We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski-in, ski-out from this hotel is great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Furano Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Furano Prince Hotel to your Saves list
New Furano Prince Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nakagoryo, Furano 076-8511, Hokkaido   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels / Ryokan in Furano
bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ski-in, ski-out from this hotel is great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a family of four in March. The hotel is not 5* luxury but is perfectly adequate and very clean. The vast majority of people who stay here are Japanese. The best thing about the hotel is the ski-in, ski-out onto fabulous skiing/snowboarding slopes. We had great powder snow and the slopes were not busy at all, no queues for the chairlifts and the hotel is very convenient for the fast ropeway, only four minutes to the top. World class skiing. Ski hire at the hotel is easy. The onsen at the hotel is good, and onsen clothes and slippers are provided daily. The breakfast is canteen style, mostly Japanese food. The children enjoyed the snow fun land. The downside of the location is that the hotel does not have a regular shuttle bus into town, and the scheduled bus is at fairly limited times. The nearest ATM is in town at the 7/11 store. All in all we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    232
    91
    15
    10
See reviews for
198
112
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed five nights there and they gave us a grand view of the mountains. The room comes with three beds and it is spacious with a family of four. We didnt opt for breakfast and room rate was a great deal. The ski slopes and service were great and the staff is friendly. We would definitely want to return there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My first impression of the hotel was not overwhelmingly positive, But I would probably come back for the snowboarding.

The "New" Prince hotel is about 20 or so years old and the decor does reflect it. But it is well kept.

I was surprised to find that despite booking through Australian company skimax, staff overall had very limited English. Although there is a western guy on staff if you can catch him.

The hotel is quite isolated. They offer a shuttle bus service to town for 300 yen per person each way. I found it inconvenient at night as there are half as many to return in the evening. It was easier to catch a taxi for 2000yen back.

However as dinner starts from about 3700 yen at the hotel it's still worth a trip. The hotel will make you a reservation and give you a list of nearby restaurants. The other option is filling up on a buffet lunch and holding out until 9 to get the bar snacks which included risotto. The bar also has a 2 hr all you can drink package for 2000 yen including cocktails.

Snow school stuff
The snow sport school at the hotel though is fantastic. We had 2 group lessons through our package. Although these were actually private for more than 1 person. If you do not speak a good level of Japanese I recommend requesting Hiro. A couple people told us of issues with teachers with language barriers but we had no trouble with Hiro. We found him to be a very good teacher who accommodated for our different levels.

We did have issues with finding out when our lessons were. We were not told and had to wait for the snow school to open the next day to find out.

The equipment hire guys were not helpful at all. We had to ask several times for assistance, they set up both boards wrong and ignored our requests for assistance with how to put boots on. (It was our first time.)

Overall I think I would return as it was great having snow activities at hotel and I had a good experience with the school. I'd prepare a bit better for meals and trips into town but that's quite minor ans for a longer trip away would not be a problem.


Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately the low point of another ,overall wonderful trip to Japan. Not nearly four star standard: dated tired decor, small rooms,old bathrooms, really terrible food in the restaurants we tried ( we gave up and ate out ), expensive food and alcohol with virtually no wine options, and indifferent staff attitude. The only pleasant experience at Soh's Bar in the forest, which is delightful.
Do not stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was my third trip and stay in Furano. Each year we invited several friend to stay and ski with us. And skiing is magnificent indeed. Staff at ski hire was magnificent. We could not be more happy.
What was a bit of disappointment was level of service inside the hotel - we understand cultural and language barriers may play the role but having not see the smile but see the grumpy barman, grumpy waiter, grumpy front desk.... what's more there was no attempt to assist , no attempt to understand us. Specially bar and restaurant staff on the 12 floor. Our kids went there to take advantage of the bar offering flat price for drinks for two ours...the managed to have two in that time.....waiting for 30 minutes for G&T...not too good when combined with rather unpleasant bar staff. When we booked table for dinner for 10 we were seated in opposite sections and given one table for 4 and one for 6!!!. And there was not a shred of attempt to remedy this. We were "serious" guests staying there for 9 days occupying 5 rooms. As I said, we loved the snow and the food but not the service. We like to be welcome not snubbed:-( and that how we felt

Room Tip: Ask for ski run view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went for winter wonderland holiday to Hokkaido, and this hotel provided everything we need. High quality of powder snow, snow park/attractions/games -in case you don't want to ski, ski lift/slopes, ski/snowboard school, gondola station are all just in front of the hotel door. There are some shops outdoor just part of hotel premises, each in a log house covered with snow (and icicles) and lighten up beautifully at night, a very nice place to spend the evening.
Room is huge for Japan standard, our room just facing the ski area and the beautiful snow covered pine tree lines. Room amenities are good, all is provided from toothbrush, face soap, pajama and all.
Kids joined the snowboard lesson (we didn't book but luckily there is spot) while my husband and me can enjoy some snow activities ourselves.
Buffet breakfast was nice, included local dairy products (which is famous for Hokkaido). We had a dinner in restaurant at this hotel, it was nice and chef accommodates our diet requirement nicely.
Hotel staffs speak English. Despite busy season and many customers, everything done fast and with smiles in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room with king bed because it is a bigger room and at corner where facing the ski resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent four nights here after touring Japan for nearly three weeks. The hotel room was huge and we had a lovely view of the bottom of a ski slope and the town. We had prepaid for the breakfast and was impressed what was on offer. The set up for ski hire and ski storage is well done so there is no carting around of gear. It really is a ski in/ ski out resort. There was nothing nicer than skiing all day then returning to the hotel for an onsen. We didn't end up going in to town as we skied at night and were also very tired. I must admit there are no cheap dinner options at the hotel - but we ate well.

Room Tip: Try and prepay for as much as possible when you book - I think you would get a better deal on the me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Furano Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Furano Prince Hotel

Address: Nakagoryo, Furano 076-8511, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Furano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels / Ryokan in Furano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Furano Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furano is a spectacular all-season resort surrounded by the magnificent nature of Hokkaido.New Furano Prince Hotel is an outstanding new travel destination for outdoor sports activities and base of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Furano Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Furano
Furano Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Furano Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.