We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walawa Safari Village

Walawa Safari Village
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uda Walawe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walawa Safari Village
Save
You added Walawa Safari Village to your Saves list
Canal Road, Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've read some of the reviews and it seems to be a little bit hit and miss which if we had read them before we might have been put off from staying there

However we stayed there for the one night and we had a really enjoyable stay. The hotels in Uda walawe as stated in the Lonley planet are of shocking value. In some respects it might be better off travelling from Mirrisa or tangalle and making a day of it like that.

We spent an hr in a jeep looking for a place to stay because they were all terrible. This was the only one that was clean (very important to my girlfriend). The rooms were of a good standard and the beds were really comfortable. If you want real value for money then I would suggest you get the food included in the price. The owner was flexible on the price as well. They arranged the safari for us at 4000 rupees and the best times to go are at 6am or in the evening

In a nutshell... Superb food, extremely friendly and helpful staff, most definitely better than the other hotels there, a little expensive but you have a pool and excellent service from staff. I would definitely recommend this place!!!

Btw don't use the jeeps to go to the hotels and whatever you do, DONT got to the THIEVES at the Eco resort hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent stay. Helpful staff who were keen to assist with a safari tour. Clean and basic room and good pool. safari was good but don't expect to see wild cats! uda walawe is worth a trip if Galla is closed. Need transport via car or tuc-tuc to reach this one. Views are spectacular. Food was super.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We spent one night here as part of a safari to Uda Walawe and were glad it wasn't any longer. The rooms are miniscule, shabby and very dark. The food was pretty good though the hotel tends to cater for tour parties. We turned up for lunch and were given a buffet - fortunately it was fresh when we arrived but when a large tour party turned up it had been sitting in luke warm conditions for an hour plus. Our drinks bill the following day nearly made us weep - 20 pounds sterling for a few pineapple juices and three beers. And all the staff clearly expected tips. There must be better places in the area to stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

This is such an unfortunate hotel. We could not find anywhere to stay
around and near park, this was nearest but there was only around 10
people total staying here out of around 55 rooms. It was very odd. The
rooms were ok but no way worth the price. The food quite good but was put
off by huge rats running around in corrugated roof.
The Park was great but would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walawa Safari Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walawa Safari Village

Address: Canal Road, Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uda Walawe National Park
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Walawa Safari Village Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Walawa Safari Village Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walawa Safari Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.