We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tranquil place to unwind!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosvold Villa by Jetwing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mosvold Villa by Jetwing to your Saves list
Mosvold Villa by Jetwing
Ahangama, Galle, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Perfect tranquil place to unwind!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent value for the money. We spent 2 nights here as a weekend break from the bustle of Colombo. A tranquil place to relax, lounge by the large pool adn take in the beautiful views out across the ocean and coastline. The villa was tastefully furnished, very clean. The rooms spacious and the gardens well maintained. The staff friendly and helpful and the food was simply divine. The chef, Mr De Silva, prepared the meals of our choice and after my 6 years living in Sri Lanka as an expat, I can recommend the quality was to a higher standard than some of the finest restaurants on the island. As yet, the hotel does not have a liquor license however; they kindly offered to send someone to get our own supplies. A nice stretch of beach but the sea was a little rough and if you are not a strong swimmer they suggest walking a little further round the coast. We had one small recommendation, to have in-room tea and coffee making facilities made available. The manager advised this was already under discussion. We enjoyed our time there so much that we have booked another weekend, hopefully trying out the Honeymoon Suite.

Room Tip: Other than the Honeymoon Suite, all the rooms seem to offer the same features, ground level with vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you just want to relax and just chill near the pool with a good book this is the place to come. We were group of eight with young kids. The entire hotel was virtually to us with absolute privacy. Great location (not very far from Galle and quite close to Unawatuna). The staff was accommodating at all times. Rooms were excellent. The honeymoon suit was great with its individual Jacuzzi overlooking the pool and outdoor shower. The food was delicious and made to order. The evenings were great near the pool side bar. Note since the hotel does not have a liquor license it is wise to carry your own booze. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely eight room hotel located at a scenic cove in Southern Sri Lanka. Rooms are large and well appointed. Great for a relaxed homely holiday. Food is adequate. Service requires improvement. For example, bottles, glasses and cluttered table in lounge area uncleared from previous night and we had to ask staff to clean up area before we could sit down to morning coffee. Staff are pleasant but considers various aspects of service "specialized". The waiter serving drinks will not clean tables; the security guard will not help with baggage. Wheel chair access is daunting (as in many hotels in Sri Lanka) beginning with a steep ramp up from driveway. Then access to every room requires a step up. BYOB as hotel does not have liquor license or does not provide alcohol, but there is no corkage charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If its in you budget possibilities, it is a definite choice. The place and the staff make you feel like you are royalty (of course it helped that we were the only guests), the setting is amazing, you can surf and get lessons just 100m down the beach. And of course, the food is amazing, and that only because its hard to find a better adjective :-) The rooms are well thought through, the bathroom is spectaculat, there are lots of sockets etc. Pool great, Bar great, everything great :-)

To get the downsides, at this price tag they really shouldnt skim on the TV channels and pay for HBO and so on. Also the WiFi is not really reliable and there are frequent power cuts - perhaps a generator wouldnt hurt. Also the absence of spa area or atleast a designated place to take massages (can be arranged through staff) is a bummer and something to think about. Also a new pub/disco was opening beside the villa just as we were there and it was quite disturbing.

Room Tip: All the 6 rooms seem very similar, perhaps its best to be on the far right (facing the sea) as on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stay at Mosvold Villa was wonderful. Fears of being too isolated with our family of four disappeared with the sea before us, a lovely pool and staff that was always there when needed, but not obtrusive. We actually all relaxed. We talked. We ate lovely quiet meals by the sea. We jumped waves and swam (strong current, so good swimmers can fully enjoy the adventure, but hold on tight to any children under 12). There was scuba diving available not far away, and other places to have lively meals if wanted on the road along the sea. Galle an easy excursion, we went in the afternoon, walked all around, watched a lovely sunset and were back at the villa for dinner.

Room Tip: There are only about 12 rooms at present and our room with the kids was on the far end which was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahangama, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited the Mosvold Villa in late March and experienced the most wonderful time of our lives. The views of the ocean, palm trees and landscaping were fantastic. The ocean is warm but can have strong under currents, (caution is needed for less capable swimmers). The beaches are quiet, very good and clean. The staff are very knowledgeable regarding the swim and snorkle areas. We spent our days in a peaceful and very relaxed environment. Meals were served in a place of our choosing and dinner by candlelight, beautiful and romantic. The hospitality staff were highly courteous, nothing was too much trouble. This ensured our stay was totally relaxed and carefree. In addition to the trip, the staff planned, coordinated and managed a beautiful wedding ceremony for us. We WILL be returning to what we believe to be a simply perfect place for us. Thanks to all the staff of the Mosvold Villa, this by far has been the best vacation experience of our lives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor on Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. It was our honor to host, plan and coordinate your wedding and you will always hold a special place at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing as the first couple to get married at the property. We are glad that the ceremony went off as planned and we were able to be a part of your special day.

Apart from the beautiful ceremony we enjoyed having you with us, and I am glad you enjoyed the environment and the property as a whole along with the associates and their service. Mosvold Villa by Jetwing is whatever you choose it to be, looking for an ideal location to relax and unwind or a place for you to come and stay and enjoy the Indian Ocean and the diverse environment around Ahangama in the South of Sri Lanka, Mosvold Villa by Jetwing is ideal for you.

I will pass on your compliments to the entire team and I am sure they will be delighted to have feedback from you. The entire team look forward to having you back very soon.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high peak, derbyshire, uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

OK I suppose but not recommended!
Though situated in a pleasant location the hotel is not conveniently located being over 30 minutes drive from Galle. The rooms are rather basic and life at Mosvold Villa is not all that it might be.
During our stay, whilst the staff all tried to be helpful it was clear that some were new recruits and still getting the hang of things. Our room was poorly appointed and despite repeated requests it took until the second day of our visit before we had a working fridge. Meals were not well organised and it was difficult to find out what was on offer and indeed just what was possible. Breakfast took a considerable time, most requests had to be repeated.
There are better places!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. It was our pleasure having you with us, even though you seem to have had a few issues with your stay at the property. I am quite surprised by your comments as every guest who has visited the property had only extremely positive things to say about Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, and its service reflected by the other Trip Advisor comments as well. I am sure there is an explanation for your concerns about the property which I promise I will look in to personally. Thank you for your feedback, as it will only help us make the team at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing stronger and more efficient.

We hope you decide to visit us again n the future as we would like you to experience the magical Mosvold Villa by Jetwing experience. Thank you again for leaving us your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosvold Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosvold Villa by Jetwing

Address: Ahangama, Galle, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along Sri Lanka’s famous south coast, lies a sleepy coastal hamlet seemingly lost in time. The village of Ahangama is one of the island’s best kept secrets and tucked away amidst its palm lined shores you will find a luxurious sanctuary by the sea, Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, Ahangama. The 6 rooms are available to separate travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mosvold Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.