We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosvold Villa by Jetwing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mosvold Villa by Jetwing to your Saves list
Mosvold Villa by Jetwing
Ahangama, Galle, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent four days and nights relaxing in this lovely new hotel. The spacious sea-view room was clean and beautifully decorated with deep blue silk accents. We enjoyed our breakfasts, included in the room cost, and the delicious dinners prepared to our taste by chef Silva. We lolled in the pool and rested in the air-conditioned room. The attentive staff checked in with us regularly and arranged a trip to a nearby tea plantation, which gave us a peek into the surrounding village. The only down-side is that the hotel is located about a 30 minute drive from Galle.

The Mosvold Villa looks out on a beautiful coral-and-white-sand beach in Ahangama. The surf directly in front of the hotel is pretty rough, but there's a nice spot for body-surfing a short walk up the beach. Weaker swimmers should be careful of the strong littoral current off-shore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you had a fantastic holiday with us at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. As the General Manager it is always pleasing to hear from a guest who has experienced such a wonderful time at this beautiful 6 bed room property on one of the most beautiful beach stretches in Ahangama, in the South of Sri Lanka.

The tea plantation in Ahangama is one of the many excursions you can be involved in during your stay at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. The whale watching in Mirissa, a visit to a turtle hatchery, or feel like just taking a river safari, you can keep yourself occupied with these excursions plus much more during your stay with us. The team at the property is very flexible and easy, and will helping you deciding which one of Chef Silva’s dishes to try or giving you a list of the fresh seafood available on the day. This personalized service makes the difference between just an average holiday and an unforgettable holiday that only makes you want to come back, and we have identified this and our staff work towards making every guest’s experience an unforgettable one.

I thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is extremely valued and will go towards developing the team further. The entire team and I look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed there for a night in late Feb and loved it! The food was great and the service superb! The beach in front of the property is also one of the best in the country and we were able to wade in about 60-80m.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive comments posted on Trip Advisor on your recent visit to Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. It is an ideal location to take in a truly beautiful setting while being looked after by our extremely dedicated team of staff. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the beautiful beach and the stunning Indian Ocean.

We eagerly look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest holidays we have had and a lot of it has to do with Mosvold Villas, especially the staff and management of Jetwings.

My husband and I were travelling with our 2 year old daughter over Chinese New Year, and 2 days before we left Singapore, we were told that there had been a mixup over our hotel bookings and essentially - we had no where to stay. Considering that we were going to reach SL in the middle of the night and then travel 2 hrs to the hotel; this was disastrous!

Since the first hotel booking was with jetwings, they took it upon themselves to ensure that all was sorted out before we landed. They gave us the room at MV, arranged alternate acco at Era Beach till the MV room was ready and at all times, kept in touch with us on the phone assuring us that all was going well.

That would have been enough for me to be a loyal fan, but the experience at the villa took it so much further! Its very charming, each room overlooks the sea, the food is fantastic and the service is so very hospitable. Every morning, the chef would give us a choice of local or international breakfasts. Then he and my husband would have long discussions on how the prawns / fish ... was going to be cooked!

The afternoons were spent on the beach, which is a hidden gem. Nothing prepares you for how warm the water is, how silky the sand and how clean the beach. You don't even have seaweed!!

The best of all is the service. Everyone was efficient, warm, friendly and very helpful. Travelling witha 2 year old makes you appreciate that so much more.

I don't know when I will get a chance to go back to Mosvold, but I will definitely try out the other Jetwing properties in SL, whenever I get a chance. If the experience is half as good, it'll be great!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled you your holiday was excellent and you and your family were able to enjoy your stay at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. After the slight problem faced with your reservation, which I want to apologize for, I am extremely happy it was all comfortable for you from there. We knew you were arriving with your daughter and we knew we had to do everything from our end to make your holiday as smooth as possible and I am glad we were able to do so.

Mosvold Villa by Jetwing is located on a fabulous beach stretch, with the famous stilt fishermen to the left and a surf point to the right of this stunning property. It is an ideal location for a peaceful holiday and like you mentioned, the high end service we work hard to deliver to all our guests along with the beauty that surrounds the property is what makes it a truly fantastic experience.

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff, and in particular our Chef who takes great pride in making every meal. He is great with all our guests, taking time to explain to discuss the preparations they prefer. The entire team at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing offer very caring and personalized service to all our guests, and this is the secret behind the service we always hear great things about. I will pass on your compliments to the entire team at the property.

Thank you for your comments once again and for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor. The entire team and I look forward to having you back with us when your travels bring you to Sri Lanka.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hidden paradise set on one of the best beaches in Sri Lanka. Great personalized service which made us feel like royalty. Great specious rooms with all the facilities. The pool fronting the beach is magnificent and the food we had was great.

Take your own alcohol As the villa does not have a liquor license yet. No additional charges.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sri Lanka spoils you for choice if you are looking for a resort with a beach frontage. Mosvold Villa is a stand out. I recently spent a day at the Villa for lunch and dinner. With its long stretch of pristine private beach, customized service and amazing food and drinks, my experience there was nothing short of fabulous! The rooms are plush and spotless, and the bathrooms are perfectly designed for use after beach and pool time. I noticed that the staff is keen to serve the freshest seafood and you are thankful for this attention to detail when you sink your teeth in to giant juicy grilled prawns and sip crab bisque that’s full of natural flavours. The rice and curry is also excellent and I found that each dish had a creative element that made for an exciting culinary experience. I admit my favorite spot was the bar. The bartender is fantastic at catering to your taste and concocting fresh tropical juices and cocktails throughout the day. Mosvold Villa is heavenly in the evenings with the staff ensuring that the atmosphere is pleasing and peaceful. It’s the perfect place to relax and enjoy all the wonderful things that the sun, sand and beach have to offer in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor, it was a pleasure to hear about your delightful experience at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing. Your experience is exactly what we are after providing every guest who visits the property, a very personal and exclusive experience with a smile. The entire team at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing have been trained to offer the high standards of service we expect from every associates and I am glad to hear that they are doing exactly that.

The property is located in front of an amazing stretch of beach in Ahangama in the South of Sri Lanka, and we welcome everyone to stop by and enjoy this truly unique and personal experience, try some of the fresh seafood of the day (our Chef will be happy to share the options with you) while taking in one of the most stunning locations in Southern Sri Lanka.

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you back when your travels bring you to Ahangama.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattala, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed a day with my family, It felt like home with every luxury close to nature, the kind of place one would like to get away and switch off from the rest of the world. The swaying coconut trees, the greenery, the soft and clean sea sand, the pole fishing in cristal clear and clean water in addition to the fully loaded ammenities of this beautifully designed villa on one of the most unique beach properties on the coast.

The bar by the pool and the variety of food cooked to perfection and tropical drinks, spacious rooms, comfy lounge area etc... simply made our stay fantastic. Definetely comming back for more.

The staff and managers of this villa we so very professional and were a of a class of their own.

Thank you guys for making our stay extra special without too much effort. Simply Amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We heard about this place from a friend who visited this villa. When we arrived, we was pleasantly surprised of the well laid out villa with open spaces. All the rooms are large and well designed. Very comfortable beds and large bathrooms. All rooms were facing the amazing turquoise waters of Ahangama beach. This stretch of beach is private and has all the natural features packaged into one location. You get a good surf, its very safe to swim and an area that is ideal for snorkelling. The staff here are very friendly and provide a personalised service. Unlike in most big hotels, I had the flexibility of having my meals when I wanted to in any location within the property. My favourite moment was watching the beautiful sunset, whilst sipping a glass of wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you had an amazing stay at Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, and I also want to thank you for sharing your feedback and leaving us a review on Trip Advisor. As the General Manager it is very nice to hear that the entire team there looked after all your needs as I believe that the level of service can determine the difference between just an average property and something which is excellent. I am happy the team is doing their part in making it a fantastic experience for our guests.

The location of the villa means that a guest has a choice of what they would like to do to spend their days at the property. Mosvold Villa by Jetwing has a fantastic stretch of beach, there is also a surf point, and during the season it becomes the perfect location for a snorkel or swim. If you feel like a change you could also choose to take a dip in our crystal clear fresh water pool, or spend the day lounging on a beach bed while reading your favorite book while enjoying a special creation of our popular chef or even just enjoying a fresh juice. The amazing sunsets that can be seen from the villa is absolutely breath taking and is a favorite among the wide variety of guests that do come to the villa.

Thank you for your feedback once again, and I do look forward to welcoming you back to Mosvold Villa by Jetwing.

Ayubowan
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosvold Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosvold Villa by Jetwing

Address: Ahangama, Galle, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along Sri Lanka’s famous south coast, lies a sleepy coastal hamlet seemingly lost in time. The village of Ahangama is one of the island’s best kept secrets and tucked away amidst its palm lined shores you will find a luxurious sanctuary by the sea, Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, Ahangama. The 6 rooms are available to separate travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mosvold Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosvold Villa by Jetwing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.