We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heather Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heather Lodge to your Saves list
Heather Lodge
14483 Hwy #35, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a family get together this weekend. We stayed at the Heather Lodge and cannot stop talking about our exceptional stay! We were greated by wonderful hosts and made very welcomed. On our check-in we were upgraded to a Lakeside Room and were thrilled with the beautifully appointed and comfortable clean accommodation on. 12 Mile Lake. We slept like babies! What an incredible setting! Great breakfast selections, delicious and well presented. We look forward to re-visiting in th Fall!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
88
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a Laurier university reunion here. (50 years and yes and we are all alive and kicking). We stayed two nights. The accommodation is great. The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast is wonderful. You have an amazing choice of selections from the dinner menu. The dessert was light and refreshing. The couple who run this lodge do everything possible to make this a wonderful experience. We partied on the large deck overlooking the lake morning and night. We will be back, we hope, next year for 51!

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Heather Lodge! It was the most ideal setting to celebrate the surprise engagement that had taken place nearby earlier in the day. My brand new fiancé had booked us for Dec 1st, the lodge’s opening day after their November holidays. We were the only couple booked and the atmosphere was absolutely incredible. The lodge is located just off the highway, near the lake and surrounded by trees. When we arrived the lodge was dusted with snow, decorated for the holiday season and as warm and cheerful as you could want. The main lodge was inviting, being decorated with overstuffed comfortable furniture, board games, a pool table, a bookshelf full of DVDs and a stone fireplace. The hosts were extremely kind, Arend chatted away to us, clearly in his natural element serving meals and interacting with us. We saw little of his wife, but her cooking was extraordinary. We took our meals in a warm room overlooking the water. The meals were large, with many choices and deliciously home cooked. Our room was located a short walk from the main lodge and boasted a king bed, wood burning fireplace and balcony overlooking the lake. We had to pay for a log for the fireplace but it was definitely worth it. The price was high given that it was a low season but the meals, cleanliness and ambiance made it so we would return and recommend this lodge to others. Overall: Even though we had not mentioned that we had gotten engaged that day, we still felt that the hosts really contributed to making our day even more special. This was the perfect place to spend our first night as an engaged couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I decided to plan a get away from the kids and pets for a night, and because we booked late on the family day weekend, we ended up booking the last room at Heather Lodge. Our first impressions was that it was a very clean, quaint hotel in the middle of beautiful surroundings. Our accommodations were located on the second floor of another building away from the main lodge. As there was a lot of snow of course since it was February, our walk up to our room was treacherous, to say the least. The steep outdoor staircase was covered in snow and ice and carrying bags up to the room made this very difficult. Coming down was another story and we had to hold on to the banister for dear life! It would have been nice if the owner would have made sure the steps were devoid of ice as we could have slipped and fell quite a long way down. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. However, the pillows were very thick and made it feel like I was sleeping on a brick. I was not impressed with the TV at all. And the front door was very hard to open.
Arend seemed friendly and would talk to us when we sat in the beautiful lodge beside the fire. His wife seemed not so friendly; in fact she seemed quite cold. We enjoy talking to people we meet, but she gave off a strange unfriendly vibe that she had no time for us. It was nice we could bring our own alcohol into the lodge and during dinner. At $50 per person for dinner, I found quite expensive even bringing our own alcohol. The shrimp appetizer was great; however my husband's steak was average as was my pork tenderloin with pears dinner. Dessert was one thing with no choice so you had to eat what was brought. However, our breakfast was superb. All in all it was a pleasant time away but I don't know if I would return. I feel that the owners have everything down pat and were pretty regimented in their thinking. Not sure how other reviewers are saying the hosts made you feel at home - we felt kind of uncomfortable (oh also there are little cameras around the lodge watching every move you make - be sure not to put logs in the fire - you will get into trouble!!) It seemed that the owners are upstairs watching what you are doing as my husband went to add logs to the fireplace and Arend came rushing downstairs telling him not to do that - he's the only one who can touch the fire! After that we felt a bit weird and uncomfortable. All in all the lodge is very clean and I can tell the owners take great pride in it. But we will not be going back or recommending the lodge unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a beautiful, luxurious country retreat. Wonderful scenery! The accommodations were spotless, the breakfast was excellent (great coffee). Connie and Arend make you feel at home! Truly worthy of 5-stars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just wanted a relaxing weekend away from the busy weekly routine. Was recommended to this place by another lodge as they were booked. We were very happy with the accomadations,service and food. Menu for dinner had lots to chose from which made it hard to decide, that would be your toughest thing you will do all weekend. Breakfast was the same.Aaron was a great host and kept us entertained all weekend, and surely not to be forgotten his wife and great cook Connie. Looking forward to going back again. The scenery was spectacular.Beautiful Autumn weather.See you soon Paul & Diana.

Room Tip: all rooms in main lodge have a grat view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A real find. We were made very welcome by the hosts and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great breakfast. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Bit late for autumn colours but enjoyed some good walks & mountain biking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Lodge

Address: 14483 Hwy #35, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Lodge is the perfect hideaway for adults wishing to step back, relax and enjoy the abundant natural beauty of the Haliburton Highlands. Heather Lodge is a quant, casual yet elegant resort, combining all the charm and ambiance of an old lodge with the luxury of a modern inn. Offering superb customer service, culinary delights with Chef James and an outdoor enthusiasts activities. Open year round, offering non-motorized waterfront activities in the summer and cross country skiis and snowshoes in the winter season. Twelve Mile Lake offers fantastic swimming and boating activities, adjoined to two other lakes with an enormous private deck seated with comfy chairs and bonefire. Close to many points of interests such as Haliburton Forest & Wildlife and Algonquin Park to just name a few. This couple resort offers guests a spectacular experience with each and every one of our guests. We invite you to experience Heather Lodge. Proud Members of Ontario's Finest Inns and Resorts of Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather Lodge Minden, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heather Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.