We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolawel Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolawel Guest House
Save Saved
You added Dolawel Guest House to your Saves list
Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3HS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Amesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only stayed for two nights; we wish we could have stayed longer. Pat and Alister gave us a very warm and friendly welcome. The room we had was very clean, comfortable and well set up. The owners were very helpful and informative about the places to see and to eat, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast menu was excellent, everything you could possibly want. They were extremely well located for sightseeing and visits to tourist attractions within Snowdonia, with everything just a short drive away. We strongly recommend this B&B, if you are in North Wales stay here.
Thanks again Pat & Alister for your wonderful hospitality we will see you again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor. We're thrilled that you enjoyed staying at Dolawel and look forward to seeing you again soon. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
42
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Dolawel is a gem! Pat and Allister are the perfect caring hosts, the room was very nice and clean. The en suite bathroom was brandnew. The breakfast was a highlight, very generous and tasty! The hosts have been more than helpful (travelling map, mobile phone recharger, tips for trips, what ever you need to know, they have a solution ready).Even arriving very late at night from Birmingham Airport was no problem! I really enjoyed the stay and will definitely come back!”

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you Christoph for carrying out an extremely complimentary review. Hope that you can visit us again with your friend Chris. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As we wanted to attend a male voice choir rehearsal that evening, we stayed at the Dolawel for the evenings.The owners were ever so helpful and friendly, and there is lovely easy gated parking area which is most convenient. The views from the bedroom were beautiful, and the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had booked on a recommendation and were certainly not let down. Pat & Alister we the perfect hosts and their well run establishment is a credit to them. The room was spacious and impecably clean - every day.Breakfast was generous and tasty.
Pat & Alister are a mine of information for things to do (even on the odd rainy day) in the area and were a great help. Blaenau Ffestiniog is a great town and base for exploring North Wales. Ian's Chippy in the town is also worth visiting.
We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay at Dolawel - this is the sort of establishment that gives them a good name - so enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank-you so much for a most complimentary review - it's always good to hear we provided a good service. It was a pleasure being your hosts and we are pleased you also enjoyed our hospitality. Many thanks Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and i recently spent 3 nights at DOLAWEL HOUSE. Pat and Alister were the perfect hosts. Our immaculate en-suite room also had wonderfull views of the mountains, tea coffe and biscuits replenished every day.The character and attention to detail of dolawel is very high, Pat cooked a superb beakfast amongst the many other things she does so well,nothing to much trouble for this lady. Alister is very knowledgeable of all the local walks and of Snowdonia, of which he is only to pleased to help in any way he can, as keen walkers his expertise was invaluable.Thank you Alister and Pat for sharing your beautiful home with us. P.S. must not forget the happy dogs. Will recommend DOLAWEL and the wonderfull hosts to anyone .

Room Tip: room two great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you ever so much for carry out the review. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the 3rd year running that we have visited Blaenau, and once again we stayed at Dolawel. I do not know HOW they do it, but it was even better than last year. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left we felt totally at home. The room was spacious and clean. The food was top class. Our hosts (Pat and Alister) made us feel most welcome, and even the dogs ensured that our stay was most memorable.
Both Alister and Pat are fountains of local knowledge, and were able to sort out any (non accommodation) queries that we had.
WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for carrying out another extremely complimentary review, they are always very much appreciated. Great to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us again. Looking forward to seeing you again next year. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife, Daughter and I stayed here on 1st August 2012. The welcome was warm, the room and facilities perfect. Breakfast was superb the hosts going out of their way to satisfy my wifes somewhat awkward culinary desires more than adequately.
My daughter helped to collect the eggs this morning.
Would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.
We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed, I had a tour they were all to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review it is very appreciated. It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Pat & Alister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolawel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel Guest House

Address: Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park LL41 3HS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolawel is a large Victorian Guest House (4 Star Visit Wales Grading) in the town of Blaenau Ffestiniog, North Wales. Located in the heart of Snowdonia, with its own well maintained grounds next to the A470, offering secure off-road parking. The 19th-century former Quarry Manager house has been modernized to high standards whilst maintaining many of its original features. We are ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia, perfect for sightseeing, cycling and walking. A real home from home where a warm welcome is assured and a hearty traditional breakfast served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolawel Guest House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolawel Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.