We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in a gorgeous location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Insight

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Insight to your Saves list
Insight
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahangama
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel in a gorgeous location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at Insight Hotel in Ahangama for two nights whilst on a tour of Sri Lanka. Hotel located right on a beautiful sandy white beach. Minimal tourists/locals on the beach whilst we were there. Rooms and bathrooms are average - but clean and more than adequate (with a great view of that beach from a decent sized balcony). Air-conditioning was excellent in the rooms.

Ate at the restaurant twice and we were more than satisfied. Bar staff were happy to serve us until late! We also enjoyed the pool a number of times and free WiFi available in an upstairs (non air-conditioned) room.

I have to agree with the below review re: tsunami evacuation plan. We were also staying in the hotel when the alert/evacuation occurred and it appeared that the hotel had no evacuation plan in place whatsoever (and staff were also unable to communicate any instructions or advice). Thankfully, our tour guide quickly returned to our hotel and immediately evacuated us!

Overall - hotel is a great 2-3 star hotel. Simple, but certainly satisfactory. I would happily recommended this hotel to the budget traveller.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
15
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This could be a great hotel. It's in a lovely location on a great stretch of beach however the rooms don't stand up to the idyllic location. Each time we left our room we'd duck underneath the parade of ants on our doorframe then spend a few minutes picking the jumpers off. Rooms are very basic, hostel standard - sheets were grotty, towels were threadbare, dirty, foul looking things. Beds were uncomfortable. Bathroom was smelly and dirty - no way was I having a shower there - On the upside the staff were universally lovely and accommodating. This could be a really nice hotel - if the beach it's on is heaven, this hotel is hell. The owner/manager, who was fab, did tell us that the hotel was due to close for a refurb so maybe they can turn it around?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchzarten
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Insight hotel when Tsunami Alarm was given (April 11, 2012). The management and staff were the first to leave. No coordinated evacuation plan. Guests left behind uninformed in their hotel rooms etc...Simply inacceptable!
Thanks to the help of the guard who left last, we got to a safe place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

No Wi-Fi today but tomorrow. Helpful staff. Cuisine, so-so (buffet-style) and smoking allowed in the dining room. A/C & fan in the self-contained, not so clean rooms; mosquito net over beds; two free bottles of water every day in each room. No TV but 24-7 insect documentary in the WC and a friendly gecko in the room. Swimming pool. Next to beach. Ayurvedic massage, or so they say. Avoid on Christmas day, as disco-style deafening carols will be played, even if nobody needs them. Some travelers complained they had no hot water in their room: I had mine changed, as the door wouldn't lock and my second room's shower just worked intermittently, either with very hot water or with nothing (the Egyptian-style hose by the WC seat came in handy to finish my shower).

Stayed December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Honestly, this was the worst of the many hotels I stayed in in Sri Lanka. I had ti search for staff in mid-afternoon. When I checked into my room, the bathroom was crawling with ants, and I do not mean just a few, but a few thousand! The rest of the room is very basic, with no phone for emergencies. The towels smelled horrible, as if they had been used and then just rehung.

Room lighting was awful, but that is not unusual in Sri Lanka. However, the hotel does warrant its 2-star rating... on a good day.

After two conversations with the manager, they sent a young man to spray my room, but I had to stay out most of the day due to the toxic vapors.

It is true that the hotel is in an ideal ovation, right on a gorgeous beach and the pool looked adequate.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanka
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The location is one of the best ever. Its on an isolated sandy strip. Unlike many boutique hotels with luxuries but crowded urban beaches, Ahangama is an area where disturbance is minimal. For sea bathers there is a coral strip up to which bathing is easy.
The hotel is a very average one with basic facilities. The rooms are poorly equipped. Poorly maintained but clean. Bedsheets were damp. No phone line and no TV. No music. No in room menu and no room service.
No welcome drink on arrival. They just take your bags in.
There were hidden costs. They charge for meals for children less than 4 years although they eat very little.
The service is average. You might have to demand a lot but i admit that they are flexible when it comes to meals. You could ask for certain things.
The meals were very good. Tasty and with variety.
The best things here for us were travelling there through the highway. Takes minimal time. As there were no crowds the resort was ours to spend. The exterioir was attractive.
The best part is the cost. Its dead cheap even for locals. The cost was Rs 8750.00 for full board double for locals. Fully worth. The cheapest rate we could find!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Insight Resort.

The hotel and its grounds are lovely - over looking the beach, and the stilt fisherman, great rooms, great pool, nice little area to play cricket!

The whole restaurant is open air, which is lovely at night as you can hear the waves crashing on the shore... just a bit frustrating with all the mozzies. The food was also really good - the buffet was very varied both nights, with really good selection, and the a la carte menu also has a big selection at a reasonable price.

The rooms are big, clean, comfortable with a decent shower (just let the water run for a while to get hot).

Onsite spa/massage centre is ok - reasonable prices, good selection of treatments.

Overall, a great stay - very friendly staff, good list of arrack cocktails and really nice atmosphere!

One word of warning - just be careful walking on the beach, there are a lot of drunks around and they get quite lairy when you try to take photos of the fishermen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Insight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Insight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.