We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Thankgiving Weekend 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
Save
You added Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   1023 Ogopogo Lane, RR#2, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orillia, Canada
1 review
“Family Thankgiving Weekend 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

My brothers and sisters decided that our families (20) needed to spend more time together instead of just a dinner on Thanksgiving so we set out to find a resort that would appeal to us - after much searching I found Ogopogo -what a wonderful treasure! We rented a cottage for each family, cottages have everything!! Bedding met some pretty high standards and very clean! The age range is between 3 yrs and 52 yrs. Very easy place to chill and keep entertained at the same time. Everyone is looking forward to returning. Hospitality was appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed having your family at Ogopogo. At one point on Saturday Todd and I were on the dock watching your family interact. Some of the kids were playing horseshoes, others were at the shuffleboard court, a little boy was raking leaves and jumping in them and adults were chatting and laughing on the muskoka chairs. We observed that you were all enjoying QUALITY family time together. There were no cellphones, tv movies or video games being played........it was all "Leave it to Beaver" great times and it really warmed our hearts that Ogopogo got to be a part of it. Thanks for rebooking for next Thanksgiving.........cant wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

There were 13 of us for a Girls Weekend Away and Ogopogo Resort was the perfect place for us. Todd and Katherine answered all of our questions before we got there and greeted us with the same friendly and helpful attitude upon arrival. The cottages are very clean, bright and comfortable. The grounds show off how much TLC Katherine and Todd put into maintaining their resort. The weather was cool and rainy at times but when the rain stopped we took advantage of the outdoor setup including the great fire at night. The resort is located in a beautiful area of Ontario with its' rolling hills and many lakes. It is ideally located for all of us as some are coming from the Perth area while some from London/St. Thomas. Lots to see and do in the area although we spent most of our time at the resort enjoying each others company. You can walk into a cottage, unpack the food and clothes and you are set to party - how perfect is that? Even if you don't watch the tv you can access radio on the satellite tv and there is free wifi to keep you in touch with the outside world. I really can't say enough about this wonderful getaway spot. Fantastic Hosts and Outstanding Facility.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
So glad that the girls enjoyed their weekend at Ogopogo. It was a pleasure having you and looking forward to next year already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We chose Ogopogo for our October getaway to see the Fall colours based on previous positive reviews. They were all correct. Stayed at the Honeymoon cabin, and it was perfect. Todd and Kathrine make you feel right at home as soon as you arrive. Todd showed us some of the other cabins before we settled into ours, and they were all very nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. Beautiful lake, dock, swimming area, canoes, kayaks etc. etc. I will not hesitate to recommend this place to friends. Look no further. This is the place for couples or families alike.

Room Tip: All the cabins (and cottages) were nicely located. Some right on the lake, some set back a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Your comments really warm our heart and so pleased that reviews like yours help you choose us! We are glad that you got to enjoy some of the sights in the Haliburton Highlands and looking forward to having you back again. Thanks K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed a Ogopogo and it was even better than the first. Katherine and Todd, our gracious and hardworking hosts made sure of that. They are working on upgrading all the facilities at the resort and the cottage we werein has been completely upgraded since last year and it is lovely. Great kitchen with stainless steel appliances, new cabinets and counters etc. The new bedroom is so nice, comfy queen sized bed and beautiful linens (supplied) and so much more. Thank you so much for a relaxing stay,the weather was perfect too.

Room Tip: Go to the web site and check out the photos of the cottages. You can also email or call for more inf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
We were so pleased that you returned and thank you so much for noticing all the changes. We really enjoy our guest's response when they notice and it makes it all worth while. Thanks for all the warm comments and we look forward to seeing you again real soon K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My partner and I had a very relaxing fall getaway to Ogopogo. It was our first time here, Todd and Katherine were very welcoming and helpful. The area is absolutely gorgeous in the fall!
It was perfect weather and we enjoyed getting out on the water in the boats and relaxing in the late summer sun.
We are already considering when we could arrange a trip back next year!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend away with each other and pleased that you are considering returning....and with the little bundle!!! All the best and hope all goes well with your new arrival. K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My husband and I went to Ogopogo for our anniversary last February 2013. We had such an enjoyable experience that we returned this past September 2014 with 3 other couples and once again we had an excellent time. The cottages were very nice and clean, the grounds were spectacular and the owners were very friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate our needs!
Thanks so much Katherine and Todd for a very memorable week! You haven't seen the last of the Peppers!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you so much for returning and with all of your friends! Its the best compliment when we have guests refer or return with their special friends and family. Your group was amazing and it was nice to see you enjoying each other's company and glad that you got to check out and enjoy our local restaurants and attractions. Take care.......until you return! K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a 5 day trip last week. This lodge is superbly laid out with spacious dwellings (cabins is too small a word to describe the cottages). We had the honeymoon cottage with spacious kitchen area with all the amenities. The combined living room and bedroom was perfect for two people with a very comfy queen bed, large screen tv and jacuzzi (for two :)))
The proprietors, Todd and Katharine are very nice people and you only have to ask if there is anything you need that is not already provided.
We kayaked, bbq'd but mostly hung out on our veranda with a nice lake view and enjoyed the quietness of early September. It gave us a chance to unwind, relax and catch up on our reading. Other visitors will find that there is lots to do in the area and the people who were fishing here were catching fish. There is also a large fire pit near the lakefront which Todd supplies with wood and kindling for use of the guests. There is also a heated pool for those who might think the lake is a bit chilly (it wasn't, the water was actually quite warm).
Overall i would highly recommend this lodge to families and couples alike. We will be back next year for sure for a longer stay.
Room Tip: all the cottages are lovely, warm and well kept.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerOgopogoResort, Owner at Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
We are so pleased that you returned and enjoyed your stay once again. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience via a review and looking forward to a longer stay with both of you next time. Take care and all the best K&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake

Address: 1023 Ogopogo Lane, RR#2, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Minden
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ogopogo Resort On Mountain Lake Hotel Minden
Ogopogo Resort On Mountain Lake Minden, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.