We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uda Walawe National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Udawalawe national park, Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Tildonk
1 review
“Expensive but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked one night with two safaris. The tents were very well accommodated but the National Park fell short. A safari is just not a must see when going to Sri Lanka.
We also found the stay on the expensive side mostly because we were under the impression we would be staying inside of the park or at its borders but not on a random field 40 minutes away.
The reception and food was nice what is to be expected for the price but they charged us heavily for an Arrack taster. One other thing that bothered us was that the called so many times to confirm the meeting point even a couple hours in advance to make sure we would arrive in time. Even though we were more then punctual.

Room Tip: If you'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience. We are certainly glad to hear that you have enjoyed the service, food and your overall stay with us. We noted the comments about the safari and it seems that what you have anticipated in seeing on the game drive fell short of your expectations, perhaps what you anticipated and what the national park offers is different. Udawalawe national park is more for viewing elephants and birds and not so much for leopard as with other parks. Our campsite is actually located on the border of the park allowing visitors to view many birds that are rare within the premises. We are concerned that you were not completely satisfied with the value proposition, and your comments are taken as feedback for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights on a luxury basis. The warm welcome we received was wonderful and as we arrived when it was quite dark we were led through the camp by torchlight, we were given cold towels to refresh ourselves and also a glass of juice, we were then shown to our tents at which point we were told about "the little yellow frogs". The tents were adequate and a mosquito net was provided, which is where I came across my first yellow frog!! (The frogs are not dangerous)

As has been said in previous comments there is no hot water to shower in unless you have a shower at lunchtime, by which time the sun has heated the water in the tank up on the rock, but be quick because it soon runs cold.

The food that was presented to us was of good quality and as one of us is a "fussy" eater we checked daily as to what we were having and if for whatever reason we didn't like/want it then the manager kindly suggested other things. The only downside to the food was that it was sometimes cold on arrival at the table.

All the staff were very attentive and sometimes this could be over bearing but it was meant with the best intentions. On our last day we were given a feedback form, we did feedback about the food sometimes being cold and we thought that it was because the kitchen was so far away from the dining areas. Having been on safaris previously we also thought it would be a good idea to have whistles in the tents for emergencies especially at night time, as we were told that staff were around at night but obviously we didn't see them.

Due to the government stopping campsites from being in the actual reserve we were having to travel 25-30 minutes each way to reach the reserve which was a bit of a let down but we didn't let it spoil our experience, our driver was brilliant, he was always smiling and our naturalist was friendly and tried to answer all our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We thank you for taking time and providing valuable feedback . We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Mahoora in Udawalave. As you would understand we take every aspect of your feedback seriously so that we continue to uplift our service standards and delivery in delighting every single customer of ours. As such your feedback in every sense is precious.
We thank you for the appreciation shown for our staff and service rendered by them. We have noted couple of areas mentioned by you about the “yellow frogs” inside the tent. This would have been the result of a door being opened , even if it is for short period of time, the tendency is for them to find a colder place inside the tent thus ending up inside. As such we suggest our clients to keep the doors closed at all times, as the surrounding environment consists of amphibians , insects etc.

On the concern of Hot water, as we promise we do provide hot water , however we believe in this instance our staff may have not informed you that you need to run the water for a few minutes for the hot water to be effective.

We regret to notice that you were not entirely satisfied with the food service and the selection in the menu. We thank you for the feedback as this would help us to enhance our delivery standards. Please accept our apologies concerning the above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our safari. Both were excellent, with great drivers and guides. Our welcome was lovely and delivered as promised and a lovely Sri Lankan lunch was provided. Our only disappointment was the evening meal and lack of hot water. We were promised a chef to cook us a BBQ and cater for our needs, unfortunately this was night quite delivered. And so therefore felt the price was to high for promises in the itinary that could not be kept too. I would still recommend this to anyone as overall I was very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Mahoora Udawalave. We are happy to note that your overall experience has been to your satisfaction .We noted that you were not entirely satisfied with the evening meal, we have taken the your feedback into account for improvement of our services. As for the Hotwater, the system is developed in such a way that the water must run for a few minutes for the hot water to be effective, we are not very sure if this was communicated to you clearly as we do have the provision at all times. Once again we thank you for your feedback and we hope you will return to savour the Mahoora experience in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed one night at the camp in May, it was the best meal we had in over 4 months of traveling in Asia. The camp is basic, we have certainly stayed at better camps in Africa but the service is first class. The staff could not do enough for us. The five course meal was superb. I requested vegetarian meals and they were divine, I'd go back just to have the Brown Soup. Details were certainly attended to: tea after the safari, flashlights, wine with meals, mosquito netting in place, great picnic style breakfast, small present when you depart. The safari team were lovely; driver always slowed down when we were taking pictures, the naturalist was a wealth of information and spoke excellent English. Plenty of elephants, and birds. We found Sri Lanka to be overpriced, but the Mahoora Camp Site did deliver exactly what they promised and in style, we'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place was great. The safari itself was fantastic, we saw so many elephants, monkeys, eagles and tons of other birds. The staff was very knowledgeable and were really good about spotting the tiniest creatures at any distance. The campsite was beautiful, and the food was amazing. The employees really seemed to take pride in their work and seemed genuinely concerned with ensuring our enjoyment. It was totally worth the money. I would recommend this to everyone I know.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were treated like a king and queen at this place.
The staff are friendly and attentive, and genuinely want you to have a special experience.
The campsite is in a lovely peaceful setting by a lake, the tents are luxurious with en suite shower and toilet, lighting and power.
We arrived and had a nice lunch of pumpkin soup and Sri Lankan curry dishes, then set off for an afternoon safari. We were in a jeep just the two of us with our guide; very comfortable and he was so knowledgeable. We saw lots of elephants, a wildcat, different types of eagle, monkeys and a huge herd of water buffalo in the lake. It was amazing.
The evening dinner by torchlight was magical. 7 delicious courses and a nice Chilean Sauvignon blanc.
Up early for another safari at 6:30, which was even better, as there were more elephants. At one time we were surrounded by 30 elephants including several young from 3 months old, and even witnessed a 'polite' dispute between two bulls over a female.
My only criticism is that they advertise this as staying inside the national park. They used to, but had their license revoked and have now moved some 45 minute drive away. It's still in a great spot, but is a real pain to have to drive 45 minutes there and back. They really should update their advertising, as this is one of the main reasons we paid so much money to stay here and it's actually not true.
Initially we were very disappointed about this, but we had such a fantastic time that I couldn't bring myself to give anything less than 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed two nights here and were not aware that the site was "off the park". However, facilities on site more than adequate but not luxury ( although we were well warned of this before by our travel agent). Night one bbq excellent but too many staff waiting on meant we felt pressurised to eat. Second night even worse as we were the only people staying and were delivered a seven course meal within forty minutes!! Suggest bbq each night and less "fawning" by staff - it is not needed. Striving for excellence does not mean harrasssing your clients.

However - bring on the safari. Four trips were all excellent and our guide had amazing knowldege of animal and birdlife. Well done Amedu!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe

Address: Udawalawe national park, Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe is situated within close proximity to the national park enabling you to truly experience the sights, sounds and scents of the Sri Lankan wilderness. The provided mobile tents are comfortable and equipped with private bathroom, carpet, hot water, mosquito netting and private patios. Guests are offered ambient dining experience under the jungle canopy and 4WD safari jeeps are provided for Safaris. Mahoora follows the ‘pack-in-pack out’ camping principle, in which the camps are set up prior to guests arrival and dismantled after departure, so to minimize the environmental impact.Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe is an ideal base for environmentally-conscious travelers to explore the natural world. This national park is world famous for its large herds of Asian Elephants and wide range of birds.Rates are inclusive of entrance fees to the park and all other related charges for two days, cost of a jeep, beverages, lunches and dinners and fees for the expert naturalist guide. Elite & Premium package Guests can also enjoy free drinks at the Jungle Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe to your Saves list