We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and enthusiasm come as standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cae'r Blaidd Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cae'r Blaidd Country House
Save
You added Cae'r Blaidd Country House to your Saves list
Bleinau Road | Llan Ffestiniog, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4PH , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Northwest UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence and enthusiasm come as standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The pride that Bob and Vicky take in their business is obvious from the moment you step in the door. The house is cosy, spotlessly clean and decorated with countless interesting artifacts that Vicky will tell you all about if asked. The views from the house are breathtaking and the mountains of Snowdonia are just a short drive away. The guided mountain activity weekends are excellent value for money and include excellent home cooked breakfast and evening meal.
The birth of our son has put an end to years of return trips, but I'm confident that when we do return in a few years Cae'r Blaidd will be as outstanding as ever.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a recommendation on Trip Advisor. Bob & I were delighted to read your comments and to know that your experiences of Cae'r Blaidd are held with such high regard. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have now been to Cae'r Blaidd on 4 occasions & it only gets better! A superbly appointed Victorian house with nothing out of place. The owners (Bob & Vicky) are keen outdoor enthusiasts (climbing & skiing amongst others!) and the whole place oozes their enthusiasm for the great outdoors. Pictures, momentos, memorabilia festoon the building giving it a wonderful homely & incredibly interesting feel. Bob & Vicky are superb & welcoming hosts. Food (cooked by Bob) is of the highest standard and served in a lovely dining room with a magnificent view. The lounge is even nicer. Comfortable & inviting. Likewise the bedrooms. I would highly recommend Cae'r Blaidd. Lots to do in the area (even if raining!). Bob & Vicky are a mine of information about what to do in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, particularly the two at the front facing the hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Bob and I were delighted to read your review and all your recommendations. It is most kind. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Cae'r Blaidd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A beautiful house in a wonderful location topped of with fantastic food and all provided by Bob and Vicky who work hard to ensure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. Comfortable furnishings and mod cons (wifi was a nice suprise!) all with wonderful views from every window. A treat indeed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We very much appreciate you taking the time to write this complimentary review about Cae'r Blaidd. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent a wonderful break at C'aer Blaidd this summer. A very warm welcome greeted us and we were shown to our spotless, beautiful and fascinating bedrooms. The food was absolutely delicious with an extensive drinks menu.The hotel is set in a stunning location with many places to explore nearby. We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: all rooms lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We were delighted to read all your positive comments and to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Cae'r Blaidd. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've been going to Cae'r Blaidd Country House for many years and have stayed for both activity weekends with friends and as B&B guests as a couple.
The house and guest rooms are large and very comfortable, and Bob and Vicky work very hard to keep the place spotlessly clean and in excellent condition. The decor of the house has very much been influenced by the owners' trips to the Alps but not so much that it would not be in keeping with building. The view from the house is amazing (if the weather allows).
Bob and Vicky are wonderful and helpful hosts who will accomodate your needs as much as possible. Both are qualified mountain leader/instructors and are happy to take you out of your comfort zone in a safe and fun way - you will enjoy the fantastic food even more after an exciting day in Snowdonia!
If, on the other hand, you are there for a relaxing break away from it all the owners are equally happy to advise you on the more gentle ways of exploring North Wales.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always reassuring to hear that our returning guests feel that we are maintaining a high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having spent two wonderful days here I just thought I'd say what an amazing place, set in a stunning location, over looking the Moelwyn hills.

The house is full of period features, rooms are beautifully furnished and have all the modern amenities a tired holiday maker needs.

The food is 1st class in both quality and quantity, the extra bonus, it was fantastic to find a good selection of single malts to round off the evening.

Our hosts were most friendly and welcoming.

Many thanks,

Jo S.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We do appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review about Cae'r Blaidd. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

After many years of visiting C'aer Blaidd, I always want to go back year after year. It's a fantastic place run by fantastic people. Thanks for many happy memories Bob and Vicky. See you again soon

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review about us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cae'r Blaidd Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae'r Blaidd Country House

Address: Bleinau Road | Llan Ffestiniog, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4PH , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cae'r Blaidd is a 5 star, gold award-winning, Victorian country house set in the heart of Snowdonia National Park, with stunning panoramic views over the Vale of Ffestiniog and the Moelwyn mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cae'r Blaidd Country House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cae'r Blaidd Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.