We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - like nowhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Camp Baringo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baringo District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Camp Baringo
Save
You added Island Camp Baringo to your Saves list
Ol Kokwe, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing - like nowhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend at Baringo. This was my second trip the last time I was there was around three years ago. Although we had a great time then it was nothing compared to this trip. A lot of work has been done to upgrade the facilities at the camp and the rooms now are nothing short of luxurious. Myself, husband and 3 year old daughter were staying in a truly beautiful room with an incredible uninterrupted view of the lake and our own dip pool which our daughter loved more than the big pool which she was very happy with until she got in this pool! We went out on a boat trip and saw tons of birds (some rare I am told!) giraffes, rock hyrax - all in the space of an hour or so. On the island we also saw an enormous monitor lizard! I am also told that crocs, hippos and ostrich are regular sightings. We also enjoyed the morning wake up calls organised by the owner at a time which suited us, which came with delivery of tea and juice. The sunsets were incredible as were the sunrises which you could watch from your bed. Finally the food is delicious. If you are lucky enough to have the opportunity I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Island Camp is a beautiful resort. Hidden away and a great holiday place. It definitely connects you to Mother nature. It is very hot during the day but the lovely breeze keeps you cool. The staff are well trained, food is excellent. A lot of activities for both adults and children, or can just relax at the pool. Watch the best sunsets & sunrises.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Island Camp has about 20 tents, set along the shore facing the lake. It was wonderful going to sleep and wake up with the sound of waves and birds singing. We have a pair of Madagascar bee-eaters perching and hunting from the tree right in front of our tent!

Staff are friendly and well trained. The camp was recommended to us by our agent, Africa Endorse, and we are really grateful that they did.

Activities include: bird walk on the camp site, boat ride to see birds on shore and fish eagle, day trip to Lake Bogoria (huge flocks of flamingos, a real spectacle), and long walk on the highland for bird watching. The camp arranged for guide and driver. All activities are reasonably priced. A tip for the boat ride: the best time is morning because the lake tends to very windy in the afternoon, and our boat ride in the afternoon was quite bumpy and a little scary.

Perrie Hennessy, who has been running the camp for 17 years, is a real fun character. Each evening, he would talk to guests about the activities for the next day and gave us some great itinerary planning ideas. Talking to Perry was never just small talks, but really fun.

During our stay, it happened to be a gourmet weekend, with two chefs flying from UK. Three course meal with wine pairings and organic, local ingredients, international cuisines, absolutely top notch quality and fantastic! If the event happens again and you happen to be there and need to pay extra, go for it, as it is worth it!

Room Tip: Tents at top of the hill have better, open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Island Camp is a very special spot, its location is stunning and the recent rise in lake levels makes it even more interesting to see. The recent renovations are fantastic and the level of comfort has gone from good to great as a result.
Food is always fresh and tasty, do not forget to take an extra bun at lunch time as you need to have enough to share with the multitude of weavers, horn bills and the mongoose (they like the bread buttered please).
The perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Travel in Africa these days too often means crowds and tourists and even more effort to simply experience the natural world that makes it a must destination for me. A trip to Island Camp at Lake Baringo brought a much-needed respite from it all with amenities and more. Any day that starts with a delightful wake-up with tea and biscuits in my tent as the sun is rising before me is a golden one. For we bird lovers, Lake Baringo is intoxicating with few rivals, and this trip did not disappoint.
Staff is warm and friendly, owners and management gracious and accommodating with no request too much trouble. Personally I find the jetty ride to the island only adds to the experience, and the next visit I will explore more around the island as well. An extravagant pool provided exercise as did the path to the tent and around the property (sensible shoes highly recommended). This was particularly appreciated after a week-end of overindulgence at one of their Gourmet Week-ends (which I would also highly recommend).
This will definitely be one of the gems I will frequent again and again.

Room Tip: Treating yourself to the spacious superior tents adds a private plunge pool to the experience. Mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed her with family and colleagues after a small scientific meeting in August, 2013. The camp is a mixed bag. It was recently renovated and upgraded and this definitely shows. Our rooms were newer, lodge style rather than the shelters containing tents. Our view was extraordinary. We felt like this was an island paradise and we were among a very few people lucky enough to be there at the time. Positives - location, views, ambiance, owners, value. Negatives - it is treacherous to walk around at night without a flashlight. The rising lake Baringo has flooded both the departure jetty and the arrival area which makes it a little tricky to get in and out. The food was not bad, but not wonderful either. All in all, this is an outstanding place that is on the upswing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick one of the newer rooms rather than the older tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at Island Camp with my two young children. The camp has a lot going for it in the way of very friendly and patient staff manning the boat on excursions, courteous and efficient management, and an utterly beautiful setting. I have been all over the Rift Vally, and this site is among the top venues for nature and views. It depends on what one wants, but you could easily spend an entire few days just relaxing out in the lake, fishing a bit, and enjoying the great weather. It's also a good location for birders.Top notch place.

Room Tip: There are two types of room: the old ones and the newly refurbished ones. Ask them what the offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Camp Baringo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Camp Baringo

Address: Ol Kokwe, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Baringo District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Baringo District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Island Camp Baringo Hotel Baringo District
Island Camp Baringo Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Camp Baringo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.