We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Save
You added Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel to your Saves list
Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 (USD)
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived Molly and Rodolfo took good care of us. They even brought over a few toys that our three year old could play with. The house was very clean, well decorated, and has really good wifi. Since the house is about a 5 min drive from town, you will need a taxi most time, but that only costs about $3 US. Jarabacoa is great town. Mountain views, good restaurants, nice facilities for kids. but the accommodations really helped to make this trip for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
5
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Molly and Rodolfo's 'hostel' is so much more than the name implies. It is really a very secure four-bedroom, two-bathroom house set on a quiet side road with a mountain view. There are only five houses within eyesight - the rest is serene nature. Your hosts live two doors down, but they give you all the space you desire.

The house has a full kitchen, a large dining area and a large living room. Fresh water and coffee greet you on arrival. Outside the front door is a large lounging area and another dining set, all covered from rain. We spent several nights hanging out there.

Molly is American-born, and fluent in English and Spanish, and her desire to keep the guests happy knows no bounds - beginning with her lists of 'local interests' and 'important numbers' in each room. Rodolfo is Dominican, and he more than makes up for his lack of English with his quick smile and interest in making your stay as pleasant as possible. If possible, he will pick you up at the bus station - to get you oriented immediately.

The house is about 1.5 mi (2.4 km) east of the core of the town - small bars, restaurants, supermercados, clothing stores, separate meat/fish and vegetable markets, Dominican fast food, a small gym, a modern spinning gym, a tree-lined square, etc. I enjoyed the walk once or twice a day, but you can always taxi for RD$100 (US$2.50 / E$2.00), or for half that amount on a moto concho (a small motorcycle taxi which is not for the feint of heart). Half that trip is dirt road, which was messy during the rain, but I still had no issue walking it every day.

You can walk around the center of Jarabacoa in 20-30 minutes (about 8 square blocks), making you feel at home immediately. The people are amazing, friendly and a bit shy overall. Since you are far from the beach, there are no pirates, prostitutes or vendors. Except for the sweet shoe-shine kids (show your coins first - RD$10-15 is plenty), you will never be solicited for money. You are never more than a 5-10 minute walk to a taxi stand, you can flag a moto concho every 2 minutes, or you can make the scenic 20-minute walk back to your home away from home.

On the weekend nights you can frequent one of the little bars around town. As with many DR towns and cities, Sunday night is often an enmass party around the square and the two Colmados (convenience/alcohol stores) facing it, complete with booming Merengue Tipico music reminiscent of the Creole and Cajun sounds of Louisiana and Acadian Nova Scotia. Dancing on the streets is not uncommon. Dress to impress.

I loved Jarabacoa, and the best hosts I've encountered in 30 countries. I will be back to this lovely town and to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel. This time I want to see all the sites - including climbing the waterfalls, paragliding the local mountain, white water rafting, and eating at the amazing Monestary 6 km away (Monasterio Santa Maria del Evangelio).

Room Tip: The house is complete with ceiling and portable fans. No A/C is required in the mountain air of Jar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great place, highly recommended! We were a large group of 7 friends, and Molly and Rodolfo helped us have a great stay. Quiet, comfortable and clean. The only hiccup was that the water ran out for a few hours but the family quickly came to the rescue, allowing us to bathe in their home after a muddy hike. Great place and such a great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Clean and homey place to stay in lovely Jarabacoa. Molly Ann and Rodolfo are charming and helpful. Location is not central, must keep in mind if not driving...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Molly and Rudy made us all feel very welcome. Our family had a wonderful time! The home was very roomy and slept all 9 of us comfortably. My dad was able to make it out in service and to a meeting with the Spanish congregation. The beds were very great and very warm.

Room Tip: Avoid New Years in the Dominican Republic, it gets quite loud and stays loud until about 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xvnb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

we spent one night at this very nicely decorated hostel. service was fantastic. the mangers very flexible and helpful. spotlessly clean. comfortable beds. it was a delightful experience. we hope to go again and rent the whole house for a group outing. On the direction to find it watch for a road that has high cement columns and metal gates that are open. enjoy! we did.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you want and they will do everything they can to accomodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I traveled on my own in April 2011 throughout Dominican Republic and the Jarabacoa Hostel was the nicest little hostel I encountered. It is quiet, private and clean, unlike most other places in the DR. It is located a little bit outside of the main street, which is actually a plus. It is secured with two gates and doors, but it never felt unsafe. Rooms are spacious and beds are large, so if you travel solo the bed is all yours. Bathroom is clean with hot water and kitchen is equipped with basic cooking utensils, drinking water and some ground coffee in the freezer and the hostel has two computers with internet connections. Large porch is great for having dinner and chit-chat with possible other guests. There are also bikes in the shed behind the house that can be used for free - very useful if interested in exploring the surroundings. Molly has also a small map with market, grocery store and restaurant addresses prepared for the newcomers. Once you are done with the arrival though, you are completely on your own, although the owners live two houses further and are available for any requests.
To me they were in particularly helpful as I was traveling around without speaking any Spanish and aiming to climb nearby Pico Duarte. Rodolfo drove me to the base early in the morning (as he owns taxi-business too) and stayed to negotiate a reliable guide for me.
I enthusiastically recommend the hostel to anyone traveling to Jarabacoa.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

Address: Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic retreat for backpackers, adventure seekers, pioneers, missionaries, and students! When what you want is a clean place to crash, reliable travel tips, and for someone to point you in the right direction for cheap eats and adventure, this is the place to be. Simple lodgings with some extras thrown into the mix such as laundry facilities, bicycles, high-speed internet, fully-equipped kitchen, purified drinking water, coffee and hot water for bathing. Our destination is a bit bohemian, very inviting and relaxing, and an ideal location to make your base camp for mountain climbing and camping, river-rafting, hiking, paragliding, canyoning, or other more serious pursuits. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.