We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna del Rio to your Saves list
Hotel Luna del Rio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio San Juan, El Castillo, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in El Castillo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cusco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was on my way to find another hotel, which I had seen on tripadvisor, when I ran into this hotel. And am I glad I did!!! I had a room at the back with a big balcony with swinging chair looking out over the river. The view is great! The rooms are very clean with private bathroom, airconditioning and everything is new. They opened just 5 months ago and it shows. The interior is really nice and very tastful. And they have hot water, which is rare in these parts. You will probably not really use it, as the climate is so warm, but the thought is really nice. The owner and the girl working there are so friendly, warm and helpful. I had some problems with flushing my toilet and within 5 minutes they were in my bathroom fixing it. And they kept on saying that whenever I needed something I shouldn't hesitate to ask. Breakfast was good too! Conclusion: I really loved it!!!! I stayed 2 nights, which in my opinion is enough for El Castillo. But if you want to relax, this is the place to be. And I know my rate 100% is high, but I have been travelling for 8 months now and this place really made me happy and feel at home, so as far as I am concerned they deserve a 10!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

In total we stayed two nights here. This was a fantastic experience,. The hotel is warm, friendly, eco-friendly and friendly staff. They have two rooms with the river views and a hammock. It's really special to sleep here while hearing the river flows. They got more rooms at the back. The owners speak Spanish as well as English which can be very helpfull if you''re spanish isn't fluently. They can also organize all kinds of trips. For us; this was one of the best places where we have stayed in Nica! Regards, Martijn and Jo (Dutchies)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Luna del Rio a week ago and loved it! We were met by Marga as we arrived off the boat from San Carlos, which was great as we were both extremely tired having travelled all the way from Ometepe that night. We had a river side room and spent the first evening enjoying a few beers on the balcony swing chair, absolute bliss.
For dinner on our second night we were able to order in some food from a nearby restaurant and enjoy it on the balcony (Marga arranged this for us) which was lovely.
Our room had hot water and a portable aircon unit, it also had a fly screen so we could open up the windows and take advantage of the breeze coming off the river.
I would definitely recommend this place, a great place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: See if a riverside room is available, great views and fresh breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Luna del Rio is a nice place with about four or five rooms. This makes it very pleasant and cosy. Service is very pleasant too and the owner even arranged my boat reservation to San Carlos as a service. I felt really welcome here. First I had a street side room, with small balcony. After one night I could switch rooms (no problem) to the river side. With a slightly bigger balcony and a much better view on the rapids of San Juan river. And with a swing bench. A great place for me to take some restfull days with doing hardly anything. Beds are good. Airco is available in the street side rooms. The river side rooms have a much smaller airco system. The price was a bit high for me, but I think okay for the provided amenities. It's a very clean place, especially considering the jungle surroundings. Breakfast can be included. It's not special, but prepared with love.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Hotel Luna del Rio for two nights in February 2014. We paid $60 a night for a room with bathroom including breakfast and air-conditioning (which we didn't need). The room was very small but clean and the bed was comfortable. The room had a floor fan. The bathroom was small, too, but the shower was large and had hot water. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, others had balconys overlooking the river. The common area/deck is right over the water at the rapids. We watched tarpon jumping in the morning. There is no television and no wi-fi. The hotel is new and beautifully constructed from local woods. The best feature of Hotel Luna del Rio is Manual the owner. He greeted us with a big smile and was very warm and friendly through out our stay. He helped arrange low price tours with his brother, Juan, a licensed guide. The hotel is 2 minutes walking from the boat landing, shops and restaurants; there is no ATM in El Castillo. Although a bit expensive for Nicaragua standards Hotel Luna del Rio is a good value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Luna del Rio hotel is a nice step up from most of those available in this relatively undeveloped tourist destination. Space is quite limited but the hot water alone is worth the price. We didn't even turn on the air conditioning as the room was out over the water at the head of the rapids on the San Juan and evenings and mornings were delightfully cool. The deck (also over the water) was a great place to eat breakfast and watch the Tarpon feeding on the surface. (Likewise for evening drinks.)
In addition, the fact that the historical reason for the Spanish construction of the fort in this location was the very rapids whose sound lulls one to sleep at night was greatly appreciated. Best of all, the owners, Manuel and Maria, were at all times willing to go the extra mile to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just returned from an 11 day trip to Nicaragua - 4 spent in El Castillo. Going to El Castillo was a last minute decision and we're so glad we did! Marga was super helpful with all of the arrangements and answering by bazillion questions about the boat schedule, tours, etc. Manuel and Marga took such good care of us from the time we arrived to the time we got on the boat back to San Carlos. Breakfasts were wonderful and our balcony overlooking the river was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the breeze. Rooms are very small but having the balcony made that ok. Our AC wasn't actually much of an AC (more of a fan) but I think other rooms have a different set-up. For us it was fine - the breeze was plenty cool enough. I had a little trouble locating an email for the hotel but Marga said they're working on a new website - that will really help people find them. They've only been open a few months and we hope they'll be around for a LONG time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the river on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna del Rio

Address: Rio San Juan, El Castillo, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rio San Juan Department > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna del Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Luna del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Del Rio Nicaragua/El Castillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.