We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation needs some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakeley Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakeley Arms Hotel
Save
You added Oakeley Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Tan Y Bwlch, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3YU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Accommodation needs some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just stayed here in room number one for four nights whilst visiting the area and I must say that overall we were dissapointed with the accommodation considering the cost etc.. Whilst the room was very spacious with good clean linen with great original features and furniture, the decor was very tired and needed a good dose of TLC and a clean. The sort of things that let it down were spiders and cobwebs around the ceiling cornices, the edge of the carpets and bathroom floor were very dusty, the fittings in the bathroom (toilet seat/sink) did not fit, two downlighters in the bathroom were not working, light pull broken etc., etc. There was a smell of damp as you walked up the back stairs which pervaded the place, there was a smell of urine as you walked in the back door from the public toilets and an overall smell of cooking fat from the kitchen at the back of the premises. The breakfasts were OK but we had to wait a while until someone was around to serve us however the one evening meal that we had was very tasty and good value and each evening there were a lot of diners in the pub so it must have a good reputation for this locally. This is probably coming over a a bit of a mixed review but I am trying to be fair - we didn't look forward to getting back to the room in the evening because it wasn't the type of room that you wanted to spend much time in but the place has many positive points and in our opinion probably now needs some time and effort spent on it to bring it back to the standard that we can imangine that it was when it was originally converted. To be completely fair, my husband did mention some of these issues when we checked out and the manager said that we should have said something before and they would have rectified (lights etc.) ... however, most of this would take more than a quick fix paticularly the decor. If you want somewhere basic to sleep with clean linen and good value food, then this is for you but for anything more, you need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We found room number one spacious (one double and two single beds) and quiet. There are shutters on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We tried dinner at the oakeley arms as the Brondanw Arms had no tables and were pleasantly surprised. We climbed Snowdon earlier in the day so my wife, children and I were pretty hungry and the portions served were more than enough, we had the steak pies and kid's meals. The service was also very good and the cost was quite reasonable also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the superbly located self-catering cottages for a week, and while it was generally nice, there were enough niggly and unpleasant aspects to it, which mean we won't be recommending it.

The cottage was a good size, with a lovely spacious, well-equipped kitchen/dining room, and comfortable living room. Don't forget your slippers though, as the ground floor is covered with beautiful slate tiles, but no rugs to keep your feet warm! The bedrooms were also good sizes, with very comfortable beds and clean bed linen.

Unfortunately, the moment we walked in the door, we were hit by the smell of damp. That's OK, but when nobody can be bothered to clean the black grouting in the bathroom, the damp muck round the windows, or the mould growing on the blinds in one of the bedrooms, it's particularly disappointing. There was also a strange smell emanating from the toilet - a drain problem? Also the white (mouldy) blinds in what would usually be a child's bedroom were so thin, as to be useless, and meant our usually super-sleeper 3yo had trouble dropping off every evening.

Also, beware if you're a family with small children: there is outdoor space, however as there are cars driving all around the property, you'll need to keep a very close eye even if your child wanders a couple of feet from the door.

We ate in the hotel on our last evening, with the hope of trying a couple of the local beers advertised. Sadly all were 'off' (on a Friday night!?). The food was very disappointing. The moules marinieres, were just mussels in some packet stock, no wine or cream, although, the mussels were clearly of a decent quality; the Welsh black burger tasted defrosted and bland, the bun cheap and flimsy, and there was a lack of anything, such as salad to put in the burger. I was shocked at the grubby, dated decor, given that it's apparently been recently redecorated - what on earth did it look like before? 2/5 for the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I didn't stay at the Oakeley Arms but had a meal there. Both my husband and I were extremely dismayed at the small portion sizes. My "pie" bore only a passing resemblence to one. Basically it was a bowl of soup (because the gravy was too thin to be called anything else) with a piece of puff pastry shoved on top. The filling was very mean so we won't ever go back there for a meal - and it wasn't that cheap either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have been regular customers of the Oakely for many years being very local and a meeting place to see friends. It was always a warm and friendly place with ok food and a good pint. We moved further away though about 10 years ago which meant we no longer went there. We called in for a bar meal hen passing a few weeks back and were gobsmacked at the changes there! Gone are most of the thick walls that enclosed poky little rooms that were good for nothing. The whole place has been opened out but the previous little rooms are now interesting nooks and crannies with comfy armchairs and squishy sofas and coffee tables. Ideal for large gatherings of friends and a nice light atmosphere in traditional type surroundings. We had our bar meal which was very good by pub standards along with a couple of drinks. Outside at the side of the hotel is a nice beer garden with tables and chairs and benches. There is a large modern childrens play area very close yet at the same time nicely away from the tables. Well kept grounds. Fab on a sunny day. Try the new look Oakely you will love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed there last year with a group of friends on a motorcycling trip. Wonderful hospitality, great location, good prices and plenty of room. Staff were friendly and owner was most welcoming to a dozen drowned rat bikers.
I shall be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Had a lovely holiday here, staying in the self-catering cottage. Fantasic house, my mum and children loved it (as did I). Huge kitchen, wanted to take it home! Lovely walks round about. The Ffestiniog Railway was great, both to ride on the train, and to hear its whistle as it went by. Ate in the hotel twice, nice tasty food, not posh, much more homely and pleasant. Owners and staff friendly and approachable.

Room Tip: Self-catering houses lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakeley Arms Hotel

Address: Tan Y Bwlch, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oakeley Arms, a beautiful Historic Welsh Inn set in the Snowdonia National Park.Situated in the pretty village of Maentwrog and surrounded by the lush green hills of the Vale of Ffestiniog in the heart of Snowdonia, the Oakeley Arms is the perfect base for a holiday in North Wales... Pets are welcomed in the Self Catering Cottages but we do not allow pets in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakeley Arms Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakeley Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.