We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Explorations Whale Cruises

Ocean Explorations Whale Cruises
3395 hwy 217 | Box 719, Tiverton, Nova Scotia B0V 1G0, Canada
902-839-2417
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Explorations Zodiac Whale Cruises is the maritimes ORGINAL Zodiac ("ocean rafting") whale/seabird adventure! Celebrating 25+ seasons, founded by biologist Tom Goodwin, in 1986! "one of the best" (Lonely Planet) and the most recommended by accomodation providers in the area. Ask them "who is the BEST?" and go with THEM (ie.we'll see you then)
Middleton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have gone whale watching with Ocean Explorations many times over the years and have never been disappointed! The drive there is great at any time of year. The ferry is quick and inexpensive. The trips out in the zodiac are fun (can be a bit bumpy, but that's part of the thrill for us!) Tom and his guides are knowledgeable and you can learn something new every time you go out! We have seen varied species of whales, dolphins, seals, puffins and other sea birds on our trips. We've had a whale so close we could have touched it; seen them breeching, waving, tail slapping and even calves sleeping on top of the water with Mama underneath them. Dress warmly (you can always shed a sweater), accept their mitts and hats, get your cameras ready because you WILL take some excellent shots!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    6
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“21 Days in Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fantastic. Humpbacks up close and personal!! WOW!! A must do when in Nova Scotia. Tom was very knowledgeable and friendly. Zodiac ride was so cool and got us to the whales very quickly. Experience I will never forget.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A great adventure not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

From the initial enquiry the process was seamless and we enjoyed an awesome three hours on the water. Tony is both knowledgeable and fun. We found Wales ahead of any group and the exhilaration as he gunned the engines having spotted a lone Wale was just fantastic. A unique way to watch nature close up and fun along the way. Book it or live with remorse :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An outstanding experience with Ritchie and several humpback whales! We found the whales very quickly and Ritchie was able to follow them but also make sure that the sun was behind us so we could get our photos. He was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a glorious day but the hats and gloves provided were welcome. The ride in the Zodiac was great fun - definitely the best way to see whales up close. Priced well and a trip we would thoroughly recommend. Nice touch that Tom subsequently e-mailed several pictures that he'd taken of the boat we were in whilst we were with the whales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The afternoon spent whale watching with Ocean Explorations was one of the most exhilarating and memorable experiences of our month-long vacation in this area. The Zodiac ride was thrilling and afforded us a much more personal view of the whales than would be possible in a bigger boat. With only a dozen people on board, everyone had a perfect view of the action. Our guide was excellent and got us up close to three different groups of whales and then maneuvered to keep us nearby for long periods of time. Of the three hours we were on board, we were with whales almost two. An outstanding day!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Explorations Whale Cruises also viewed

Brier Island, Southwest Nova Scotia
Kentville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Tiverton, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Ocean Explorations Whale Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Explorations Whale Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.