We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Easy Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahangama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easy Beach
Save
You added Easy Beach to your Saves list
Ahangama, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Easy Beach is a great place, owned by a British couple so really good for information on the surrounding area & things to do if you are new to Sri Lanka as we were.
Very clean & the food was very good & well priced. We actually stayed here twice in Dec & Jan 2013/14 our 1st room had A/C which I would recommend just because it seemed to keep the mosquitoes to a minimum! Both of our rooms had mosquito nets but I was still bitten, maybe from evening time I am not sure
There is a pool which is nice but its not a ‘sit around’ pool, Christina uses it to teach local ladies to swim but its great for a dip when it gets too warm. There is a lovely garden area with sun beds, chairs & tables. Its right on the beach front but the beach is all rocks, you can’t use it (well not in Dec/Jan when we were there)
Christina & Mike are a lovely couple, they were always happy to help & it was great to sit & chat to them in the evenings over an ice cold lion beer
It’s a nice location with plenty of things to do round & about. Its about 10-15 mins from Koggala in a tuk tuk, there is a ‘high’ street you can go for a wonder & get a roti for less than 50p yummy
We enjoyed our time at Easy beach & would book again 

Room Tip: book a room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked Easy beach as our last stop on a 3 week trip and we were exicted about going there, unfortunately we were very disappointed. We chose it on the basis that it was surfer friendly, right on the beach with a surf break directly in front of the gardens and it had a nice pool. It was the worst place we stayed and none of this was true, the beach directly out the front is non existent, instead you have to clamber across rocks to a little beach further down where it is pretty impossible to swim because of the reefs. This would be OK if you could snorkel but it is super shallow. The super shallow reef is also why you are unable to surf, one of the other guests went for a paddle on their board to check it out and broke a fin on the reef.

The pool at easy beach is above the ground rather than a nice sunken pool that you can have fun jumping in too. They do have a pump to do a fast lane but they charge for guests to use this (one of the additional charges!!).

The people who run easy beach are a retired English couple who use the pool to teach Sri Lankan women and children to swim. They don't do this in the main tourist season and this is a great thing to do but we felt that this was their priority and rather than their guests. The Sri Lankan staff were really friendly and nice.

Our room at Easy Beach had a lovely view but the room itself was dark, dingy and dated. The one pillow we had each was really flat, just a hint of a pillow. We asked for a couple more and they only had one spare. All the other guests must have felt the same as everyone took the cushions off the dining chairs. They also did not have enough towels to replace the dirty ones with laundered clean ones but we had to wait for them to be washed and dried. This is not too much of a problem but one of things that contributed to us feeling we were subsidising the swimming lessons. In addition the bathroom wasn't cleaned and we had to ask for more toilet paper.

The breakfast of 2 slices of toast and a SMALL portion of fruit was poor compared to everywhere else where we got eggs and LOTS of fruit. When we asked about this we were told 'good for you' by the owner and that this is not what is offered a Easy Beach. Eggs for breakfast were an additional cost! The lunch food was really over priced, a sandwich costing the same price as an evening meal elsewhere.

We weren't given any useful local information. There was a paper file with info such as some surf breaks and train times but this was not backed up with local knowledge such as a certain break working on different swells or kabalana being a great beach to spend the day. We were left to find this out ourselves....usually via the tuktuk drivers.

Easy beach is a good location for the local surf breaks but you are better off staying somewhere else such as the places at kabalana beach or 'surf villas'. We would have moved if we hadn't payed in advance as requested.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Manager at Easy Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are very sorry that our guests should be disappointed. We thought we had consigned all ‘flat’ pillows to seat cushions and responded immediately to this one, offering an extra pillow at once as we thought we had nice, fat, plump ones on all the beds. We will definitely also increase our reserve of towels, as well as pillows. As to surfing directly in front of the Guest House, we feel our website description is pretty fair: "There are two perilous reef breaks right in front of Easy Beach, only for the brave and expert/advanced level surfers". The website then goes on to describe all the sites close-by, by name, level and distance.

Our complimentary breakfasts are marketed as light continental, consisting of a cup of tea or coffee, two slices of thick, fresh crusty toast, jam, butter and fruit, on sale to non-residents for just two Euros. As a government ‘A’ Class, fully licensed establishment we, and the majority of our guests, consider our prices modest and appropriate for the category. We cannot comment on what might be offered at informal, local, unlicensed establishments in the area.

Regarding our charity, www.icanswimcanyou.com, locals drowning in Sri Lanka is epidemic. Our swimming pool was a gift to the charity by the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Pending the building of a permanent pool for the hotel, we allow guests to swim in it as a concession. The swim current generator uses 5KW of very expensive electricity every second, so it is used sparingly for simulating rip tides and fast flowing river currents for our new and inexperienced swimmers. We fund our local Sri Lankan teachers as part of the micro-economic empowerment of women to redress the fact that 90% of the islanders are non-swimmers.

Above all else, we consider satisfied holiday-makers to be our top priority so, Chris, thank you for alerting us to these issues, preferring as always, to have them discussed live, at the time of the event. We’d like to end with a quote from your other two companions in our Guest Book: "Thank you for a lovely week. Great base with good surf either side. Best wishes, L and S".
Our very last word: please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Easy Beach in Ahangama is a lovely Place to stay for relaxing, meeting nice people, having a family flair but also having the possibility of privacy. We stayed there for two nights and returned later on after a bad experience at clearwater, maledives because our time was so wonderful at Easy Beach. So we stayed for further five nights which was the best decision while our three weeks in Sri Lanka.
Christina and Mike, an English couple leading the guesthouse since two seasons, are very friendly and helpful with a strong local social commitment. E.g. they're successfully running a swimming project enabling Sri Lankan girls and women to learn swim and float (www.icanswimcanyou.com).

The house has an open inviting architecture facing the seeside all the time, a comfortable restaurant, a nice garden with stable sunhats and wooden sunloungers in excellent shape. Palmtrees, a hammock, swinging loungechairs and the big pool give you various options to easily chill out.

The rooms are simple with good beds under a moskito net. You will find enough holds for towls, a safe, shelf, chairs and a lounge table inside. A van is functionally installed and windows, doors and bathroom ventilations carry moskito prevention. The very clean bathroom is a bit old fashioned but quite big and functional with a huge walk in shower. Warm water at all time. The balcony in front of the room is furnitured and has ocean view and sound. Rooms are serviced every day.

As you can read in other comments, the sea has taken away the sandy beach right in front of the place.
With a few steps over rocks and a 50 m walk on sand to the right you can access a small local sandy beach, good for a swim. To stay on the beach for the day, we recommend other beaches around (eg. Welligama)

Restaurant and Service:
Good English breakfast is offered (toast, eggs, fruits, tea, bacon, yoghurt,...).
The inbetweens like toasties, wraps, fries and fruits are very tasty.
The curry is one of the best we have eaten in Sri Lanka.
You will also find very tasty european meals on the menu.
There is a dart board next to the bar.
The service is very friendly, english speaking and has a hands on mentality.
The staff is just gorgeous.

ATMs, shops, pharmacy and local priced ayuvedic massage are in walking distance.

Surfing - conditions:
Surfers are very welcome at Easy Beach and there are a few custom boards. size 7,4 to 5,9 for rent (1000 Rps / day). Bring your leash, plug-cord and wax. Genereally speaking surf accessory is hard to get.
Surfing directly on the right side of easy beach is only for surfers with reef experience.
Also close by spot Wedigama is a left hander reef break.
Beginners should take a tuktuk (1000 Rps also take you back) to Welligma beach, which is all sandy and various options to rent a surf board for 300 Rps / hour or 1500 / day. The tukuk ride takes about 10 min.
Also surf lessons are available.

Thank you Christina and Mike for this wonderful days and comfortable warm time! All the best for you and your guesthouse - we would love to catch up in cologne ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights around christmas. Easy beach is a really nice small hotel with 8 rooms, all facing the sea. The rooms are kind of simple, but clean with a spaceius (for being in sri lanka) bathroom. We ate most of our meals at their resturant becasue the lack of other resturants in ahangama. But we didn't bother since the food was great at easy beach. Best Rice and curry so far in sri lanka. During our stay the price was 850 Rs vegetarian and 950 Rs with chicken. Big portions that will even feed an hungry surfer. The surfspot just infront of the hotel is sutiable for experienced surfers, but just 10 min tuktuk ride away is weligama, a great beginner beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The outdated website is misleading and is awaiting transfer from the previous owners. Easy Beach is now owned by Christine and Mike Fonsé and they run a simple, clean and friendly guest house which gives good service in a relaxed atmosphere. Ask Christine about her excellent swimming project for local women. She has a swimming pool set up for this, which is for guest use too. The view is great - straight out to sea, framed by palms, though access to the beach is a bit more awkward and you might be better strolling up the high street for a few minutes to get to it. There is good access to banks, markets, bus and train all within a few minutes walk.
Good value and we enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: We took a downstairs room but our travelling companion took one upstairs that had better views, own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a super stay at Easybeach over New Year. It is a lovely guesthouse near Weligama and a hidden gem we were lucky to find. We were looked after by Christine and her family who were always so helpful and careful to make sure we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. We also feasted on the best curries we had while in Sir Lanka, cooked by the lovely Pauline.

We want to thank you all for making our stay so fab!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face out to see and are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

... about Easy Beach Guesthouse is the out-of-date website. While Easy Beach is definitely a charming and well-run guesthouse, it is no longer the surfer pad one is led to believe when looking up the website.

Ownership has changed in April/May 2012, so now the place is run by the English hosts Christina and her husband Mike - and while I was there her son Jamie was manning the bar. Christina and her family are no surfers but are running a learn-to-swim charity for Sri Lankan women and the guesthouse are the headquarters of the noble cause.

I had a wonderful weekend stay at Easy Beach but was a bit disappointed that there were not as many surfboards for rent as I had expected after looking it up on the web.

The room was spotless, breakfast is included in the roomrate. The restaurant offers delicious meals for lunch and dinner. The local staff is very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a clean and quiet place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easy Beach

Address: Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Easy Beach Hotel Ahangama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.