We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days by the sea.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalinaw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siargao Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalinaw Resort
Save
You added Kalinaw Resort to your Saves list
General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2 days by the sea.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had two lovely days by the sea in kalinaw.
The resort was excellent as were the staff. If you were looking for a quiet and peaceful place this hit the spot. The pool was a good size and perfect setting, the accomodation was also really good with some original designs. However the air con left a bit to be desired., seemed to be underpowered..
muffy.and Jufty the dogs were very entertaining.
One critisism was the breakfast which for an expensive resort was lacking in choice and quantity.
Only a very basic breakfast was given with extra costs for each aditional item you required. For a top rate resort this very petty and did not give a good impression.
Overall I enjoyed my stay with my loved ones.

Allan Matthewson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalinaw-resort, Owner at Kalinaw Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Allan,
Thanks to visit us and appreciate your stay in our pool suite villa.
We take note of your observations regarding air conditioning and breakfast.
Since then, we already schedule an upgrade of air conditioning due to the huge space of the villa.
For the breakfast we serve western one with french home made baguette usually really appreciate by our guest. On the other side we don't have Philippino breakfast but we will add one to pleased all our guest.
Thank you for your advises
Best regards
Fred & Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fred, Pierre, It will be difficult to ever be able to thank you enough for our amazing stay and diner at Kalinaw. You did an amazing job by building this resort and restaurant where we enjoyed invaluable moments with our families and friends.

The villas are very well conceived, designed and decorated, every single piece has been thought and incredibly done - couldn't have done a better job. The pool is a perfect place to stay and enjoy moments with friends.
The location is perfect, with a short walk to Cloud 9, and the beautiful waves! Whatever you expect, Fred and PIerre will make all they can to transform your desire and dreams as reality, and that's exactly what they did during 4 days.
Some of us wanted to try surf, some others wanted to do snorkelling and island hoping and that's exactly what they delivered and over exceeded. The attention to the details is perfect ...

And on top of that, they are doing some great food and the best pizza i ever had in Philippines on top of local food and of course some san miguel Pilsen...
I can only recommend you to stay there, enjoy life with friends, families or in couple to have an amzing time in Paradise.
Thanks again to Fred, Pierre and all the staff for this invaluable moments spent at Kalinaw! Mabuhay

Soso & Mr T

Room Tip: the pool villa is just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Kalinaw Resort for 4D/3N. The villas are big, it can accommodate up to 4 persons. Inside it is rustic but modern. In terms of location, the resort is close to Cloud 9 (surfing area) you can walk or you can rent a motorcycle. The locals are nice and warm...if you need assistance like direction and etc. surely they can help you. Kalinaw resort is known for their delicious food, they serve the best pasta and pizza in the island. A lot of tourist went their to eat and drink. But if you want local delicacies no worries, they serve local foods also. The staff are friendly and nice, if you need something just ask them. They can arrange everything you need.

Tips: Visit the 3 islands - Guyam, Naked and Dako Island...put in your list. The best time to visit the island is during summer season...the sky is clear and the sea is blue. Aside from that there are lots of activities during summer season. If you have extra time, try to visit Socorro Island. Don't forget to bring your underwater camera.

Thanks for making my stay a memorable one...looking forward to visit the island again someday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are an Australian family of 3 living in China and for the past 23 years we have owned and operated tourism businesses throughout the Asia Pacific region. Lets just say we had high expectations for our first break in 12 months. These expectations were met and then exceeded the minute we landed at Kalinaw Resort. Th location is fabulous, the staff courteous, the grounds immaculate, the room simplistically elegant, and the food sumptuous. I am still dreaming of those Piña Coladas...... The pool is stunning and although the resort was full for the 8 days we were there we found it all to ourselves. We would normally get out and about the first day to explore the island, however it took us 4 days before we had any desire to leave the grounds of this sanctuary. We did hire motorbikes and rode around the island for the day - highly recommended even if you don't normally do this type of thing ( we would never do this at other destinations but felt very safe to do so here). The scenery is spectacular and diverse. I could write a book on the exploits of this resort however if you are considering a stay in the Philippines just book this resort! One tip, fly into the island . We hired a private boat (not normally available) which was fantastic but the ferry trip would be long and arduous I would think. Thank you Kalinaw, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

That was really a splendid place, rooms really comfortable, service great and pizza were excellent, the best in any resort tried in the Phils. Was there with friends and my future wife I long to go back, the quicker will the best.
I am sure that you will love it and especially if you are surfers, take a bike, and surf the amazing Cloud 9 waves.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

we didn't stay here, whilst our friends did. we went because it is famous for its pizza. it did not disappoint. we still think about the pizza here every now and then. stonefire, thin crust, freshly made, just perfect,

other than the pizza, grounds are immaculate. beautiful beach views and lovely cottages. consider staying here if you're looking for a beautiful retreat in siargao. possibly the best i've seen so far in the island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This year, both our sons are officially teenagers and now every vacation feels like a slightly tamer version of the X-Games. After "getting our feet wet" at a man-made surf pool complex in Rizal, Philippines, we decided it was time to try Siargao. Siargao was recently listed by CNN as the 8th Best Surfing Spot in the World.

By a stroke of luck, Kalinaw popped up in our early research on Siargao. From the Siargao airport, there was a 45minute van ride to the resort. Pierre, one of the two French men who put up the resort, was there to pick up his father on the same flight. The main road consists of two lanes bookended on either side with views of mountains and open fields. We cut through its main town, General Luna, and 15 minutes later we were at the resort.

We met Fred, Pierre's business partner, at the resort. Each time we crossed paths during our 4 day stay, Fred made sure to ask how we were doing or what we had planned for the day. The reception area of the resort is a large pavilion that houses receiving/seating areas and the restaurant. At the end of the pavilion is a beautiful wide view of the sea and a little off to the left is a smaller pavilion where resort guests can enjoy the view while surfing - the internet.

The villa is the perfect example of quiet refinement. Each villa comes with its own short boardwalk leading up to a very spacious wooden front porch that comes with a lounge chair and a comfortable sofa and table seating arrangement. The resort sits in a bit of a cove and a shallow reef blocks the waves about 150 meters away. The result is that the water at the resort's shoreline is quiet for the most part but from the deck of your villa, you can see the waves break in the distance.

Inside, there is a clean-lined king-sized mock 4-poster bed. On the walls flanking the main bed are two sofa beds which come with their own beddings (upon request). The woven ceiling is high and really adds to the feeling that the room is much bigger than it is. The shower and sink area is accessed by a sliding wooden door at the back and is surprisingly spacious. The symmetry of the shower space calls your attention and it almost looks like a painting/professional photo setting. Two wooden slatted beds are on either side of the modern shower fixture and a wooden boardwalk leads up to the shower. The comfort room is completely set apart from the shower area. You have to walk across the room to go from the toilet to the shower area. That took some getting used to and based on cultural practice, my fellow Filipinos might find this off-putting. I think it wouldn't hurt to add a hand-held bidet spray to the bathrooms.

The room is completely air-conditioned but you have the option to slide the glass doors open and use the overhead fan. The room also comes with a passcode safe, cable tv, a personal refrigerator, and a really thoughtful dock and speakers for our iPod/iPhones.

The mattresses were just right, the pillows were lovely, the sheets were soft and smelled wonderfully clean, no commercial detergent smell.

The food. A bit on the expensive side for the entrees and whatnots, but I am not exaggerating when I say I could taste every single ingredient. The pepper was smoky, the tomatoes tasted like tomatoes and salt and pepper was always served in little metal pinch pots for those of us who have grown used to over-seasoned food. The brick oven pizza is the restaurant's specialty and we had them every night we were there. Delicious! My highlight of the day however, was the freshly baked french bread for breakfast. If you recall the description in "Ratatouille" of how to tell when bread is fresh and perfect . . . this was it. Aside from the surfing and the gorgeous accommodations, I miss the bread the most.

Getting to the best surfing spot in Siargao (Cloud 9) is about a 10-15 minute walk away but Cheche, the resort's all around concierge, is prepared to take care of EVERYTHING. We left everything in her hands from booking the surf instructors, transport, the boat rides etc. We simply told her what we wanted to do, and she took care of it. We usually prefer to negotiate the details of our activities and save money on boat fees etc. but Cheche was just so efficient and so helpful that this time, we decided to focus our efforts on enjoying our stay.

If I could nitpick about the resort, I would say that the free breakfasts that come with the room are simple Continental style fare, but delicious. So some might have a hard time dealing with a meatless morning meal. In the villas, the bathroom and shower area are walled off from the bedroom but the entire villa shares one ceiling, making it an open-air bathroom (from the top) of sorts. This could prove to be a little embarrassing for friends sharing a villa particularly if one is used to the privacy of a walled in toilet.

Siargao is an amazing surfing destination, absolutely. But even if we looked forward to our morning and afternoon surf sessions, we couldn't help but look forward to coming back to the resort at the end of every outing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalinaw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinaw Resort

Address: General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalinaw resort is the accomplished dream of two French guys who decided to leave Paris for a tropical life. Located 500 meters from world-famous surf spot Cloud 9, on the island of Siargao, in the Philippines, our resort is facing a peaceful lagoon. Both of us will be proud to introduce you to our little paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalinaw Resort Hotel Siargao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalinaw Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.