We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort By The Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Point Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added South Point Villa to your Saves list
South Point Villa
(16 km past Galle City) | Kathaluwa, Ahangama, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Resort By The Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed at South Point Villa during the second week on Nov 2009. Had a wonderful experience. The staff were incredible. It was a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We had complete privacy. This is definetly a hidden treasure. Would love to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We had a fantastic holiday at South Point over Xmas / New Year - we were looking for sunshine, sea and sand in a beautiful location and we got it!
there are two villas - each individually charming and we actually stayed in both. Although they are next door they are very private from each other. They are fully staffed and we were very well attended to during our stay.
The setting is delightful and literally right on the beach. there is a wonderful stretch of beach approx 800m long with fine white sand and a gentle surf which was great fun and felt very safe.
There is a chef at the villa for meals and we also ate out in Galle and at some of surrounding beaches such as Mirrisa and Unawatuna which have great casual restaurants right on the beach.
Sonali who owns the villas was extremely helpful, reliable and easy to deal with on line.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This is our return visit to South Point after 2 years. This time we stayed at the Villa, which is the property adjoining the Abbey. The villa is spacious and upmarket with great bathroooms ,bedrooms and furnishings. We spent most of our time on the verandah which faces the sea. Its the perfect place to take breakfast , sip an afternoon drink and eat dinner by candlelight. As we found previously, the staff wil lmeet youir every need, even anticipating your needs. Prema is the gorgeous housekeeper who unbeknown to you will have your wet beach towels and costumes drying before you know it. Janaka is the chef. He is not only a great cook, but a very gentle man with a great smile. Who would stay in a hotel when you can get the best service in a grand location !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed at South Point Villa for 2 days with my family and extended family. By far, it is one of the best holiday villas I have stayed in. The service, food and overall atmosphere was amazing!

The view is what really caught me off guard. I wasn't expecting to see such a beautiful sight, right in the backyard, but I did. At night, you can see the lights from the ships at sea, and hundreds of stars overhead! At sunrise...words can't even explain the beauty!!

I would, without doubt, recommend South Point Villa to anyone wanting to get away from the rush of everyday life, or to those just wanting a vacation : )

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We'd only been at the Abbey a day before we were plotting our return. A hotel holiday wouldn't compare after having experienced a beach house, with tropical landscaped gardens and infinity pool at our disposal, and with the sea mere metres away. We thought we'd find having several staff, including two chefs, intrusive but Dinesh, Janaka and the gang helped make our holiday something special. Everyday the chefs served up fantastic meals with local seafood sourced from the Indian Ocean outside our door. For us, the traditional architecture of the 3-bedroom Abbey lent an exotic air. Bedrooms were quite big, each with its own sizeable ensuite and they all seemed relatively new. The combination off all these factors plus the location (about 30 minutes drive to Galle) and sea views give the Abbey two big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We had a family trip (children aged 11, 8 and 7) to Sri Lanka and spent our final days at South Point Villa. On our arrival there, we immediately felt at home. The staff were fabulous anticipating our every whim , the chef provided us with the best food that we had eaten in the whole of Sri Lanka and and everything was done effortlessly (or so it seemed to us!). The rooms were spotless and bathrooms enormous with a good supply of hot water (not something we found elsewhere on our trip). The living area is also great, although most of our time was spent on the terrace, in the pool or on the beach. My kids loved playing with Lisa (the dog which does not have to be part of the house if you are not dog-friendly) and the rabbits which roamed freely in the garden, whilst my husband and I relaxed without a care in the world.
There is nothing to do in the area immediately round the villa - apart from stroll on the beach and watch the fishermen at work - but Galle is a 20 min drive away. That said, once we were at the villa, we were more than happy to stay put (and would have stayed longer had it not been for our flights home!)
South Point provides pure luxury in a wonderful environment. It is the perfect place to unwind, forget about the outside world and be rejuvenated.
We will be going back to South Point for another trip soon and Iwould recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I would recommend this to anyone as it would suit all age groups.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Villa

Address: (16 km past Galle City) | Kathaluwa, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Villa is a 3-bedroom luxury villa on the beach, with private pool. Large garden steps down to a golden beach. Two bedrooms and sitting areas have stunning views of the ocean. From veranda 15 meters to the beach. Perfect for beach holidays. Ideal for couples, friends and families. Children welcome. Excellent for swimming in year round warm waters within the reef opposite the villa. Caters exclusively to those in search of absolute privacy, peace and tranquility. Fully staffed with a personal Chef excellent at gourmet dishes. A manger on call. Vehicle with driver kept standby 24 hrs. For larger groups adjoining property South Point Abbey available. Staying at South Point Villa will be like staying in your own private beach holiday home. The holiday will be tailored to your needs. Just let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your South Point Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Villa Hotel Ahangama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Point Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.