We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and explore from.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cae'r Blaidd Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cae'r Blaidd Country House
Save
You added Cae'r Blaidd Country House to your Saves list
Bleinau Road | Llan Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 4PH , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Solihull
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay and explore from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having spent two wonderful days here I just thought I'd say what an amazing place, set in a stunning location, over looking the Moelwyn hills.

The house is full of period features, rooms are beautifully furnished and have all the modern amenities a tired holiday maker needs.

The food is 1st class in both quality and quantity, the extra bonus, it was fantastic to find a good selection of single malts to round off the evening.

Our hosts were most friendly and welcoming.

Many thanks,

Jo S.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We do appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review about Cae'r Blaidd. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

After many years of visiting C'aer Blaidd, I always want to go back year after year. It's a fantastic place run by fantastic people. Thanks for many happy memories Bob and Vicky. See you again soon

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review about us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Such a great find. Vicky & Bob run this beautiful and friendly place with lots of love and care to ensure that every thing is perfect.

The public rooms are beautiful, the location stunning. As for the bedroom which was clean and inviting. The attention to detail is superb.

The evening meals, served under a chandelier with real candles, prepared by Bob were excellent.

The breakfast of freshly prepared cereal and a Welsh Breakfast was just what was needed before a day out in the mountains. Every day a different, tasty morsel was served up at the end of the meal.

We also received excellent advice and route suggestion to 'conquer' Snowdon' at last.

We will come back just to make sure that we were not dreming it all.

Room Tip: Remember there are only three bedrooms. Our room could sleep 4 easily without being cramped. One dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us at Cae'r Blaidd and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have been visiting this special and unique guest house for many years now. Its so good that we keep coming back over and over again.

The house itself is in an exceptional location, peaceful at the end of a lane, surrounded by breathtaking scenery and with beautiful views out from the front of the house across the valley to the dramatic peaks of the Moelwyns. Closer to the house are the beautifully maintained gardens which compliment the natural beauty of the area and encourage a range of wildlife (in particular a wide range of birds) which can be viewed easily from the comfy lounge. The garden also contains a more formally lawned section which was used for archery on the last visit and can be seen in the attached photo.

The house itself is a wonderful place to be - comfortable and relaxing, with an endless range of fascinating items the hosts have collected from their various travels around the mountains of Europe. Each time we go there is something new to talk about. The bedrooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and offer some of the best nights sleep I've ever experienced. The whole house is immaculately clean and tidy.

But the best is still to come... the food. It is exceptional. The breakfasts are legendary - not just for their size (although there is plenty for even the biggest appetites) but the range of options and beautiful presentation. The home-made breakfast granola and soaked fruits is exceptional but if you are more of a cooked breakfast person I guarantee you will be in heaven. And there plenty more too - scotch pancakes, yoghurts, cereals, grapefruit, toast, croissants...... Evening meals are an outstanding highlight of any trip. Beautiful home prepared food that compares easily with any high class restaurant.

I must also mention the hosts - Bob and Vicky. Both must work tirelessly to maintain such a stunning house and provide such great food but you'd never know it. They are always relaxed and friendly; attentive to your needs but allow you your space to enjoy your stay. Both are qualified outdoor mountain guides and the photos around the house show some of the amazing places they have visited/climbed together. And they are kind enough to share their skills with groups who stay over for activity weekends. I have done many of these and throughout the years we have walked up mountains and along rivers, been orienteering, climbed, abseiled, done archery..... the list goes on. But the whole weekend is taken at a pace and ability level to suit the group.

I'm beginning to wonder whether it is wise writing this review - what if others find out just how good it is and I can't get a booking next time?!? I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We were so pleased to read that you had such a good time on your last visit and thank you so much for taking the time to write about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

What can I say about this place, apart from it is perfect.

I try and visit with friends at least once a year to take advantage of one of Bob and Vicky's activity weekends, which I can only describe as strenuous relaxation!
All the activities are tailored to your abilities and the weather, from archery to walking up Snowdon (the pretty way!).

Cae'r Blaidd Country House itself is beautiful. Every room is a picture, lovely high ceilings, and filled with nik naks from Bob and Vicky's climbing trips. An unbelievable attention to detail and extremely clean.
Looking out of the windows over the valley and into the mountains on a sunny morning is stunning. I'm very envious of their view!

And just when you thought it couldn’t get any better, out comes the food and drink. There's delicious cake (I don't normally like cake!), biscuits, teas, coffees, real ales, superb wine list and that’s before we get to the meals!
Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day, and it’s even more special at Cae'r Blaidd. I'm not sure what Bob's secret is, but the scrambled egg is pure heaven; I'd visit just for this!
The packed lunches are perfect for carrying round the mountains, and delicious.
And the evening meal is unbelievable, comparable to any swanky hotel except Bob makes sure you'll never go hungry! All served in the stunning dining room overlooking the mountains.

If you like peace, quiet, relaxation, Snowdonia's stunning views, beautiful gardens, and food, then this place is definitely for you.

My only regret is, I forgot my certificate to prove I beat my friend at archery. Please keep it for my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this fantastic review about Cae'r Blaidd and we were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your archery certificate, for 1st position, is in a safe place and awaits your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have stayed here on 3 occasions, this last time was with our adult sons. We had the most fantastic time despite the Welsh weather which tried it hardest to discourage us from venturing outdoors on the sunday! Bob and Vicki are excellent hosts, the rooms are beautifully furnished and the food is superb. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and what a wonderful photo of the sunset - we were most impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannum
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Cae'r Blaidd experience is magnificent.

We have now had the pleasure of staying at this superb B&B four times and we cannot fault it in any way. Bob and Vikki's attention to detail is superb, all meals are delicious and every comfort for guests is provided in their gracious home.

There are so many things that should be mentioned. Waking up to the view across the valley, with the mist hiding the mountain tops is a wonderful start to a day.

Then there is Breakfast - what a feast of superb quality food, beautifully presented, and still that view across the valley. A stroll to the brook at the bottom of the valley is well worth the effort. Picture postcard trees overarching a rushing brook.

And after a day at one of the many local attractions, we look forward to a welcoming return to Cae'r Blaidd. Perhaps afternoon tea or a whisky in the lounge; comfortable, well decorated, and a source of information to help plan the next day's outing. Or admire the interesting items Bob and Vicky have collected on their trips abroad.

And then there is the Evening Meal to look forward to. Excellent food (and wine!) beautifully prepared and presented.

End the day in a comfortable bed in a spacious room, with en-suite...

But most of all, we appreciate the peace of Cae'r Blaidd. Not only the setting, but also within the house. Bob and Vicky are there to quietly meet your every wish, but without intruding in any way. They are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moelwyn, Owner at Cae'r Blaidd Country House, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about us. Vicky and I were delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cae'r Blaidd for your fifth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cae'r Blaidd Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae'r Blaidd Country House

Address: Bleinau Road | Llan Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 4PH , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cae'r Blaidd is a 5 star, gold award-winning, Victorian country house set in the heart of Snowdonia National Park, with stunning panoramic views over the Vale of Ffestiniog and the Moelwyn mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cae'r Blaidd Country House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cae'r Blaidd Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.