all it was so nice of Molly to pick us up at the busstation when we arrived and show us the most important things in town. The hostel is a house, very clean, with high ceilings, pretty country-style furniture, wonderful beds, big living room and terrasse! The first day nobody else excect for us stayed at the hostel, so it seemed like having rented a whole house! For the price we payed (US$18) this was an amazing deal! The first day we walked to the waterfall "Salto de Jimenoa", which was a wonderful walk, about 3 hours through small mountain villages. We didn't know the way, so we always asked locals which street to take next, they were all really friendly. The landscape on the way to the waterfall is amazing, however we were a little bit disappointed when we saw the waterfall, it's alright seeing it once, but there are definitely better oncce. For example "salto baiguate" is another waterfall which is much prettier than the other one. You can relax better and actually swimm there! lovely landscape! You can walk there (about 2 hours) but also take a taxi (about US$12 round-trip) or take a horse ($US9), however, for horseback riding you need to make reservations a day in advance!! For the evening I recommend going to the restaurant Jamaca de Dios (mains between US$ 10 - 20) it's on top of the moutain with the most beautiful panorama! breathtaking! You can also just go there for a drink! All in all, I definitely recommend Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel and probably will go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel for one night just last week. We both really liked it and wish we could have stayed another night. Both Molly and Rodrigo are sweethearts and we felt right at home here. The place was clean and had the basic amenities. The Wi-fi worked fine on my phone. It was so nice to sit out on the porch and have a glass of wine while checking out the full moon over the mountains. Molly provided us with great tips on what to see and even drew us a map and gave us restaurant suggestions. She also gave us a good recommendation for our next hotel, since they were booked the following night. Rodrigo was nice enough to taxi us to a local waterfall and then come back to pick us up when we finished our trek. It's a little bit removed from town, and while we didn't walk to town with our big packs, it would certainly be doable. The only down side is that it was a little bit noisy at night with some confused roosters, nothing ear plugs wouldn't fix. ;) Overall this is a great value for a laid back, clean stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived Molly and Rodolfo took good care of us. They even brought over a few toys that our three year old could play with. The house was very clean, well decorated, and has really good wifi. Since the house is about a 5 min drive from town, you will need a taxi most time, but that only costs about $3 US. Jarabacoa is great town. Mountain views, good restaurants, nice facilities for kids. but the accommodations really helped to make this trip for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Molly and Rodolfo's 'hostel' is so much more than the name implies. It is really a very secure four-bedroom, two-bathroom house set on a quiet side road with a mountain view. There are only five houses within eyesight - the rest is serene nature. Your hosts live two doors down, but they give you all the space you desire.

The house has a full kitchen, a large dining area and a large living room. Fresh water and coffee greet you on arrival. Outside the front door is a large lounging area and another dining set, all covered from rain. We spent several nights hanging out there.

Molly is American-born, and fluent in English and Spanish, and her desire to keep the guests happy knows no bounds - beginning with her lists of 'local interests' and 'important numbers' in each room. Rodolfo is Dominican, and he more than makes up for his lack of English with his quick smile and interest in making your stay as pleasant as possible. If possible, he will pick you up at the bus station - to get you oriented immediately.

The house is about 1.5 mi (2.4 km) east of the core of the town - small bars, restaurants, supermercados, clothing stores, separate meat/fish and vegetable markets, Dominican fast food, a small gym, a modern spinning gym, a tree-lined square, etc. I enjoyed the walk once or twice a day, but you can always taxi for RD$100 (US$2.50 / E$2.00), or for half that amount on a moto concho (a small motorcycle taxi which is not for the feint of heart). Half that trip is dirt road, which was messy during the rain, but I still had no issue walking it every day.

You can walk around the center of Jarabacoa in 20-30 minutes (about 8 square blocks), making you feel at home immediately. The people are amazing, friendly and a bit shy overall. Since you are far from the beach, there are no pirates, prostitutes or vendors. Except for the sweet shoe-shine kids (show your coins first - RD$10-15 is plenty), you will never be solicited for money. You are never more than a 5-10 minute walk to a taxi stand, you can flag a moto concho every 2 minutes, or you can make the scenic 20-minute walk back to your home away from home.

On the weekend nights you can frequent one of the little bars around town. As with many DR towns and cities, Sunday night is often an enmass party around the square and the two Colmados (convenience/alcohol stores) facing it, complete with booming Merengue Tipico music reminiscent of the Creole and Cajun sounds of Louisiana and Acadian Nova Scotia. Dancing on the streets is not uncommon. Dress to impress.

I loved Jarabacoa, and the best hosts I've encountered in 30 countries. I will be back to this lovely town and to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel. This time I want to see all the sites - including climbing the waterfalls, paragliding the local mountain, white water rafting, and eating at the amazing Monestary 6 km away (Monasterio Santa Maria del Evangelio).

Room Tip: The house is complete with ceiling and portable fans. No A/C is required in the mountain air of Jar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great place, highly recommended! We were a large group of 7 friends, and Molly and Rodolfo helped us have a great stay. Quiet, comfortable and clean. The only hiccup was that the water ran out for a few hours but the family quickly came to the rescue, allowing us to bathe in their home after a muddy hike. Great place and such a great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

Address: Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic retreat for backpackers, adventure seekers, pioneers, missionaries, and students! When what you want is a clean place to crash, reliable travel tips, and for someone to point you in the right direction for cheap eats and adventure, this is the place to be. Simple lodgings with some extras thrown into the mix such as laundry facilities, bicycles, high-speed internet, fully-equipped kitchen, purified drinking water, coffee and hot water for bathing. Our destination is a bit bohemian, very inviting and relaxing, and an ideal location to make your base camp for mountain climbing and camping, river-rafting, hiking, paragliding, canyoning, or other more serious pursuits. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel to your Saves list