We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Luna Island Resort to your Saves list
La Luna Island Resort
Santa Ines, Catangnan | General Luna, Mindanao 8419, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I felt right at home. La Luna Resort made my time in Siargao even better! The perfect ambiance, accommodation and the food was great with kind and friendly staff who treats you like a family. I would highly recommend La Luna Resort if you are planning to visit the island. I cant wait to go back there next year!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Siargao by itself is worth going back to but this place puts a heavier weight of why im coming back to this island. The place was homey but it didn't take out the island feel to it. The room was big, nice and clean. The restroom never had a problem- working hot shower, toilet paper always replenished we didn't even have to ask, and the toilet flush was working perfectly. Really high value for money; i didn't even expect the room to look like that considering the price i paid for it. They serve good food and the serving size was big (consider, i'm an Asian girl). The Wifi was fast and the resort staff was superb. It was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was very clean and the service was wonderful. They coordinated and help me and my family do activities and answered all my questions. They were very laid back. The food in the cafe was very good also. They were close to the beach just a few minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It's unfortunate that we only stumbled upon La Luna after our Groupon-booked accommodations turned out to be a bust because I feel like our money would have been better spent even if we'd paid full price for a room at La Luna.

First off, the service was great. The ladies manning the cafe/front desk were friendly. Our original accommodations failed to (or didn't even) help us find a tour boat to take us to Bucas Grande after they told us that their boat was broken. One of the women in La Luna immediately called her father up to take us the next day (at this point, we weren't even billeted in La Luna yet. We were just looking for tour operators. Also yes, the tour went swimmingly). When we finally prematurely checked out of the previous resort, we booked in at La Luna and they were even nice enough to help us find someone to take us to the port for when we were leaving. (We were eligible to have the first resort take us to the port because our accommodations were fully paid already but the front desk lady was having problems agreeing with this idea!)

The room we stayed in was really clean! They had shiny wooden floors, a big bed, airconditioning, and enough hangers and shelves. We were also lucky enough to get the room on top of the cafe, which means we were close enough to get good wifi signal. The bathroom was pretty plain but it was clean and there was a rain shower. (There were some ants, but not an unbearable number and they weren't flying!) The nice bit about the room, too, is that it had a little balcony where you could sit and people watch/motorcycle watch.

Food-wise, we just had a crepe and a tea. While it wasn't spectacular, it was pretty enjoyable.

Another thing I liked was La Luna's proximity to other resorts so you could try the in-house restaurants and the fact that you could go barefoot in the cafe/bar. It just felt so cozy.

Room Tip: Pick a room on top of the bar if you could. That way you don't need to walk too far and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great rooms and friendly staff make this a great choice. Air con is new in big rooms with quality sheets, big bed, nice bathrooms and a patio. Beach is just across the road. Close to surfing. Motorbikes can be arranged... Beer is cold, food is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great ambiance, great food! Rooms are spacious with a beautiful balcony to chill at. Could stay here forever! One thing that's special about La Luna is its family run and their warmth extends to their guests. I loved it here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had the most relaxing stay at the resort, felt like home. It is strategically located, minutes away from surfing spots for beginners like me and my friends from Cebu & Davao, white sanded beach Daku/Guyam/Naked islands and the world famous Cloud 9.

As soon as i arrived i remember ordering a glass of refreshing ginger juice...and there's one whole day i just ate my fave fruit salad (melon, fuji apple, banana) with calamansi & honey for the dressing.

The locals (and even the tourists there) are very friendly, you can just walk around and feel safe. The island sleeps at 10pm (if there's no event) and wakes up as early as 4am to surf.

Everyone from the resort knows how to surf, the security guard, the chef, the boatman, the owners. So you would’nt have a hard time looking for a guide, especially if its your first time on the island.

I hope to be back soon!
Hello to baby Julie!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Luna Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Island Resort

Address: Santa Ines, Catangnan | General Luna, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Luna Island Resort is designed to offer you relaxation and comfort. Built in native style with solid hard wood, spacious air-conditioned room, private bathroom (hot/cold shower), balcony and free wifi, each room offers you the privacy and beauty to fully enjoy and lay back during your holiday. Located right in between the popular Cloud Nine surfing area and the town General Luna on Siargao Island, it is only a walking distance away from the white sand beach, and several surf spots are easy to access from here. The Resort's Cafe Bar & Restaurant is known for its delicious Filipino cuisine as well as international dishes, coffee & espresso specialties, Chai tea latte, fresh tropical juices& shakes as well as alcoholic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your La Luna Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.