We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy mountain house!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Save
You added Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel to your Saves list
Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free luxe room upgrade
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Cozy mountain house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great place, highly recommended! We were a large group of 7 friends, and Molly and Rodolfo helped us have a great stay. Quiet, comfortable and clean. The only hiccup was that the water ran out for a few hours but the family quickly came to the rescue, allowing us to bathe in their home after a muddy hike. Great place and such a great value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
5
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Clean and homey place to stay in lovely Jarabacoa. Molly Ann and Rodolfo are charming and helpful. Location is not central, must keep in mind if not driving...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Molly and Rudy made us all feel very welcome. Our family had a wonderful time! The home was very roomy and slept all 9 of us comfortably. My dad was able to make it out in service and to a meeting with the Spanish congregation. The beds were very great and very warm.

Room Tip: Avoid New Years in the Dominican Republic, it gets quite loud and stays loud until about 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xvnb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

we spent one night at this very nicely decorated hostel. service was fantastic. the mangers very flexible and helpful. spotlessly clean. comfortable beds. it was a delightful experience. we hope to go again and rent the whole house for a group outing. On the direction to find it watch for a road that has high cement columns and metal gates that are open. enjoy! we did.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you want and they will do everything they can to accomodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I traveled on my own in April 2011 throughout Dominican Republic and the Jarabacoa Hostel was the nicest little hostel I encountered. It is quiet, private and clean, unlike most other places in the DR. It is located a little bit outside of the main street, which is actually a plus. It is secured with two gates and doors, but it never felt unsafe. Rooms are spacious and beds are large, so if you travel solo the bed is all yours. Bathroom is clean with hot water and kitchen is equipped with basic cooking utensils, drinking water and some ground coffee in the freezer and the hostel has two computers with internet connections. Large porch is great for having dinner and chit-chat with possible other guests. There are also bikes in the shed behind the house that can be used for free - very useful if interested in exploring the surroundings. Molly has also a small map with market, grocery store and restaurant addresses prepared for the newcomers. Once you are done with the arrival though, you are completely on your own, although the owners live two houses further and are available for any requests.
To me they were in particularly helpful as I was traveling around without speaking any Spanish and aiming to climb nearby Pico Duarte. Rodolfo drove me to the base early in the morning (as he owns taxi-business too) and stayed to negotiate a reliable guide for me.
I enthusiastically recommend the hostel to anyone traveling to Jarabacoa.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We totaly agree with the other positive reviews. Honestly, I have been wondering if the word hostel is proper here, but according to the dictionary, it is. It is a house of which you rent a private bedroom, but you share the kitchen, badroom and livingroom.The hostel is a few minutes walking distance from the centre of Jarabacoa. Which brings the benefit of staying in a quit place. Its not to difficult to find. If you ask about the hostel of the Americans, most of the local people will be able to help you out.
Molly and Rodolfo stay 2 houses away from the hostel. They were very helpful and well willing. also the accomodation was ok. the bedrooms were clean and big. There is not always a muscito net, but if you ask for it, they are willing to give it. Also the wash machine is very convienient. the kitchen is not luxury but well equiped. there is a big frige. we could also borrow 2 mountian bikes. That was real fun!
Every room has his own tv and dvd player (and there are good movies available for if you happen to be there during rainseason!!)
Later another family joined us in the hostel. we didn't know them at all. But this was one of the best parts of our 4 week holiday in The Dominican Republic.
Don't expect a hostel to be a luxurius Hotel, because then you are at the wrong place.
We can recommand it to everyone. We never felt unsave there. There is a big fence and good lockers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Jarabacoa Hostel is a very nice place to stay. We stayed there for three days, and we did not have any trouble finding the place. When we got off the bus from Santo Domingo we told a taxi driver that we had a reservation at Jarabacoa Hostel and he took us there. It is located in a walking distance of 15 minutes from Jarabacoa centre on a little side road. The hostel is basically a few regular houses, where one of them belongs to the hosts, Molly and Rodolfo. Molly and Rodolfo are is a very obliging and kind English/Dominican couple. Rodolfo helped us getting to La Vega, when there were no more seats on the bus, and when your Spanish skills are not amazing it is nice to be greeted by Molly. They are there if you need them, and at the same time you have a lot of privacy.

We stayed in a house with two 4-person bedrooms, two bathrooms, a big living room, a room with two computers and a well-equipped kitchen where drinking water was provided. You can borrow bikes, and there is a house where you can do laundry.
Outside the house a porch, and there is a big fence around the house. That Molly and Rodolfo were our neighbours also gave us the feeling that we where in a safe place and almost staying in a home.
The information about tours (both with and without guides) in the area was excellent. We took a hike by ourselves to the top of Mogote and visited the Jimenoa Fall.
The beds where the best beds we slept in through our 5 weeks in The Dominican Republic, everything was clean and the hosts where great. It is easy to shop in Jarabacoa and cook yourself, and in general it is a lovely place to relax, take tours and enjoy being out of the big city.

The hostel is very different from what most people associate with a hostel (from Europe, South America, etc.), but it sure is one of the nicest hostels I have been in. It is a place my two friends and I will recommend to anyone who visits Jarabacoa.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

Address: Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic retreat for backpackers, adventure seekers, pioneers, missionaries, and students! When what you want is a clean place to crash, reliable travel tips, and for someone to point you in the right direction for cheap eats and adventure, this is the place to be. Simple lodgings with some extras thrown into the mix such as laundry facilities, bicycles, high-speed internet, fully-equipped kitchen, purified drinking water, coffee and hot water for bathing. Our destination is a bit bohemian, very inviting and relaxing, and an ideal location to make your base camp for mountain climbing and camping, river-rafting, hiking, paragliding, canyoning, or other more serious pursuits. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.