We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family skiing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furano Ski Place

Furano Ski Place
Nakagoryo, Furano 076-0016, Hokkaido
+81 167-22-1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Activities in Furano
4.5 of 5 stars 92 Reviews
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect for family skiing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is our second time skiing in Japan and again we were impressed by the snow and slopes. Furano caters for mainly beginner - intermediate with wide long runs. This was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 older children. You never had to wait for the lifts and hardly saw anyone on the ski runs. The food up the mountain was cheap and yummy - why can't we get this in Australia??? We tried the night skiing as well - and I reckon we were the only ones out there!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
297 attraction reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Preferred this ski place to Niseko”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are skiers and this place has more interesting terrain, skiing amongst trees and going off different trails. Heard from a snowboarder that he preferred Niseko for this.
We hired our gear from Kitanomine side which is much less crowded than the Prince side. It is also easier to traverse back from the Prince side when lifts close at 3.10pm.
Would come back here again for sure

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, stunning ski resort with plenty of different runs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet resort which his great for families with young children, look no further. The new prince hotel was ski in ski out (literally walk 5m then put on your skis and ski to first chair lift 100m away.
The hotel had about 5 incredible resteraunts and a bar with views of the ski slopes.
Night skiing every night until 9.
It was quiet, so if you are looking to party in busy bars, Furano won't be for you.
But my children would beg to take me to the "Kan Kan mura" = play land, every night after 4pm where there was tobogganing, igloo play, an ice bar and other beautiful snow made statues. The people working there were great with the kids and it cost only a little per visit.
The quality of the snow is like nothing in the world, perfect.
The lifts never crowded.
We used Furano Internstional Snow sports school, who I have reviewed elsewhere- amazing, friendly, helpful, couldn't recommend more highly.
The only negative is that if you wanted to go into town, the bus was infrequent and the taxis were costly. Town is not a super place for visiting, but it is not catering for western tourists, so you can't complain when the resort is so lovely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Limited runs but great snow, no lift queues and reasonable prices. I have been there three times and will be back again. Very Japanese experience there with little english - have to do lots of pointing. Good day trips to the ensen or the frozen lake, winery and cheeze factory.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good skiing, but the best terrain is out of bounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Furano had lots of dry powder snow, and was pretty uncrowded. Some of the best skiing does require ducking under the ropes and avoiding the ski patrol, but it is worth doing, as long as you can live with the attendant risks of having to pay for the patrol to come and fetch anyone who is unfortunate enough to be injured while out of bounds. It could be worth hiring a guide to show you the ropes, as we did.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furano Ski Place also viewed

 

Been to Furano Ski Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furano Ski Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.