We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal only, Great good value meal meal, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel to your Saves list
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 High Street, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3ES, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Meal only, Great good value meal meal, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Came here as we were in the little train from porthmadog. Had a really good lunch, which sugared the pill of pitching up in blaenau on a wet day in February. Chips were particularly good and menu was imaginative. Husband had burger with bacon and welsh rarebit, I had goats cheese and walnut salad and friends had other things. Good value. Clean, well equipped loos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello

many thanks for your positive review. We will soon be launching our new menu, so please come and see us soon to sample some of our new culinary creations.

We hope to see you in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    26
    17
    20
See reviews for
28
60
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Recently refurbished hotel in the centre of Blaenau which has also been given a make-over. The staff are first class- so friendly & cannot do enough for their visitors.
The rooms have everything one would need- including plenty of supplies for the tea/coffee making and even homemade biscuits. The rooms are of quite a reasonable size and whilst not luxurious are very comfortable, lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom.
We stayed for 3 nights, eating in every night since the food was good home cooking. A little more pasta choice on the menu would have been welcome.
If you don't want to drive the small bus & railway station is nearby. We took the train through the Conwy Valley to Llandudno- definitely recommend this, very scenic & reasonably price. We would have taken the narrow guage railway to Porthmadoc but it doesn't open until mid February.
All in all a very comfortable stay, can certainly recommend Ty Gorsaf to anyone needing a comfortable & friendly reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Snowdonia.
The only downside is that the local council have recently made the car park Pay & Display, and whilst it is reasonably priced at £2.50 per day, who wants to get up at 8am to put a ticket on their car!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear overlook the railway station and the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello & many thanks for your fantastic review.

We are very happy to read how happy you were with our hotel. The Pay & display car park is, of course, an inconvenience; but we are also very glad to have so much parking right next door to our property.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner & I stayed at this hotel on a short break at the end of January and I have to say I cannot fault it! The public areas & rooms were spotless, well appointed & had everything you needed. (The home-made biscuits in the room were a lovely extra - and delicious!)
What makes this hotel stand out from others though is the asolutely fantastic service given by all the staff - from checking in, eating in the restaurant, to the bar staff, the big hotel chains should take a leaf out of Ty Gorsaf's book! The staff were professional, 'out of their way' helpful, smiley and extremely welcoming. (Particular mention to Debbie & Beth here - they were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble)
I will be going back & I will recommend to anyone and everyone - dont hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel but the road is extremely quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello and many thanks for your review.

it is always encouraging to read such positive reviews as this one.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here with a groupon offer. had a great 50th birthday treat. The staff were very welcoming and the room (Room 6 Super King) was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant every night after a hard days walking in knee deep snow. The food arrived hot and tasty. All the staff were very attentive ( but not over board )- very happy to chat and nothing was a problem. Only one complaint to make - the bathroom was not cleaned At All during our 4 night stay. The bath did not appear to have been cleaned before our arrival. I promptly cleaned the bath myself but it was not cleaned again by the house keeper. tell tale signs were left- i.e. bubble bath dripping down the side of the bath which was not removed. We did not however,allow this to spoil our break. Well done the the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front- away from the carpark. Heard youngsters hanging around outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thankyou for your positive review

whilst we are glad to recieve such a positive review, we are also concerned about the comments you make about the bathroom...
Needless to say, we will look into this and take steps to ensure such things dont happen.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked this short notice and after reading reviews on here decided it would be perfect.
We were greeted and shown to our room. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both evenings of our stay. On the first night there was a slight misunderstanding with our order but it was sorted out and were were offered a drink. The food was lovely, local and fresh. Breakfast had great options, cereal, juice and cooked breakfast alternatives.
As we were there to venture up Snowdon we also arranged for a packed lunch to be done. Reasonable price and much appreciated during the climb.
All in all we did enjoy our stay, the staff were friendly and attentive, the room was comfortable and the food was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for such a great review.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us again, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A nice Hotel in the middle of the national park. Everything was clean, water was hot and the breakfast was good.
A friendly girl served us breakfast and was very attentive. I'd say that overall, it did the job for us of giving us a comfy nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for your review.

its always good to know that we're doing "what it says on the tin"

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us again, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent a very nice pre Christmas holiday with my family at Blaenau Ffestiniog where we went to the Gwesty Ty Gorsaf hotel for our (pre) Christmas dinner. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, the service was excellent, the food superb, the helpings were huge and a three course meal was very reasonably priced at only £20 a head. Now that’s my kind of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, General Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for such a great review.

we're very happy that you emjoyed your visit to Ty Gorsaf

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.