We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chilling holiday in spectacular scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osmine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Osmine to your Saves list
Osmine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Put od Osmina b.b., Slano, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best chilling holiday in spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second time here and loved it again . Will go again next year as we both fellin love with the setting and chill out factor. Food is very nice . Drinks basic , but my only gripe is the beer glasses are a bit on the small side meaning more trips to and fro to the very quick service bar . The free bikes,canoes and pedaloes make the beach experience with the free sunbeds and parasols a more pleasing experience .blue flag beach . The water is crystal clear. The entertainment is a bit sparce in the evenings but it suited us . A nice stroll along the seashore to Slano after dinner is nice . If you want a chill out holiday this is the place but if you want shops,bars and nightlife then this secluded hotel is not for you .

Room Tip: We only used room to shower and sleep. We were in main building , so plus side if we had been put in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
66
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scoobyandy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival we were ushered to Stalag 13, sorry, The old block/annex. If the hotel has the indignity to try and make you spend your stay here. tell them you want to move to the new block or contact your rep. We did and we were moved after one night to the newer block.
The old block has mouldy musty corridors and walls, is very damp and depressing. The carpet is stained and half of the rooms overlook a pump house air-conditioning block or roof-space. The first impression it gives is one of woe and almost terror.
After moving to the main block the rooms were better. That is all, better.
As i'm generally a positive chap and like to enjoy different cultures and the open experience of other countries, here are the positive bits first:
Gorgeous location. The ocean bay setting is idyllic. The sun is on the bay all of the day and the views are breath-taking.
Some great mountainside walks can be found and with a bit of scrambling around, you can soon be right at the top of a great vantage point.
There are bikes that are free to use.
The sea is so clear. Good for swimming snorkelling.
Free kayaks - 3 of them, 4 pedaloes
Beds were comfy. TV we didn't bother with.

Now i'm afraid are the negatives:
No tea or coffee making facilites in rooms and although the upstairs bar has a coffee machine (this is the new block where the reception is), the staff WILL NOT turn it on before 5 pm so if you fancy a tea or coffee, it is a walk down 129 steep steps, then a downhill walk to the pool bar to get one. (unless you are staff and then they turn the machine on, get theirs and then turn it off again)
There are no drinks coolers or facilities to get juice of any kind throughout the day in the main building.
The steps. Yes there is 129 steep steps (with strategic benches on the way up for a midway rest) from the old building (where the restaurant is housed) up to the main building. These do become a bit of a challenge and you develop muscles where you thought you only had fat.
Restaurant: It's more or less what you'd expect. Buffet style. Menu repeated weekly. Only fresh coffee at breakfast. None at dinner or tea. It's mass catering done not too badly at all to be honest.
Some of the staff were very nice - others were just plain rude like the barman who refused to serve us stating that "he knew what we were doing". We never did find out what on earth he meant by that statement but suffice to say, we didn't get all inclusive in that respect. Other guests were refused service at the bars by the same member of staff. Nobody could figure out why so we left it in the end.
There are only two bars and they simply cannot accommodate all of the guests - not that you really want to stay there in the evenings. The upstairs bar is just a bar - yes there is seating but there is nothing going on up there. You will inevitably end up going into Slano most nights or heading out further a field. The pool bar (where the "evening entertainment" takes place) is just a pool bar. The entertainment is noting short of dire. I know they have visitors from many different countries but it's just pants. Music man on his keyboard most nights is the norm. If you have kids, they WILL be bored out of their minds.
It's a shame really as there were lots of little niggles that added up. Even a water cooler near reception would have made so much difference to guests - especially as all of them have just walked up suicide hill and it's 129 steps.
The evenings were so dull and lacking in entertainment that i shall be asking cosmos for the money back that we spent going into Slano to entertain ourselves. I certainly wouldn't go back to this hotel. Slano itself is a lovely quiet town. A bit more effort and modernisation might see the resort improve.

Croatia is said to be in it's tourism infancy. The hotel here is old but they don't really seem to be geared up towards english tourists. Whether or not that is due to the tourism infancy or not i don't know. We've holidayed in Canaries, Spain, Majorca, Egypt and England and we've never felt such a feeling of impending boredom and dread as the evenings approached - as we did here. Thankfully we had the kuna to get out of there. The bikes would have been handy to use in the evenings to get to Slano (40 minute walk) but sadly they were only available from 7am to 7pm.

If you are used to holidaying with family & entertainment (for kids or adults) being important to you, then don't come here. If you want to discover a beautiful countryside and are prepared to get bring a car or perhaps rent one and venture out, then go for it. I'd recommend this area for short-stay visits, tourists passing through such as walkers, cyclists or bikers or people touring their way through Croatia / Eurpoe or anyone that quite literally wants to do nothing all day and night.
The Hotel i wouldn't recommend to anyone i'm afraid. Nobody :-(

Room Tip: Steer clear of the old block (the restaurant block) Take plenty of Kuna for the evenings so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, United kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A peaceful hotel with fabulous views.
Food was always fresh and tasty in the restaurant.
Free bike/canoe/pedalo hire went down extremely well with my 2 daughters (well, and us!)
The hundreds of Steps became tiring especially as it was extremely hot in August and It meant taking everything down to the beach or pool for the day to avoid the climb (as it was a long way back up if you forgot things!)...BUT it was a good way to burn off all the extra calories from the restaurants cakes!
Our room had a spectacular room and had aircon (a MUST in that heat!) but in another room the aircon wasn't working and the hotel seemed slow to sort it for them.
The local town of Slano was a 40-45min walk away and you could get the bus from there to an Aboretum, the lovely city of Dubrovnic and other places much cheaper than from the hotel, although not as convenient (taxis from hotel picked you up from the hotel and so you could avoid the walk, but they were about 4 times the price)
The evening entertainment was not brilliant, but the local singers and traditional dancers night was interesting. My girls liked the mini disco, but that wasn't on every night.
We enjoyed snorkling and seeing the little fish.
We also took a boat trip from the hotel which explored 2 islands....a great day out.
Overall, a relaxing holiday with lovely food and peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor (out of 3) and had good views. People on the first floor complained as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is in the most beautiful setting but unfortunately was spoilt for us by being put in the annexe despite us paying to stay in the main hotel.
They tried to put us in rooms12 & 2 we eventually accepted room 21 although this was still not what we booked as it was still in the annexe but it did at least have a sea view. The annexe rooms I have to say are very handy for the restaurant,pool & beach but the corridors are dark & musty,the rooms ar ok.
Apart from that the hotel offers lovely food,is very clean,most of the staff are friendly & you have the added extra's of bikes to use at anytime together with pedalos & kayaks.
The entertainment was not the best although at times the animation team did try.
I also made a request to the hotel for Soya milk due to diet restrictions & this was granted & every day it was made available for me at breakfast which was excellent.
Monarch refunded our room supplement straight away into my bank account with a further cheque received for the inconvenience & a money off voucher so at least they have admitted their was a fault with the booking.
All in all had a lovely holiday met some great people shame it wasspoilt by the room !!!

Room Tip: When you book make sure it says SEA VIEW on your invoice not room supplement as the hotel don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel Osmine stands on the top of the slope, giving wonderful views from every balcony. The setting is stunning with pine trees and olive groves on terraces stepped down to the beach. It appears to be on a lake as the entrance to the sea is hidden by the curve of the bay, but it can be seen by a short peddalo ride from the hotel beach. Across the bay is a beautiful little chapel - again it can be reached by a slightly longer peddalo ride.The peaceful location is wonderful and is definitely the high spot of the hotel. We took an evening stroll around to Slano, but decided we preferred the quieter location of the hotel.
The STEPS are not to be taken lightly. There are 103 concrete steps to reach the restaurant from the hotel, then a slope or more characterful steps through the trees down to the beach. Going down is easy, but the return climb becomes rather tedious - especially late at night- and you become experts at organising belongings so you do not need to return to your room until late afternoon.
The restaurant could not be faulted. There was always plenty of food available with a wide range to suit all tastes at every meal. The restaurant manageress was particularly chatty and smiley.The bar staff were efficient but not terribly chatty. The range of drinks was rather limited, with no opportunity to get cocktails or mixers such as Tia Maria or Kaluah. It was nice to have soft drinks and hot drinks available all day from machines in both bars.
The evening entertainment was hugely disappointing. On altenating evenings a couple of musicians played and sang rather dated songs - pleasant for the first few times but it rapidly palled and the audience numbers reflected the lack of enthusiasm for these. On the other evenings the animation team struggled to create games or quizzes for the audience to participate in. These were painful to watch and rarely involved more than a handful of people. It would have been good to see a wider range of local cultural dancers, or even professional performers who could raise the standard of the performances - all very disappointing compared to all inclusive hotels in Greece.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable- apart from those unfortunate enough to be allocated rooms in the annexe above the restaurant. The décor was rather tired, but the rooms were spotless and the housekeeping staff were very efficient .
The hotel is ideal for couples, or for young families but there was little to stimulate our teenage children.
Dubrovnic and the surrounding area is wonderful - but be prepared for very winding roads and be armed with travel sickness tablets!

Room Tip: The third fool has the best views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at this hotel. First impression on arrival when going to room was OMG what have we booked the 70's style build and dated room and furniture and corridor colour scheme was a little over whelming. After unpacking a stroll down the STEPS to the pool/beach changed our entire opinion. The scenery was breath takingly beautiful. The mountain views and the sea "which can only be described as resembling a saltwater lake" was idyllic. The complimentary pedaloes, kayaks, bicycles and windsurfer, makes the holiday all the more fantastic. Take a stroll or bike ride along the coastal path to take in this fantastic resort. A lovely mixture of peace and excitement. The animation team work extremely hard but were not at all pushy and not once were we enticed or persuaded into joining in any of the activities we didn't want to. The All Inclusive food was edible, we didn't starve. We travelled with 2 young children and they thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel and amenities are kept clean and room maid service every day, even left beach towels in the room. The history of the hotel "being American owned originally until the war, and now owned locally left us humble knowing we were assisting the locals rebuild their village and hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anybody that can see past the decor and wants a holiday in a tranquil, relaxing environment with as much or as little activities to suit. The evening entertainment was "interesting" but the company of new friends helped in making the evenings a pleasure. The All Inclusive drinks were adequate and served in glass. We would definately return to this hotel if we were to go back to the Dubrovnik coast in Croatia. A tip for the hotel, it would be nice to be able to purchase snacks such as crisps at the bars and be able to purchase cocktails in the evening. As for the "steps" the brochures stress the unsuitability for the less able due to steps, so don't complain, just think of them in terms of an extra cake at lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: check your booking paperwork, most rooms have sea view, if your paperwork dosn't state sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Osmine Hotel 15-22 Aug 2013.

It's in an absolutely beautiful position, in a quiet tranquil bay, with calm crystal clear waters with a pebble beach. Although the hotel is a little dated, please don't let this put you off the facilities and surroundings more than make up for this. It's clean, your rooms are cleaned daily, the staff are polite, and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. You have free use of the pedlows, kayaks and there are 40+ bikes which are all free to use. There are no shortage of sun loungers / umbrellas, so you don't have to rush each morning and be up at the crack of dawn to put your towel out!

The bikes are excellent for the short trip into Slano, it's about 10 mins each way along a single track road, with very few vehicles, and there are beautiful spots and beaches to stop and look at on the way. Even though each day we made full use of the kayaks, pedlows and bikes its all at a very relaxed pace.

We also got the boat from the hotel into Dubrovnik, it took 1hr 30 mins each way - a great day out and well worth the visit.

After a week, we came home relaxed, suntanned and chilled ..... Isn't that what holidays are about?

We travelled as 2 adults and children aged 9 & 16, we all thoroughly enjoyed it .... So much so we planning to return next year for longer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmine

Address: Put od Osmina b.b., Slano, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Osmine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Osmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osmine Hotel Slano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.