We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel on the water away from the crowds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ratac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ratac to your Saves list
Villa Ratac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ratac 55, Slano 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Slano
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel on the water away from the crowds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The place was built in stages but you couldn't tell. It was private and quaint, the rooms were clean and ours had a kitchenette. The owners went out of their way to fix a few things caused by the previous guests. The hotel is located just over 30 minutes north of Dubrovnik

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice property directly on the sea. Good beach, good kayaks, close to the little village Slano, newly renovated. We stayed in the top floor penthouse. Definetely, would come back again for a week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful week staying at Villa Ratac. Our positive experience started from the moment I tried to book back in January. Luksha answered all my questions honestly and in a friendly manner and even upgraded our room on booking. Irina helped us to arrange car rental for our stay, but as we were arriving in the evening we asked for someone to collect us from the airport. He turned out to be Luksha, who kindly offered to stop at the supermarket on the way back so we could get some things for our breakfast, advised us on what was good to buy and translated for us. On the drive to the Villa he told us about Dubrovnik and the surrounding area and suggested places to visit.
Villa Ratac is a beautiful stone building in a fabulous setting on the coast, about 30-40 minutes drive North West from Dubrovnik. Slano, the nearest town/village is about 5-10 minutes drive away. Our apartment was the new President II, at the top of the villa - we were upgraded again! - with a large living area, small kitchenette, 5 bedrooms (some not quite finished yet, but there were only 4 of us), a bathroom, a shower room and a balcony with 'the best view in the world'! The decor was plain but stylish and the apartment was very clean on arrival (but not cleaned during our week long stay) The kitchen had enough equipment, crockery and cutlery for occasional catering, although there were no bowls and only small coffee/tea cups. Bathroom towels, tea towels, hair dryer, soap, washing up liquid & sponge, kettle and coffee maker with filters and an airer (for hanging towels etc to dry) were all supplied, and of course there was a TV with a cable box and hundreds of channels in every language. They even thought to give different coloured towels for each of us so we wouldn't get them mixed up. An added bonus, which our teenagers were vey happy about, was the free wifi reached our apartment.
The private terrace 'beach' and the crystal clear sea are down a few levels of steps. It has been very well thought out. There are plenty of sunbeds, palm trees, a shower and at each end are sections with built in tables and seats and awnings for shade. Getting in and out of the water can be a little tricky as once under the water the steps are natural stones which are uneven and can be a little slippery or sharp - hold on to the side and tread carefully.
The Villa's host/owner family, Luksha, Irina,(baby Mladon) Franka and Mladon, were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. They thought of everything. On arrival, we were invited to have a drink with them after we had settled in and we felt as though we were being welcomed into their family, Our first day was Sunday and we weren't getting our hire car until Monday, so we were invited to dine in their restaurant (for a cost), where they made us a delicious home cooked meal of octopus salad, grilled fresh fish and vegetables. Then every day, the lovely Franka came to ask us how we were enjoying our day and offer us suggestions and advice on where to go and how to get there. We wouldn't have seen nearly as much of the beautiful area if it wasn't for her.
All in all, a near perfect stay and we were so sad to depart, but I will just mention a couple of little down sides which prevent me from awarding 5 stars.....
You need a car, but parking can be rather scary, especially at night since the Villa is on the main road and the cars travel along there at speed.
About halfway through our stay the bathrooms started to smell and we couldn't work out where the smell was coming from. We think it was something to do with cess tanks, because it seemed ok at the end of the week after someone had been to do something with the 'water'.

P.s. it wasn't us dropping things over the balcony onto the previous reviewers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

a lovely house looking above the Adriatic. We had a nice stay, the family of owners is very nice and polite, and upgraded us in one of the terrace appartments in the first two nights. The terrasse directly on the sea where you can bathe is a great setting. However, you absolutly need a car : the isolation is very nice but you'll need to be able to move easily to Dubrovnik. Also, the terrace appartments are lovely but the studio is only average, with little view and only a small window.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great stone house along the Croatian coast near the town of Slano. The family who run it are very nice and helpful. We had a 3 bedroom apartment and a lovely large balcony over looking the water. There was an apartment above us and their balcony ended about half way over ours and at times as we were sitting at our table things from above would fall down on us (chips etc) or the kids would be peering over the edge at us, this was something we did not enjoy.
I don't feel this is 20 minutes from Dubrovnik, maybe the very edge of the new part but it took about 45 mins to get to the Old City. However, Slano is just a couple mins up the road.
The apartment was comfortable and clean, not elegant or anything but good for our 6 nights there. We had a well stocked kitchen and a wood burning grill which we enjoyed cooking some of our own meals with our friends here with us.
The swimming area was nice with sun beds to enjoy! The parking is at the top and at times rather difficult to get the car out as it is directly off the main road. People speed by like crazy.
Lots and lots of stairs so if you can't do stairs this is not the place for you. Good exercise for us!
We did enjoy our stay, nice and peaceful and the most incredible sunsets from our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Villa Ratac is a lovely stone house with equally lovely views. However, it is NOT15-20 minutes from Dubrovnik. By bus, it takes about 40-45 minutes, and from the stop, it is another bus ride or a 15-20 minute walk to the Old Town. There are only six buses a day that go past the villa. The bus stop is only about 150 m away, but to get there, one must walk along the busy, winding Adriatic road (on which people speed and there is no shoulder). Also, the villa has seven apartments, so not all of the listed amenities are available in all of the units.

This is a good choice for a quiet weekend with the family (and a car!) along the Pelesjac peninsula, but it is definitely not a good location for visitors to the center of Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We enjoyed our recent stay with Luksa and Jrina. Our apartment was very comfortable, with a terrace with a lovely view and big awning to make it comfortable throughout the day. This is a great location - close enough to Dubrovnik for an easy drive, or convenient to the bus. The sunning/swimming area is delightful, as was the dinner prepared for us one evening. A few small caveats. Our apartment had provision to mount a door, but all we had were the shutters which usually would be used only to secure the place when you are out. A door with a big window would have been very nice, and also would have made the air conditioning more efficient. Probably the door had been damaged and not yet replaced. Also, the parking is pretty scary. It is right upon the road to Dubrovnik, and while it didn't have a lot of traffic, what there was came around the curves pretty fast. In and out was always a little tense.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ratac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ratac

Address: Ratac 55, Slano 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ratac 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ratac is a sea-front property near Dubrovnik. With several apartments close to the sea it is an ideal spot for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Ratac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ratac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.