We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish beachfront hotel on Dubrovnik Riviera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Admiral Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Slano
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Stylish beachfront hotel on Dubrovnik Riviera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spent 1 night at the Admiral Hotel as the Rixas Libertas was overbooked and bumped us.

It is on the bay of Slano about a 45 minute drive from the old town of Duprovnik. Everyone in our group enjoyed the hotel and was glad we had to stay there. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and stylishly furnished, with folded robes on the bed. (No tea or coffee in the rooms in Croatia). There are large indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and it is right on the beach, with a spa facility as well. There is a long outdoor terrace where you can kick back with a drink and watch the ocean a few metres away. Breakfast was very nice. There are some little restaurants over the road from the hotel as well. We didn't have dinner there, as we went into the old town.
We would happily return to the Admiral Grand, as the customer service was much better than many hotels in Croatia

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    32
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
76
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is an impressive hotel, especially if you are a fan of sleek minimalism. The atrium is stunning even if the glass elevator is reminiscent of a shopping mall. The bedrooms share the same style, but also have comfortable beds. The doubles are double (or king-sized), not two singles pushed together. I am not a great fan of air-conditioning, but the Admiral's is the best I've experienced. The indoor and outdoor swimming pools are excellent, but can't beat swimming in the bay at Slano. I had two bugbears during my stay. The reception and cleaning staff were excellent. The buffet was also replenished very efficiently. However the waiters lacked polish. Dinner is supposed to be served until 10pm, but after 9pm the staff are absorbed by setting up the tables for next day's breakfast and dinners are regarded as an inconvenience. One day I dined at 9.15pm. The waiter asked if I was dining and after I said yes he disappeared for over 10 minutes before bringing plates and cutlery. These were then whisked away between the first and main course so the farce had to begin again. Nor was I given the chance to order an (overpriced) drink. I still enjoyed good food and the view across the bay, but this should not happen if the staff are properly trained and supervised. My other gripe is the profusion of towels on otherwise unoccupied loungers. Very tiresome, particularly as there are ample loungers available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

NIce clean modern hotel with really picturesque view situated about 30 minutes ride from Dubrovnik. Rooms very comfortable, and breakfast was great.
Having said that, they charge for ice! I needed some ice packs for my blistered toe and this so called 5 star hotel charged me 15 kunas (= a bottle of beer). Maybe I'm ignorant of the traditions in the Eastern part of the Europe, but never in my +15 years of business and holiday travel in Asia, North America, and Western Europe did I ever see a case where you get charged for ice. Don't 5 star hotels usually stuff your ice buckets for you whether you want it or not? Even the cheap motels in America offer all you can get ice! I thought ice was commodity - seems like it's a valuable in Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel and service was excellent. We will come next year definitly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

An incredibly well-maintained hotel in an extremely picturesque location, spotlessly clean with nice furnishings, exceptional atmosphere, very, very attentive staff and very, very tasty food. A perfect spot for pure relaxation, as well as exploring the region.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel deserves every one of its five stars. this ultra chic ultra sleek hotel is positively luxurious with attentive, friendly staff and all the amenities one could wish for. Breakfast is a feast, delectable with plenty of choices, hot and cold,on a par with other well-known 5 star hotels.The setting right by the lake is peaceful and serene.Whether you stay for a couple of days or a fortnight,you are guaranteed to come away relaxed and revived.The hotel offers all treatments at the spa and the indoor, outdoor pools are truly inviting.The rooms are beautifully appointed with fantastic bedding!!!!
Only 30 minutes from Dubrovnik, with a bustop just outside the hotel, do not take your car and enjoy the view all the way in to the Old City and back. You won't be sorry.The Admiral Grand is a grand hotel without the silly pompous attitude of some 5 star hotels. It has conference facilities as well as a great place to bring the family. Do not go anywhere else as this is a hotel of your dreams and I am a fussy customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here for the first week in July this year. Impressed and very happy from start to finish. Everything was clean, well maintained, well staffed and in top order. The staff all appeared very friendly and mostly speak pretty good English.

Room was spacious and comfortable, plenty of cupboards and drawers, air-con worked well and had an excellent private balcony overlooking the beach with superb views. The sound-proofing and light-proofing qualities of the balcony doors and curtains were also excellent.

Food was really excellent and plentiful. We were half-board and there was a wide variety of hot and cold breakfast choices, plenty of fruit - plenty to smuggle out with you for lunch also! The evening meals were superb - massive choice of meats, fish etc and plenty of veg options, we both ate far too much. The restaurant was open from 7-10 for breakfast and again 7-10 for dinner, so very flexible hours and they never seemed to run out of anything or mind if you turned up for a late sitting.

The one trivial annoyance was the over-zealousness of the waiting staff in terms of their plate/cutlery collecting: i.e. the instant you finished with something then a waiter would swoop in like a hawk to take it away. Almost every evening we had to ask them to leave our plates alone until we had both finish. Maybe this is just their custom, but they got the message in the end.

The other guests seem to consist mainly of Russians with some Germans, Dutch and French: not many other English guests, which I didn't mind at all. The Russians don't seem to venture very far and prefer a sun lounger holiday. We prefer to get out and about, but on the occasions we fancied slugging on the beach or poolside for an hour or two there was never a problem finding unused loungers or sun-shades.

The hotel have a supply of hire cars that you can rent there and then the same day, or there is a tourist information office right outside where you can organise this and other excursions and hire. Other facilities on offer are tennis, volleyball, pedalos, kayaks and bikes, but you have to pay extra for all of those. If you go about 200 yards down the bay on the right there is a small cafe where they hire out the same, plus motor boats, speed boats and jet-skis at lower rates. Quad bikes were available from another place in the village.

There are good walks to be had on both sides of the bay and if you don't fancy the hotel beach (which is ok but not very interesting) there are loads of other coves and little beaches in walking distance with excellent snorkelling to be had. Look out for the secluded little cove on the left hand side near the bay entrance which is a really nice place to hole up in, although you can only get to it by water, or a very long clamber over rocks.

I recommend a visit to the villages of Mali Ston/Ston a little way north where you can walk over the mountain on top of the town walls - very interesting indeed.

We would definitely go back there with no hesitation.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the sea are the rooms to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.