We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Cabana Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Isla Cabana Resort to your Saves list
Isla Cabana Resort
Brgy. 5 | General Luna, Mindanao 8419, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is very nice and new. I hope that the owners keep it well maintained because it would be a shame if it were to become rundown.

You get your own hut, with aircon a good range of tv channels and it has a nice bathroom. Even though it is on the ground, there are no bugs creeping under the door etc similar to experiences i've had in other beach accommodation.

I did see ants running around the buffet breakfast, so be careful about that and order from the menu.

Jacklyn behind the front desk is a star. Don't deal with the local boys when you want to hire a motorbike or go on a tour, get her to do it for you. That saves you a lot of hassle and you don't get ripped off as much as you do when you do it yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed there for my bachelorette party and we had the time of our lives! Their cabanas are spacious and comfortable. Coming from the hospitality industry, I have always been meticulous about housekeeping standards but I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and well maintained their rooms (especially the beds) are. Also, I have to commend their staff who were very accommodating. Special mention to Al who did a superb job on setting up a special poolside dinner. Whether travelling with friends or family, Isla Cabana is definitely the place to stay in Siargao!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and had a vacation of a lifetime! We very impressed with our cabana (Deluxe Mamon) which was new, large (even for a family of 4) and tastefully designed. But most especially, we were truly indebted to the gracious and warm hospitality of the staff for making our stay in Siargao truly memorable & enjoyable--starting with Roger our driver, Jackie & Kevin at the front desk (very eager to please & accommodate your plans for the day), Chela & Ron at the restaurant and Bryan & Ryan for our room service! The food (we had all our meals at the resort) was delicious and tasty--never disappointed--truly -our compliments to the chef! Needless to say--we will highly recommend Isla Cabana to our friends and family. Salamat to all the staff & employees at Isla Cabana--you should be proud of an awesome resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We love isla cabana! The cabanas are spacious, clean, modern and airy. The high ceiling and mostly-wood interior give the cabanas a cozy and warm feeling. Truly a rest house with crystal clear waters literally at your feet. The restaurant serves the best food at the most affordable prices. We loved the pan de surf, adobong saang, kinilaw, halo-halo, bibingka rice, pork and chicken barbecue, everything!!! I especially love the service because everyone was so kind, accommodating and helpful. We are definitely going back for more happy memories.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surigao City, Surigao, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The resort is still on it's way to be finished. But the cottages are very nice and spacious. Service is good and very friendly too. I will definitely come back again together with my family. If you travel together with your family this is the resort that i would recommend. Nice beach front, close to town and you can walk your way around to other establishments. They also got motorbikes for rent for more exploration. Food is good, you can also go to the market and buy fresh fish and have them cook it for you specially people who does fishing. Like I say very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I were  in Siargao from July 26 to 29, 2013.   We were a group of eleven, 2 couples and 7 children aged 22 to 12.

We chose to stay at Isla Cabana Resort based on photos  posted on the Internet and recommendations from friends who had previously visited the island, and we were not disappointed. 

We made our booking through email and found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating.  Kevin and Jacklyn, from reception, were very prompt in replying to emails and providing us with information, from Sunday mass schedules to  rates for various activities.

We were met at the airport by Roger, Ali and Bedick.  The ride to the resort was very comfortable as they took two vans, one for us and the other for the luggage.    

We were welcomed very warmly at the resort, smiling staff and welcome drinks.  They knew exactly which rooms to take our luggage in while we were enjoying out beverages. 

The resort itself is beautifully appointed, from the reception area, the restaurant, the gardens and the cabanas.  The architecture is very simple yet tasteful. The materials used were indigenous to the the area, like the iron wood and the nipa.  The soaring ceilings, the furniture, the flower arrangements and all the little details come together and imbue your senses with calmness, rest and tranquility.  
    
The cabanas are set in a landscaped garden, with enough privacy from your neighbors.  They are comfortably appointed, and spacious.  The bigger ones have an outdoor shower to rinse the sand off before coming in from the beach. There is a horizon pool right in front of the beach too.

But I must commend the staff who were so accommodating.  The kitchen staff who woke up very early to prepared 22 packed breakfast and lunch  meals for our day trip to Sohoton National Park before 5 am!  Ali, who arranged and booked our surfing activities, and helped us out with other arrangements.  Mildred, the proprietor,who would recommend restaurants for us to dine at, and the restaurant staff, Gem, Chela and Nicho.  

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surigao City, Surigao, Philippines
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stayed here with my family and my oh my, from the very first time you stepped into their lobby, you'll immediately say WOW! like literally, it's jaw dropping! the place, the interior, everything! i guess it's the wood that makes it so beautiful as well. the staff were so friendly, and very accommodating. right after the lobby is the restaurant, and there you can choose a variety of food, , i wish i could try every food there is but there were so many to choose from. i'm pretty sure everything on the menu is yummy. you'll then see the cabanas and the garden from the restaurant. the cabanas are wonderful. it's like you're just at your own house, yeah i wish it's our home. :) and the garden, it's beautiful. and you can tell they are still working on improving a lot . the pool is nice, overlooking the beach which is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. you can take a look at their beach from the photos, and it's gorgeous, but 100x more beautiful if you were exactly there. they also have a spa area just beside the pool. the list could go on, all positive. hands down! keep it up isla cabana. i will surely recommend you to all my friends and relatives. :D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Cabana Resort

Address: Brgy. 5 | General Luna, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter, Soak and Slow Down...In the South-eastern sweeping side of Siargao, Isla Cabana sits idly waiting for you to shelter, soak and slow down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Isla Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Cabana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.