We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect R&R for Walkers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Rey to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Rey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Puntilla | Avda. Marítima Nº1, 38879 La Gomera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Valle Gran Rey
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfect R&R for Walkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following a drive through dense fog we drove down the final 6 miles from Arure to Valle Gran Rey and found brilliant sunshine. The Hotel Gran Rey is beautifully situated to obtain the best views of this attractive village with the stunning mountains behind and the Atlantic Ocean crashing onto the small beach in front. It is within easy walking distance to the harbour and the restaurants and shops. The majority of guests appeared to be on walking holidays and very few were from the UK, which was nice. Besides the numerous walking trails there were kayaks and bikes for hire, and different beaches to sunbathe on.

We chose to pay extra for a room with a sea view and on walking in we were very happy with our choice. The freshly decorated room was flooded with sunlight, and although compact had everything we needed, as did the bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the small balcony watching the world go by, and then the sunset, with a glass of wine. When we arrived there was a kettle, cups and saucers and a plate of coffee sachets, sugar, teabags and milk which was appreciated. Usually when these are provided they are restocked daily, so on returning on our second day we made do with what was left, and on the third day returned to our room with coffee and milk from the supermarket to find our cups had gone. It is the little things that could make a very good hotel into an excellent one!

Good quality and variety of food for breakfast, and the roof top dining room was brilliant, just wish the weather had been warm enough to sit outside. One major fault was lack of crockery and sometimes cutlery. We booked half board and after reading the reviews were a little concerned about both the dining room and the quality of the food for dinner. The first night we were pleasantly surprised, although a little dark the dining room was pleasant and the food varied and reasonable. By our fifth and last night it had become very repetitious.

All the staff, well yes except one, were polite and helpful. Everything was low key, quiet and homely, just the place to return to, to relax and recover after a hard day’s walking. Overall we spent a very enjoyable five nights at the Hotel Gran Rey and we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Beautiful aspects from all rooms, but with the sea view rooms you can listen to the waves and see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
45
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Lovely hotel, great value at the price. It was worth paying extra for the sea view room, could go to sleep to the sound of the surf and watch the sunset from our balcony. Staff all friendly and helpful and facilities are good. Plenty to see and do here, especially if you like serious walking. Organised treks from shop just along the road are excellent, you can hire boots and anything else you need from there too. Car hire is cheap and easy, bike hire available nearby too. Scenery round here is magnificent but makes driving interesting, lots of sheer drops and hairpin bends! Valle Gran Rey definitely most interesting part of the Island to stay I would say. Only downside was the journey to get here. Very badly planned by Thomas Cook, spent hours waiting around and didn't arrive til late at night, which meant a long drive from ferry across the mountains in darkness. It would have been lovely during the day but was horrible in total darkness having been travelling since early morning. Been told we have to leave at 5am in the morning despite not flying til mid afternoon, so repeat on the way back unfortunately, and unnecessary as there is a later ferry which would work. So, in conclusion, come and stay here, it's lovely, but don't come with Thomas Cook, they have been useless as well as giving only 15kg of luggage allowance!!

Room Tip: Pay for sea view if you don't mind a little noise outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

This was our first visit to La Gomera and this was a great choice as a hotel. It is perfectly placed between the harbour and the main strip and has great views of the sea in one direction and the stunning Valle in the other. It is known for having great sunsets and it really didn't disappoint, each and every night.

The staff were really helpful. We emailed them before the holiday about how best to transfer from the airport to the hotel. They recommended a company called Autobus Mesa (http://www.autobusesmesa.es/en). They were brilliant, airport to hotel and back, including ferry for 80€ pp and they were excellent. The hotel staff continued offering great advice and support throughout our stay. The hotel is very clean and the room was lovely, although we had asked for a double and we're given a twin, so maybe double check. The bar staff upstairs and very friendly and really add to the atmosphere up there.

We didn't have dinner there as we wanted to eat out but there was always always lovely smell when we passed in the evenings. The breakfast certainly lined our stomachs for the day and the made to order omelette were lovely.

I would certainly stay here again and have always ready recommended it to people I know.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay in a sea view room for seven nights. The sunsets are fantastic so worth getting the sea view so you can sit on your balcony with a bottle of wine to watch it go down. Breakfast was good but didn't do the dinners as we wanted to explore Valle Gran Rey cuisine, which was fantastic.

The hotel was very popular with the retired crowd so we were by far the youngest couple staying. That wasn't a problem for us but if you are after a lively scene, maybe not for you. Also, the first language of the hotel was German, all the staff had good English once you established that you didn't speak German. That was a surprise for us as we were expecting Spanish.

Front desk staff were really helpful and helped us with our ferry and airport transfers on autobus Mesa.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We just spent a week at Gran Rey and it is nothing GRAND about it.The hotel is clean and works, but the staff seems uninspired and it feels like a ship without a captain. Food is grey and a bit sad. Everything is dated. The worst part is dinner in the semi basement. Don't do it! We had a good time on the roof terrace and loved the view from the hotel. And the Gran Ray Wally is all but sad and grey. Bring Pillow.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This is a good hotel with good sized rooms and decent food although I didn't do dinner as we like to try a different place every night but the buffet breakfasts are great .The clientele is mostly German but as far as I am concerned this is a plus as I usually find the Germans abroad to be polite and generally good mannered unlike some from this sceptred Isle .Rooftop pool is lovely with excellent waiter service although some Spanish helps here.la gomera is a walkers paradise and most of the activity is centred round that including early morning walkers buses which park and leave the engine running at 7.00 am ---oh dear ---minor carp loved the place and the island I will and have returned

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms if you want to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damme, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in the Hotel Gran Rey. It appears to be a popular place for the more mature traveller. Seaview rooms offer a good view across a small car park and minor road onto the not very wide beach. These rooms might be too noisy for those who do not appreciate the sound of the surf. The rooms to the rear of the hotel have a mountain view and will be much quieter. We found the service to be very good, very courteous and helpful staff, the rooms were clean. Here is the but: The cramped rooms do need to be modernized, e.g. we had a double room but only had one chair to sit on. When leaning on the headrest whilst sitting on the bed to read etc. the bed would roll forward. No drawers for personal stuff.
The hotel has a lot to offer. The food is OK, staff super friendly, nice location, attractive pool etc. if only the rooms were more comfortable.....

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Rey

Address: La Puntilla | Avda. Marítima Nº1, 38879 La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Valle Gran Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Valle Gran Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gran Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Rey Hotel
Hotel Gran Rey La Gomera/Valle Gran Rey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.