We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on - Indulge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indulgence Divine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birgu (Vittoriosa)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indulgence Divine
Save
You added Indulgence Divine to your Saves list
Pope Alexander VII Street, Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta BRG1105, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go on - Indulge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place really is as gorgeous as it looks on the internet! Ideally situated in authentic Maltese village of Birgu, this boutique townhouse is the ideal place for a romantic break - perfect for doing nothing and a base from which to explore Malta. This place is more affordable than you may think at first sight from the website - check it out!

Beautifully restored, this old chapel has 6 main sections: kitchen (brilliantly equipped), living room (above bedroom/dining area), bedroom (V romantic), dining area, bathroom (double shower!) and roof terrace (great to relax on). Everything is in stunning condition. We enjoyed staying here massively - away from the hussle and bustle of Valetta, allowing you to soak up the atmosphere of a typical Maltese village.

We enjoyed self-catering but many good restaurants near by.

Hiring a car makes things a lot easier if you visit ID, but can get the water taxi to Valetta which is fun. Owner and his Dad (who welcomes you) are very helpful both before and during your visit with a great welcome hamper to top it all off.

Stay here to avoid a bog-standard hotel - this place has character, is hugely comfortable and great value.

Go on - INDLUGE!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vitrolles, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you are looking for a special place different from standard B&B, Indulgence Divine in the best choice :
a beautifull accomodation in a 16th century house renewed with great taste between modern and baroque italian style.
Bedroom, Kitchen, Large bathroom, livingroom, terrace, and a hidden room through narrow stairs...
Everything is well thought,
We stayed 6 days in I.D. It's quite well located ti visit Malta.
Nice restaurants in the streets around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This was as nice an apartment as we could have imagined. It was stylish down to the last detail, combing the romance of medieval building and stonework with avant garde, quirky decoration. We were initially worried about the location being in a small town across the bay from Valletta. And we are glad that we found the previous review (Marta123456) which put our minds at rest. Depending on what you want, we found Vittoriosa to be perfect. It was quiet and charming, with many little quaint backstreets to explore, and yet with so many high quality and atmospheric bars and restaurants that we couldn't visit them all even in a week. We only ended up visiting Valletta once, and to be honest we preferred Vittoriosa. The service from the owner, Aldo, was excellent which helped us settle in and feel at home. All in all, this is somewhere we intend to come back to more than once.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This was our first trip to Malta and we were so glad to find Indulgence Divine, a beautifully-restored apartment in the quiet and intriguing city of Vittoriosa. It was the perfect low-key base for our travels across Malta. It was nice to return at the end of the day to be revived by its tranquility and colours. We stayed for 11 nights.

The self-catering apartment comes with a well-appointed kitchen. Bathroom has a double shower (enjoy!). Upstairs lounge and tv area is light-fllled and spacious. Rooftop terrace is a lovely spot for afternoon sun lounging. Bedroom feels tucked away even in an open space, very nice.

The photographs on the Indulgence Divine website are true to life. The space is at once spacious, intimate, colourful and elegant. It was been put together with great care and a sense of fun. Luxurious fun.

Booking includes airport transfer and welcome pack.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

When we first found information about this apartment and had a look at pictures online, we couldn't believe it could be so beautiful. I was wondering how disappointing the reality would be compared to lovely photos. The truth was... this apartment was even better than in the pictures! It's in the lovely old town of Birgu, situated very close to the main square and a few minutes' walk from a bus stop. The apartment is very spacious and comfortable but the main thing is decor. It's truly gorgeous and you can easily see that a lot of effort was put into its decoration. Every details fits to the style of the apartment, even towels, hangers or little notebooks left for guests to write their own travel suggestions.
The owner's father, a very kind person, welcomes you and is the person to contact if you need something. This is a self catering accommodation with a fully equipped kitchen but we actually didn't use it as we mainly had meals in restaurants. If I was going to choose between Indulgence Divine and a 5 star hotel, I wouldn't even bother thinking about any luxury hotel. Indulgence Divine is much better.
Birgu itself is a charming town with beautiful views. It has a couple of good restaurants and some other attractions. Unless you want a beach holiday, it is a very good place to stay in Malta. It takes about 20 minutes by bus to reach Valletta and from there you can go around and explore Malta.
Staying in Indulgence Divine in Birgu is a very good idea for couples that want to do some sightseeing and are interested in historic places.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indulgence Divine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indulgence Divine

Address: Pope Alexander VII Street, Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta BRG1105, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Birgu (Vittoriosa)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Birgu (Vittoriosa)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its clever blend of history and design this old town house in the Collachio area of the old capital is the default choice for those romantics for whom style is a priority. A fascinating mixture of discreet glamour and colourful indulgence makes this a fairy-tale bolt-hole. Its large light-filled rooms will welcome you to its 400+ history. Carrara marble and silk curtains in vibrant Designer's Guild colours will sensuously rouse passions you never knew you had in you. Indulgence Divine comes with a modern kitchen, a large dining room, and a spacious living room that overlooks the roof terrace. It also features a tantalizing bedroom set in the old house chapel and en suite bathroom with curvy glass mosaic walls.The house is situated in the walled city of Vittoriosa, right behind the Palace of the Inquisition and a stone's throw from the luxury yachts of the Marina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indulgence Divine Malta/Birgu (Vittoriosa)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indulgence Divine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.