We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel to your Saves list
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheerness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First Class Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent a very nice pre Christmas holiday with my family at Blaenau Ffestiniog where we went to the Gwesty Ty Gorsaf hotel for our (pre) Christmas dinner. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, the service was excellent, the food superb, the helpings were huge and a three course meal was very reasonably priced at only £20 a head. Now that’s my kind of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, General Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for such a great review.

we're very happy that you emjoyed your visit to Ty Gorsaf

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    28
    17
    20
See reviews for
28
63
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days mid December. Lovely and friendly staff. The place might need a renovation though especially the bathrooms, that does not look quite clean at all. Breakfast is lovely. My husband loved those sweet treats/biscuits inside the jar, it goes very well with a cup of tea after a long day of journey! Very accessible to anywhere you want to go around Snowdonia National Park. Can't actually put a review on the value as it's a gift from our wedding and we've had a lovely short holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
hello & thanks for such a great review.

Please remember, if you would like to stay with us again, we will always beat ANY online price by 10% if you book directly with us by telephone. Simply quote "T.A.13" to take advantage of this offer

We hope to see you again soon

thanks again

rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights in November. The hotel is beautifully decorated and very welcoming - the staff are just lovely, nothing was too much trouble for any of them and they all made us feel at home. Our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable with beautiful antique furniture. The little extras in the rooms, such as home made biscuits, were a nice touch.

The food served in the restaurant in the evening is fantastic quality and great value for money. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel for the weekend, its a pleasant Victorian Railway hotel in the centre of this small welsh town and close to the Snowdonia National park. Good breakfasts and bar food - there is a restaurant but we chose to eat in the bar area; friendly staff keen to make sure we were happy with our stay and the food. The bedroom was comfortable and warm (important when staying in December!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just stayed at this great hotel, staff were great, food was good, clean room and slept like a log need i any more. Great base to tour north wales and the town has had a major face lift which was nice to see.

Room Tip: Room 12 has views over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'll be factual to keep the heat out of it. I stayed there 1 night with my partner.
- Area is bad. Kids roaming the streets after 9pm totally drunk, local in the pub being rude and rowdy (got awoken 5 times between midnight and 3am by people screaming in the street). Got scared on the way for a take away and came back to dine at the hotel.
- Nice room design. Can't say the same about the cleanliness of the bathroom: hair on the walls, shower head leaking (leading to a flood). Windows and room above the pub, really noisy.
- Food and breakfast AWFUL: had to wait over 45min for the evening meal to arrive, and when it did it was soggy and overcooked. Got charged full price for everything, and an additional £4.75 for an extra scoop of ice cream ( dessert was £3.75). When it came to breakfast, had to wait another 30min before our order got taken, then 45min for the breakfast to arrive in stages. Needless to say that when it came to pay the staff was ill organised and unable to give me a detailed list of items they were charging me.
RESULT: for an extra £5, you can get a proper hotel in a nicer place. SELF RATED 3 stars, but a nice TV does not replace proper service. AVOID.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager h, General Manager at Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello & many thanks for taking the time write a review

As your stay was before my time here at Ty Gorsaf, I am unable to comment on specific elements of your stay, but needless to say am concerned about the fact that you left unhappy.

Please feel free to contact me via e-mail to discuss your issues in greater detail

enquiries@tygorsaf.co.uk

many thanks in advance

Regards

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel after arriving in the town without reservation. Staff really helpful and happy to show the room to me before deciding to stay. Rooms had nice plasma television, beautiful antique furniture and a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and lovely plump pillows! The breakfast is outstanding.
My only gripe is the staff appear a bit disorganised and service was sometimes a bit slow.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a warm welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.