We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rocks Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rocks Chalets to your Saves list
The Rocks Chalets
2086 Takaka Valley Hwy, Takaka, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

WOW!! What more can I say. We arrived at the Rock in a whirlwind, whilst traveling the country working. Could not have stayed at a more relaxing place. The service that we received from Chris and Pat was by far above and beyond what we were expecting. They accommodated our needs and looked after us so well that it really did feel like a 'home away from home'. After eating out in the town the first day, we thought we'd try the restaurant at the rock. Needless to say, the food matched the service and we spent the rest of our stay looking forward to the next meal. As we found, Chris has quite a talent in the kitchen, and was more than happy to make meals for us that weren't on the menu. I must say though, no matter what I ordered, nothing compared to the 'Pork Loin - with home made apple sauce and fries. A must have off the menu. The room we stayed in was secluded and very private. We were able to sleep with doors and curtains open, which when you are from a big city, is bliss. Can not wait till the next time I am back down that part of the country. Will be back to the Eatery On The Rock for sure.

Room Tip: I miss the Tui room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thanks for your kind words
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
60
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful, natural surroundings with private, quiet chalets. The restaurant serves delicious food and the hosts are friendly and attentive whilst leaving you with all the peace and quiet you are after. Highly recommended when anywhere near Takaka.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
hope to see you soon
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My work as Member of Parliament for the WestCoast Tasman Electorate involves me in constant travel from Takaka to Haast. Over the last six years I have frequently stayed at Eatery on the Rock Motel whmen in this part of the electorate.The consideration that the Hosts, Pat and Chris extend to guests is exemplary, from the time of arrival till departure. The restaurant service and menu is one of the best I have enjoyed in a region which is not short of good hospitality. The motel units are comfortable, private, and a clever design. The gardens are tranquil, spectacular, and a perfect setting for a wind down in the evening, and for a bracing start each day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
All the best for 2012
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Let me start off by saying that we stayed here over Christmas 2010, so apologies if there's been a change in management / ownership since then.
We arrived at reception with our backpacks, possibly looking a little dishevelled, we'd spent the previous 5 days living in a tent whilst completing the Abel Tasman Track but the look on the owners face was, now I look back on it, laughable! I imagine she assumed we were backpackers - You know what they say? Don't judge a book by it's cover. She asked us if we'd like to pay for the room now? To which we replied, no thanks, we'll settle the room at the end of our stay (like it says on the sign at the counter). She then asked if she could hold onto our passports? I explained that although we've got English accents, we've been NZ residents for nearly 10 years and didn't travel with our passports. She accepted this with a look of suspicion and declared that if we're checking out before 9am the bill must be settled the previous evening. I said, ok, we will be leaving before 9am but not for another 4 days!
Not a great start.
The rooms are basic but clean and equipped with a large, modern bathroom.
We decided, against my better judgement, to eat at the restaurant. We made a reservation for 8 o'clock and arrived 10 minutes early, the restaurant was fairly busy but only at about half capacity, the lady owner told us that because our reservation wasn't until 8 o'clock we would have to come back. We weren't offered a drink or a seat!
When we were finally allowed to sit down it took more than 30 minutes for the waitress to take our order and then a further 30 minutes for it to arrive, the waitress was very apologetic and explained that there'd been an issue in the kitchen. We'd heard a lot about the Chef / owner from a very friendly local in Takaka the previous day who recommended the steak. To be honest, it was average at best and the vegetables were cold.
Fast forward 2 days and there was a note attached to our door saying 'Please don't smoke in your room' as neither of us smoke this was a little confusing. So I approached the owner who said the cleaning staff said it smelt of cigarrettes in our room and they'd also noticed that we've been using the air con an awful lot! This was the final straw. We packed our bags and made our way to reception to check out 2 days early, only to be told that we'd only reserved our rooms online and not booked them, so the online rate doesn't apply to our stay, it was only $20 a night difference, so I begrudgingly payed.
This place definitely has potential, just a shame that the owners are going to drag it down. I genuinely can't remember a worse experience of service at a hotel / motel.
I personally wouldn't go back to Golden Bay, not because of this experience but I feel there are far more attractive options closer to Nelson and it's surrounds.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
We have no recollection or record of anyone staying ever that has cut their stay short. We are the original owners, have never asked anyone for a passport. Our booking system requires a credit card and deposit on booking so would've had no need for further proof of identity.Our rates are the same if you book directly or on line. We are located between two National Parks so backpacks are the norm and would not have caused any concern for us. There never has been nor will be a sign on the counter saying pay at the end of your stay, if you shortened your stay you would have been charged for the entire length of stay not just an extra $20.00. Why would we send early diners somewhere else to have a drink before dinner, wouldn't that be shooting ourselves in the foot? Locals usually know the best place to eat so God knows what you'd have got else where!! If you have been to the Bay and didn't appreciate it perhaps it's for the best. We note it has taken you 11months to write a review perhaps your memory is a little clouded.
Chris & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taupo New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at Eatery on the Rock for 3 nights in early July 2011. We prefer accommodations that are quiet, private and modern so this was an ideal location for us. We stayed in the Pukeko unit which has a very private setting. DVD's were available to borrow. The hosts, Pat and Chris, were respectful of our privacy but always available when we had questions. We celebrated our anniversary and my birthday at their on site restaurant and enjoyed a fabulous dinner and dessert prepared by Chris...thanks for that, Chris!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a nice, clean, good value option for this area. We had a few minor niggles with wifi, not could not be sorted our, but we were able to use reception's pc to send urgent emails which helped given we were on a 2 month trip and needed to keep in touch.

There is a restaurant on site, which we did not use, as we prefer to barbecue or have the flexibility to do our own thing. However we talked to others that had dined there and they were positive.

There is a fridge, kettle, but no full kitchen/ kitchenette, however It is possible to "make do" - as long as you're creative in menu choices. ;-)

The location of EOTR is a little out of town, so there is a walk into town for bars and other dining options / facilities etc, e knew of this ahead of time and for us it wasn't a problem.

Overall we would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our one night at Eatery on the Rock. Pat and Chris were fantastic hosts and cooked us a wonderful meal and dessert. I was especially appreciative of the fact that Chris had Coca-Cola by the bottle (a treat for Americans especially when its bottled with amazing New Zealand water and real sugar...no high fructose corn syrup).

Our room was spacious, clean, and well equipped. We enjoyed great showers in their modern bathrooms and especially enjoyed the stars in the Southern hemisphere from this location. Even though the place was filled, we enjoyed a very peaceful sleep.

This is a great place to stay and there are a lot of great hikes in the area in the adjacent National Parks (Abel Tasman and Khangarui). Pat and Chris will guide you to the best hikes in the area.

Thanks to the owners for making this a great part of our holiday/vacation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Hwy, Takaka, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks chalets are affordable private island style cottages each with their own en suit bathroom, patio and garden. The chalets have been built amongst the large Karst rock formations, which dominate the four-acre award winning gardens. Commanding breath-taking views of Takaka and the surrounding hills. The on-site restaurant showcases the best of local produce. Just minutes from beautiful beaches and all that Golden bay has to offer. The Rocks is perfectly located, within walking distance of Takaka township and sandwiched between two national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rocks Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.